Transfer of sentenced persons


1. Definition

The European Convention on the Transfer of Sentenced Persons allows a person serving a custodial sentence (sanction or punishment) outside their home state to return to their home state to serve that sentence, subject to the fulfilment of certain conditions. This is intended to serve their reintegration into society. However, the Convention does not oblige member states to approve a request for transfer. To date, in addition to every member of the Council of Europe, the Convention has also been ratified by around 20 non-European states.

Switzerland acceded to the Convention in 1988, and to the Additional Protocol in 2004. It has also signed bilateral transfer treaties with Cuba, Kosovo, Morocco, Paraguay, Peru and Thailand, as well as a Guarantee of Reciprocity with Barbados.

2. Conditions of transfer

A transfer requires the following conditions, in particular, to be met:

  • The judgment must be final and enforceable.
  • At least six months of the sentence must still have to be served when the request for transfer is received.
  • The criminal offence must be punishable not only in the sentencing state (the state in which the judgment was handed down and where the sentenced person is serving their sentence), but also in the administering state (the home state of the sentenced person, to which they are to be transferred to continue serving their sentence).
  • The competent authorities in the sentencing and administering states, as well as the sentenced person, must give their consent to the transfer.
  • The sentenced person holds citizenship of the administering state. The Convention is not applicable if the person holds only a short or long-term residence permit. Some states, such as the Netherlands, deviate from this principle by also accepting sentenced persons who are not Dutch citizens, provided certain conditions are met.

3. Effects of transfer

The Convention provides for two possible methods of determining the length of sentence that the sentenced person still has to serve: continued enforcement, or the conversion of the original judgment into a judgment issued by the administering state.

Switzerland has opted for continued enforcement, in which the foreign sanction is essentially taken over unchanged. The remaining sentence that must be served in Switzerland following the transfer thus corresponds to the sentence period that would still have to be served in the sentencing state. However, if the sanction imposed by the sentencing state is incompatible with Swiss law, the sentence is adjusted to the maximum penalty which may be imposed for the offence in question under Swiss law. Once the transfer has taken place, the enforcement of the sanction is governed by Swiss law (conditions of parole, etc.).

4. Transfer procedure (in accordance with the Convention)

  • The sentenced person communicates their wish to be transferred to the competent authorities in the sentencing or administering state.
  • The sentencing and administering states exchange the necessary documentation (personal data, judgment, information on the sentence served to date in the sentencing state, and any further sentence to be served in the administering state).
  • The authorities of the two states take a decision on the request for transfer on the basis of this information. In Switzerland, responsibility for the decision on transfer lies with the Federal Office of Justice FOJ (Extraditions Unit), in cooperation with the relevant cantonal authorities. In the case of a transfer to Switzerland, the competent cantonal court will issue an exequatur decision. In doing so, it will examine whether or not the foreign judgment can be executed under Swiss law, and whether the length of sentence set abroad may have to be reduced to the maximum penalty provided for under Swiss law. The sentenced person has a right of appeal against this decision. The Convention does not oblige member states to approve a request for transfer, neither does it provide for the sentenced person to have a right of appeal if their transfer is refused.
  • If both states have consented to the transfer, thus making it enforceable, they will discuss the details of its execution, i.e. the place and date of transfer.
    The transfer process often involves time-consuming enquiries and clarifications, and may therefore prove lengthy. Experience indicates that the process can be expected to last for well over six months.

5. Transfer without the consent of the sentenced person

In the interests of international collaboration on a broader scale, the Additional Protocol to the Transfer Convention provides for a sentence to be executed in the country of origin without the consent of or against the will of the sentenced person in two cases.

  • If a legally valid expulsion order exists against the sentenced person in the sentencing state, the sentenced person may be handed over to their country of origin to serve out the remainder of their sentence.
  • If the sentenced person flees from the sentencing state to their country of origin, thereby seeking to avoid serving their sentence, the country of origin may execute the sentence in place of the sentencing state (please refer also to the "Sentence execution on behalf of another state" factsheet).

Like the Convention, the Additional Protocol does not oblige member states to approve a request for transfer.

6. Transfer procedure (in accordance with the Additional Protocol)

Transfer from Switzerland to a foreign state

  • The cantonal authority responsible for the execution of sentences and measures (executive authority) asks the FOJ to begin transfer proceedings. It encloses a copy of the enforceable judgment, as well as the final and absolute expulsion order, with its request.
  • The request is submitted after the sentenced person has been granted a legal hearing. They must be given the opportunity to respond to the executive authority's transfer request.
  • The FOJ checks that the cantonal request is complete and permissible, and may make further enquiries. Where necessary, these may extend to the sentenced person's country of origin.
  • The FOJ rules that the country of origin will be asked to take over the enforcement of the remainder of the sentenced person's sentence and that, if the request is approved, the sentenced person will be handed over to their country of origin. The sentenced person has 30 days in which to lodge an appeal against this ruling before the Federal Criminal Court. Both the sentenced person and the FOJ may appeal against the Federal Criminal Court decision before the Federal Supreme Court. An appeal does not have any suspensive effect on the submission of the transfer request to the country of origin.
  • The FOJ sends the transfer request to the country of origin. Specifically, it will request a binding response as to whether or not the future enforcement of the sentence will be taken over. The FOJ also asks for information on the length and severity of sentence that remains to be served following transfer, as well as details of continued sentence enforcement, specifically the timing of parole.
  • The FOJ examines the response of the country of origin, and asks the cantonal executive authority if it continues to support the transfer. If this is the case, steps will be taken to execute the transfer. The Swiss authorities reserve the right not to pursue the transfer after receiving the response from the country of origin, especially if the sentence would be too lenient or too short following any necessary conversion or adjustment.

Transfer from a foreign state to Switzerland

  • The foreign authority submits the transfer request to the FOJ.
  • The FOJ checks that the request is complete and permissible. If this is the case, it forwards the request to the competent cantonal executive authority for the latter's response.
  • Based on the cantonal response, the FOJ decides whether to approve or to refuse the foreign request.
  • If it decides to approve the request, the FOJ applies to begin exequatur proceedings: the cantonal court must establish whether or not the foreign judgement can be executed in Switzerland and, if necessary, must adjust the sentence to the maximum penalty provided for under Swiss law. An appeal against the court's decision may be lodged with the cantonal court of appeal.
  • If the transfer of the sentenced person to Switzerland is approved, the cantonal authorities forward the corresponding documents to the FOJ, along with the court's ruling that the sentence may be enforced in Switzerland.
  • The FOJ notifies the foreign authority of the final agreement of the Swiss authorities. As soon as the foreign authority has communicated its consent to the transfer, steps are taken to execute it.

Transfer proceedings against the will of the sentenced person generally take at least a year. Transfer under the terms of the Additional Protocol may thus be considered only in the case of longer custodial sentences, usually of at least two years.

Note

Documents

For the complete documentation see the pages in German, French or Italian.

to the top Last modification 23.06.2014

Transfèrement de personnes condamnées


1. Qu’entend-on par transfèrement?

La Convention du Conseil de l’Europe sur le transfèrement des personnes condamnées permet aux personnes condamnées à une sanction privative de liberté (peine ou mesure) en dehors de leur Etat d’origine de rentrer, à certaines conditions, dans celui-ci pour y purger leur sanction. Cette possibilité vise à favoriser leur réinsertion sociale. La Convention n’oblige cependant en rien les Etats parties à accepter une requête de transfèrement. À ce jour, outre les Etats membres du Conseil de l’Europe, 20 Etats ont ratifié cette convention.

En ce qui concerne la Suisse, la Convention est entrée en vigueur en 1988 et son Protocole additionnel en 2004. Des traités bilatéraux de transfèrement ont été conclus avec le Kosovo, Cuba, le Maroc, le Paraguay, le Pérou et la Thaïlande. Un accord de réciprocité a également été conclu avec la Barbade.

2. Conditions requises pour le transfèrement

Un transfèrement ne peut avoir lieu que si les conditions suivantes sont remplies:

  • La condamnation est entrée en force et est exécutoire.
  • À la réception de la requête, la durée de la peine qui reste à purger est d’au moins six mois.
  • L’infraction à l’origine de la condamnation est punissable non seulement dans l’Etat de condamnation (pays où le jugement a été rendu et où la peine ou la mesure est exécutée), mais aussi dans l’Etat d’exécution (pays d’origine de la personne condamnée, vers lequel elle doit être transférée pour y purger le solde de la peine).
  • Les autorités compétentes de l’Etat de condamnation et de l’Etat d’exécution, ainsi que la personne condamnée, approuvent le transfèrement.
  • La personne condamnée est ressortissante de l’Etat d’exécution ; si elle ne dispose que d’une autorisation d’établissement ou de séjour pour cet Etat, la Convention n’est pas applicable. Certains Etats (comme les Pays-Bas) dérogent à ce principe et acceptent, à certaines conditions, des personnes condamnées étrangères.

3. Effets du transfèrement

La Convention prévoit deux procédures possibles pour déterminer la durée de la peine que la personne condamnée devra encore purger après son transfèrement : la poursuite de l’exécution ou la conversion du jugement d’origine en un jugement de l’Etat d’exécution.

La Suisse a opté pour la procédure dite de la poursuite de l’exécution. La sanction prononcée à l’étranger est en principe reprise telle quelle, ce qui signifie que la peine qui reste à purger en Suisse après un éventuel transfèrement est la même que celle qui aurait dû l’être à l’étranger. Cependant, lorsque la sanction prononcée dans l’Etat de condamnation n’est pas compatible avec le droit suisse, elle est adaptée pour correspondre à la peine maximale prévue en droit suisse pour le genre d’infraction en cause. Après le transfèrement, l’exécution de la sanction est régie par le droit suisse (concernant, par exemple, les exigences à remplir pour bénéficier d’une libération conditionnelle).

4. Déroulement de la procédure de transfèrement (en vertu de la Convention)

  • La personne condamnée fait part de son souhait d’être transférée aux autorités compétentes de l’Etat de condamnation ou de l’Etat d’exécution.
  • L’Etat de condamnation et l’Etat d’exécution échangent les documents requis (données personnelles, jugement, indications sur la quotité de la peine déjà purgée dans l’Etat de condamnation et, s’il y a lieu, sur le solde qui restera à purger dans l’Etat d’exécution).
  • Sur la base de ces informations, les autorités des deux Etats statuent sur la requête de transfèrement. En Suisse, la décision de transfèrement ressortit à l’OFJ (unité Extraditions), en collaboration avec les autorités cantonales compétentes. En cas de transfèrement vers la Suisse, le tribunal cantonal compétent rend un exequatur. Ce faisant, il vérifie si l’exécution du jugement étranger est conforme au droit suisse et si la durée de la peine fixée à l’étranger doit éventuellement être réduite pour être conforme à la peine maximale prévue par le droit suisse. La personne condamnée peut faire recours contre cette décision. La Convention n’oblige pas les Etats parties à accepter une requête de transfèrement. Elle ne prévoit pas non plus de voie de recours en cas de décision négative.
  • Si les deux Etats approuvent le transfèrement et que celui-ci devient exécutoire, les deux Etats conviennent des modalités de son exécution (date et lieu du transfèrement).

La procédure de transfèrement nécessite souvent de longs échanges d’informations. Elle peut donc durer un certain temps, souvent plus de six mois.

5. Transfèrement sans le consentement de la personne condamnée

Afin de renforcer l’efficacité de la coopération internationale, le Protocole additionnel à la Convention sur le transfèrement des personnes condamnées prévoit deux cas de figure dans lesquels une personne condamnée peut être appelée – sans son consentement ou contre sa volonté – à purger une peine dans son pays d’origine :

  • Lorsque l’Etat de condamnation a prononcé à l’encontre de la personne concernée une décision de renvoi ou d’expulsion exécutoire, cette personne peut être remise à son Etat d’origine en vue de l’exécution du solde de la peine.
  • Lorsque la personne concernée a fui l’Etat de condamnation et s’est réfugiée dans son pays d’origine pour se soustraire à l’exécution du jugement, le pays d’origine peut se charger de l’exécution de la condamnation. (Voir page "Exécution de décisions étrangères")

Le Protocole additionnel n’oblige pas non plus les Etats parties à accepter une requête de transfèrement.

6. Déroulement de la procédure de transfèrement (en vertu du Protocole additionnel)

Transfèrement de la Suisse vers l’étranger

  • L’autorité cantonale d’exécution des peines propose à l’OFJ d’ouvrir une procédure de transfèrement. Elle joint à la proposition une copie du jugement exécutoire et de la décision de renvoi ou d’expulsion.
  • La proposition ne peut être transmise à l’OFJ que si la personne condamnée a pu auparavant être entendue. Celle-ci doit en effet avoir la possibilité de donner son avis sur la proposition de transfèrement émise par l’autorité cantonale.
  • L’OFJ vérifie si la proposition du canton est recevable et si elle est accompagnée des documents requis. Il entreprend éventuellement des examens complémentaires, si nécessaire aussi dans l’Etat d’origine de la personne condamnée.
  • L’OFJ décide d’adresser une requête de délégation de l’exécution de la peine à l’Etat d’origine et de remettre la personne condamnée à celui-ci s’il accepte la requête. La personne condamnée dispose de 30 jours pour faire recours contre cette décision auprès du Tribunal pénal fédéral. L’OFJ et la personne condamnée peuvent ensuite contester la décision du Tribunal pénal fédéral auprès du Tribunal fédéral. Les éventuels recours n’ont pas d’effet suspensif sur le dépôt de la requête de transfèrement.
  • L’OFJ transmet la requête de transfèrement à l’Etat d’origine. Celui-ci doit alors répondre s’il accepte de se charger de l’exécution de la peine ; sa réponse est contraignante. Il lui est également demandé de fournir des indications sur la quotité de la peine qui devra encore être purgée après le transfèrement et sur les modalités de son exécution (notamment le moment à partir duquel la personne condamnée pourra être mise en liberté conditionnelle).
  • L’OFJ vérifie la réponse de l’Etat d’origine et demande à l’autorité cantonale d’exécution des peines si elle est toujours favorable au transfèrement. Si oui, le transfèrement peut être exécuté. La Suisse se réserve le droit de renoncer à un transfèrement en fonction de la réponse de l’Etat d’origine (en particulier si la peine, après avoir été convertie ou adaptée, est jugée trop légère).

Transfèrement de l’étranger vers la Suisse

  • L’autorité étrangère transmet sa requête à l’OFJ.
  • L’OFJ vérifie si la requête est recevable et si elle est accompagnée des documents requis. Le cas échéant, elle demande à l’autorité cantonale d’exécution des peines compétente de donner son avis sur la requête.
  • L’OFJ se fonde sur l’avis rendu par l’autorité cantonale pour se prononcer sur l’acceptation ou le rejet de la requête.
  • S’il accepte la requête, l’OFJ ouvre une procédure d’exequatur : le tribunal cantonal doit déterminer si le jugement étranger peut être exécuté en Suisse et s’il doit être adapté à la peine maximale prévue par le droit suisse. La décision du tribunal peut être contestée auprès de l’instance de recours cantonale.
  • Si les autorités cantonales sont favorables au transfèrement, elles transmettent à l’OFJ les documents requis (y compris l’exequatur).
  • L’OFJ informe les autorités étrangères que les autorités suisses ont donné leur accord définitif. Le transfèrement est exécuté dès que les autorités étrangères ont elles-mêmes approuvé la réponse de la Suisse.

Une procédure de transfèrement sans le consentement de la personne condamnée dure habituellement au moins un an. Un transfèrement en vertu du Protocole additionnel ne peut dès lors être envisagé que si la peine privative de liberté est suffisamment longue (au moins deux ans).

Dernière modification 23.06.2014

Début de la page