Division of forfeited assets (asset-sharing)

1. Encouraging cooperation

The seizure and confiscation of assets acquired by criminal means is an important instrument in combating crime effectively. State access to such illegal gains follows the principle that crime should not pay. Often, the proceeds of crime are not located in the country where the offences were actually committed. Consequently, they can be confiscated only if two or more states work together. To encourage this cooperation, international conventions – specifically the Council of Europe Convention on Money Laundering, and the Financial Action Task Force, FATF – recommend that assets be shared between the states involved in the criminal proceedings. The Federal Act on the Division of Forfeited Assets (DFAA), which entered into force on 1 August 2004, provides the legal basis for the conclusion of asset sharing agreements between Switzerland and foreign states, as well as for the domestic division of assets between the Federal Government and the cantons.

2. Division between Switzerland and foreign states

The DFAA distinguishes between the active and passive sharing of assets internationally:

  • In the case of active international sharing, the Swiss authorities confiscate assets of crim-inal origin under Swiss law as part of their own criminal proceedings. They then offer a share to the foreign state which supported those proceedings. 
  • In the case of passive international sharing, the criminal proceedings are pursued by a foreign authority, which confiscates assets of criminal origin under its own legal system. Upon request, the Swiss authorities provide these authorities with the necessary evidence and documents, or hand over assets that are located in Switzerland, so that they can be confiscated, or returned to their rightful owner, as part of the foreign criminal proceedings. In return for Switzerland's help, the foreign state allocates it a share of the confiscated as-sets.

Procedure

  • Should federal or cantonal authorities be considering sharing forfeited assets with a foreign state, they will first notify the Federal Office of Justice (FOJ).
  • The FOJ grants the authorities of the cantons concerned, and the Federal Government, a hearing.
  • The FOJ conducts negotiations with the foreign state with a view to concluding an asset sharing agreement. As a rule, the assets will be shared equally between Switzerland and the foreign state. Assets which originate from the bribing of public officials or the improper conduct of a public office are not shared, but reimbursed in full to the foreign state which suffered the loss.
  • The FOJ concludes the asset sharing agreement. Should the gross contribution exceed ten million Swiss francs, the FOJ will obtain the approval of the Federal Department of Justice and Police (FDJP) in advance.
  • The Swiss authorities which have confiscated the assets hand these over to the FOJ. The FOJ transfers the agreed share to the foreign state. The FOJ may also instruct the cantonal authorities to transfer the foreign state's share to it directly.

3. Division between the Federal Government and the cantons

By applying simple rules for division, the DFAA creates a balance between the public authorities involved in the criminal proceedings, and thus prevents conflicts of interest. Division proceedings are conducted if the forfeited assets amount to at least 100,000 francs.

  • 5/10 go to that public authority (canton or Federal Government) which led the criminal investigation and ordered the forfeiture, and thus bore the greatest share of the work. 
  • 2/10 go to the cantons in which the forfeited assets were located, in return for their cooperation in the criminal proceedings. 
  • 3/10 go to the Federal Government, in return for supporting the cantons in their fight against crime. 

At the end of the division proceedings, the FOJ issues a ruling about the amounts owing to the cantons involved, and to the Federal Government. Its division ruling may be challenged by means of an appeal to the Federal Administrative Court.

Forfeited assets of criminal origin are paid to the general cantonal or federal treasury. The DFAA does not provide for their purpose to be tied in any way, but allows the recipient to decide at their discretion how they are to be used.

4. Cases

Between 2004 and 2015, Switzerland received assets of criminal origin of around CHF 90 million on the basis of international asset sharing agreements.

In almost all of these cases, the assets were split 50:50 according to the usual practice.

These assets had been forfeited following a foreign or Swiss forfeiture ruling, most commonly in proceedings for drugs offences or money laundering.

In the two largest asset sharing cases since the DFAA came into force, Switzerland shared funds of CHF 58.4 million with Japan and of USD 50 million with the USA.

Documents

to the top Last modification 20.05.2015

Partage de valeurs patrimoniales confisquées (sharing)

1. Encouragement de la coopération

Le séquestre et la confiscation par l’Etat de valeurs patrimoniales acquises de manière illicite sont des instruments importants et efficaces pour lutter contre la criminalité. Ces mesures répondent au principe selon lequel le crime ne paie pas. Comme les avoirs concernés ne se trouvent souvent pas dans le pays où les infractions ont été commises, ils ne peuvent être confisqués que si les Etats coopèrent entre eux. A cet effet, des conventions ont été conclues (comme la Convention du Conseil de l’Europe relative au blanchiment et les Recommandations du Groupe d’action financière GAFI) pour partager les avoirs confisqués entre les Etats participant à la procédure pénale (sharing). La loi fédérale sur le partage des valeurs patrimoniales confisquées (LVPC), entrée en vigueur le 1er août 2004, sert de base juridique à la conclusion d’accords de partage entre la Suisse et les Etats étrangers, ainsi qu’entre la Confédération et les cantons.

2. Partage entre la Suisse et les Etats étrangers

La LVPC fait une distinction entre partage international actif et passif :

  • Dans le cadre du partage international actif, les autorités suisses confisquent des avoirs illicites dans une procédure pénale menée par elles-mêmes sur la base du droit suisse. Elles remettent ensuite une partie de ces avoirs à l’Etat étranger qui les a aidées dans la procédure.
  • Dans le cadre du partage international passif, l’Etat étranger mène lui-même une procédure pénale et confisque les avoirs illicites sur la base de son propre droit. Sur demande, la Suisse transmet à cet Etat les moyens de preuve et les documents nécessaires ou lui remet des avoirs situés en Suisse en vue de leur confiscation ou de leur restitution à leurs ayants droit dans le cadre de la procédure étrangère. En échange de cette aide, l’Etat étranger cède à la Suisse une partie des avoirs confisqués.

Procédure

  • Si une confiscation est susceptible de donner lieu à un partage avec un Etat étranger, les autorités fédérales ou cantonales en informent l’Office fédéral de la justice (OFJ).
  • L’OFJ entend les autorités fédérales ou cantonales concernées.
  • L’OFJ négocie avec les autorités étrangères pour parvenir à un accord de partage. En général, la Suisse et l’Etat étranger se partagent les avoirs à parts égales. Les avoirs issus de la corruption ou de la gestion déloyale dans la fonction publique ne sont pas partagés. Ils sont restitués entièrement à l’Etat lésé.
  • L’OFJ conclut l’accord de partage. Lorsque le montant brut dépasse 10 millions de francs, l’OFJ requiert l’approbation du Département fédéral de justice et police.
  • Les autorités suisses ayant confisqué les avoirs remettent ceux-ci à l’OFJ. L’OFJ transfère à l’Etat étranger la part lui revenant. Il peut également demander aux autorités cantonales de transférer directement à l’Etat étranger la part lui revenant.

3. Partage entre la Confédération et les cantons

La LVPC prévoit des règles simples pour un partage équitable entre les collectivités parties à la procédure pénale. On évite ainsi les conflits d’intérêts. Une procédure de partage est engagée si le montant des avoirs confisqués est égal ou supérieur à 100 000 francs.

  • 5/10 reviennent à la collectivité (Confédération ou canton) qui a mené l’instruction pénale et a prononcé la confiscation, autrement dit qui a effectué la plus grande partie du travail.
  • 2/10 reviennent aux cantons où se trouvent les valeurs patrimoniales confisquées, pour leur soutien dans la procédure.
  • 3/10 reviennent à la Confédération pour son soutien aux cantons dans la lutte contre la criminalité.

Au terme de la procédure de partage, l’OFJ rend une décision indiquant le montant revenant aux cantons concernés et à la Confédération. Il est possible de faire recours contre cette décision auprès du Tribunal administratif fédéral.

Les avoirs confisqués sont versés dans la caisse générale de l’Etat. La LVPC ne prévoit pas d’affectation particulière pour ceux-ci. Elle laisse les bénéficiaires en disposer librement.

4. Cas

Entre 2004 et 2015, la Suisse a touché environ 90 millions de francs par le biais d’accords de partage internationaux.

Dans presque tous les cas, les avoirs ont été partagés à parts égales, selon la pratique habituelle.

Les avoirs sont confisqués sur la base de jugements de confiscation suisses ou étrangers, le plus souvent dans des affaires de drogue ou de blanchiment.

Depuis l’entrée en vigueur de la LVPC, c’est avec le Japon (58,4 millions de francs) et avec les Etats-Unis (50 millions de dollars) que la Suisse a partagé les montants d’avoirs confisqués les plus élevés.

Documents

vers le haut Dernière modification 20.05.2015