Criminal prosecution on behalf of another state


1. Definition

Many states do not extradite their own nationals. To ensure that a criminal prosecution can still go ahead in such cases, it is possible to apply to have proceedings transferred, or to assume proceedings on behalf of another state. This enables the suspect to be prosecuted in their home state. The legal foundations for this are found in the national laws of each state, as well as in the European Convention on Extradition, the European Convention on Mutual Assistance in Criminal Matters, and in bilateral extradition and mutual assistance treaties. In Switzerland, the conditions for the transfer and assumption of criminal proceedings are laid down in the Federal Act on International Mutual Assistance in Criminal Matters. The Federal Office of Justice (FOJ, Extradition Section) is responsible for submitting and receiving applications for criminal prosecutions on behalf of Switzerland or another state.

A prosecution may be transferred only if both states have jurisdiction in the case in question. This jurisdiction may be based on the territorial principle (the offence was committed on the state's own territory), the active personality principle (nationality of the perpetrator) or the passive personality principle (nationality of the victim). Particularly serious crimes such as genocide, war crimes or crimes against humanity may be prosecuted according to the universality principle, which establishes jurisdiction irrespective of where the offence was committed or the nationalities of the perpetrator or victim.

2. Transferring prosecution to a foreign state

Cantonal public prosecutors' offices, the Office of the Attorney General of Switzerland, or other prosecuting authorities apply to the FOJ for it to make a formal request that responsibility for prosecution be transferred to a foreign state. Exceptions apply to cases involving Germany, Austria and Italy. Here, bilateral treaties permit the request to be submitted directly to the competent local prosecuting authorities.

The prosecuting authority's application must contain the following specific information and documents:

  • information on the identity, nationality and location of the suspect, in as much detail as possible (requests concerning persons unknown or persons whose location is unknown are inadmissible);
  • description of the facts of the case;
  • the legal qualification of the facts, and the applicable criminal provisions;
  • criminal files and any evidence.

Conditions

The FOJ will examine whether or not the application satisfies the legal conditions for prosecution to be transferred abroad. In particular, the laws of the foreign state must permit the offence to be prosecuted and to be punished by the courts, the suspect must be located in the state in question, and their extradition to Switzerland must be inadmissible, or impracticable owing to the minor nature of the probable sentence, for example. In exceptional cases, the prosecution may be transferred at the same time the suspect is extradited, if transferring prosecution for other offences is expected to result in the offender reintegrating more successfully into society.

The facts of the case must be punishable under the laws of both Switzerland and the foreign state (the principle of dual criminality). Furthermore, the statute of limitations must not have come into effect for prosecution in the foreign state. A request to assume responsibility for prosecution may not be submitted to a foreign state if there is a specific risk that human and procedural rights might be compromised in that state. Finally, the severity of the offence must justify proceedings, i.e. it may not be a minor offence.

If the conditions are fulfilled, the FOJ will submit the request to the ministry of justice in the foreign state. If they are not, it will refuse to make the request. Where provision is made for direct submissions, the Swiss criminal prosecution authority will itself decide whether or not the legal conditions are fulfilled.

Limited right of appeal

There is essentially no provision for an appeal against a Swiss request to assume a prosecution, because this might delay proceedings and make it more difficult to secure evidence, for example. Only a suspect who is ordinarily resident in Switzerland is able to go before the Federal Criminal Court to challenge the submission of such a request. The Swiss criminal prosecution authority may also appeal to the Federal Criminal Court against the FOJ's decision not to submit a request. There is no provision for a Federal Supreme Court appeal against a Federal Criminal Court ruling.

Effects of transferring prosecution

If a foreign state assumes responsibility for a prosecution, the Swiss authority is then unable to take any further action against the suspect for the same offence. If the suspect is convicted or acquitted abroad, or if the proceedings are terminated because of a lack of evidence, then Switzerland is bound by this decision. However, if the foreign state rejects the request to assume prosecution, or is not able to conclude legal proceedings, the Swiss authority may resume its legal action. A request may be withdrawn if the suspect is arrested in Switzerland or can be extradited from a third state to Switzerland, providing proceedings in the requested state have not yet resulted in a binding judgment.

3. Assumption of a prosecution by Switzerland

Foreign requests to assume responsibility for a prosecution are received by the FOJ and, providing that Swiss criminal jurisdiction can reasonably be established, are forwarded on to the competent Swiss prosecuting authority. Via the FOJ, this authority then notifies the foreign authority whether or not it will accommodate the request. Exceptions apply to cases involving Germany, Austria and Italy. Here, bilateral treaties permit the request to be submitted directly to the competent local prosecuting authorities.

If Switzerland does not clearly have criminal jurisdiction over the case, the request may still be accepted in certain, isolated cases. Specifically, Switzerland may assume the prosecution of a foreign national resident in Switzerland if the minor nature of the offence does not justify extradition, and prosecution in Switzerland would appear to improve the prospects of social reintegration. In such cases, the FOJ will decide in consultation with the prosecuting authority whether or not to accept the foreign request.

Note

For the complete documentation see the pages in German, French or Italian

Documents

to the top Last modification 22.03.2010

Délégation de la poursuite pénale


1. Notions

Beaucoup d’Etat n’extradent pas leurs ressortissants. Pour éviter, dans pareil cas, que les auteurs d’infractions échappent à la poursuite pénale, il est possible de faire une demande de délégation de la poursuite pénale et de laisser ainsi l’Etat d’origine du suspect le poursuivre. Les bases légales de cette délégation figurent notamment dans le droit national des pays concernés, dans la Convention européenne d’extradition, dans la Convention européenne d’entraide judiciaire en matière pénale ou dans les accords bilatéraux d’extradition ou d’entraide judiciaire. En Suisse, les conditions de la délégation de la poursuite pénale sont fixées dans la loi fédérale sur l’entraide judiciaire en matière pénale. C’est l’Office fédéral de la justice (OFJ, unité Extraditions) qui est compétent pour adresser les demandes à l’étranger et recevoir les demandes émanant de l’étranger.

La délégation de la poursuite pénale n’est en principe possible que si les deux Etats concernés disposent de la compétence juridictionnelle. Celle-ci se fonde notamment sur le principe de territorialité (l’infraction a été commise sur son territoire), le principe de personnalité active (la nationalité de l’auteur de l’infraction) ou passive (la nationalité de la victime). Dans les cas de crimes particulièrement graves, tels que génocide, crime de guerre ou crime contre l’humanité, il peut y avoir compétence juridictionnelle indépendamment du lieu du crime et de la nationalité de son auteur ou de la victime en vertu du principe d’universalité.

2. Délégation de la poursuite pénale à l’étranger

Les ministères publics des cantons, le Ministère public de la Confédération ou d’autres autorités de poursuite pénale proposent à l’OFJ de demander une délégation de la poursuite pénale à un Etat étranger. Sont exclus les cas avec l’Allemagne, l’Autriche et l’Italie, pays avec lesquels la Suisse a conclu des accords bilatéraux permettant d’adresser directement une demande aux autorités de poursuite pénale compétentes localement.

La proposition de l’autorité de poursuite pénale doit notamment contenir les informations et documents suivants:

  • Indications aussi précises que possibles sur l’identité, la nationalité et le lieu de séjour du suspect (les demandes de délégation contre inconnu ou contre une personne dont le lieu de séjour n’est pas connu ne sont pas admissibles);
  • Exposé des faits;
  • Qualification juridique des faits et dispositions pénales applicables;
  • Pièces du dossier pénal et éventuels moyens de preuve.

Conditions

L’OFJ vérifie que la proposition remplit les conditions juridiques d’une délégation de la poursuite pénale à l’étranger. Il faut notamment que la législation de l’autre Etat autorise la poursuite et la répression judiciaire de l’infraction, que le suspect séjourne dans cet Etat et que son extradition vers la Suisse ne soit pas admissible ou qu’elle soit inopportune (en raison par ex. de la légèreté de la peine prévue). Exceptionnellement, il peut y avoir délégation de la poursuite pénale en même temps qu’extradition du suspect si l’extradition est demandée (pour d’autres infractions) et que la délégation permet d’escompter une meilleure réinsertion sociale.

Les faits doivent être punissables aussi bien dans le droit suisse que dans le droit étranger (double incrimination). De plus, il ne faut pas que la poursuite soit prescrite dans l’Etat étranger. Une demande de délégation de la poursuite pénale ne peut être transmise à un Etat s’il existe un risque concret que les droits de l’homme ou les droits de procédure puissent y être compromis. Enfin, l’importance de l’infraction doit justifier l’exécution de la procédure, c’est-à-dire qu’il ne peut s’agir d’une peccadille.

Si les conditions sont remplies, l’OFJ adresse la demande de délégation de la poursuite pénale au ministère de la justice de l’Etat étranger. Si non, il refuse de le faire. Dans les cas de transmission directe des demandes, c’est l’autorité de poursuite pénale suisse qui vérifie que les conditions juridiques sont remplies.

Droit de recours limité

Il n’est en principe pas possible de faire recours contre le dépôt d’une demande suisse de délégation de la poursuite pénale, notamment parce que cela retarderait la procédure et pourrait faire échouer la mise en sûreté des moyens de preuve. Seul le suspect qui a sa résidence habituelle en Suisse peut recourir au Tribunal pénal fédéral (TPF) contre la demande. L’autorité de poursuite pénale suisse peut recourir au TPF contre le refus de l’OFJ de présenter une demande de délégation de la poursuite pénale. Il n’est pas possible de recourir au Tribunal fédéral contre la décision du TPF.

Effets

Lorsque l’Etat étranger accepte de se charger de la poursuite pénale, l’autorité suisse s’abstient de toute autre mesure à raison des mêmes faits. Si cet Etat condamne ou acquitte le suspect ou s’il prononce un non-lieu faute de preuves suffisantes, la Suisse est liée par sa décision. Lorsque l’Etat étranger refuse la demande ou qu’il n’est pas en mesure de mener la procédure pénale à son terme, l’autorité suisse peut continuer la poursuite. La demande de délégation de la poursuite pénale peut être retirée si le suspect est arrêté en Suisse ou peut être extradé en Suisse par un Etat tiers, pour autant que la procédure pénale dans l’Etat requis n’ait pas déjà été conclue par une décision à caractère obligatoire.

3. Acceptation de la poursuite pénale par la Suisse

L’OFJ reçoit les demandes étrangères de délégation de poursuite pénale et les transmet – si la compétence juridictionnelle est fondée – à l’autorité de poursuite pénale suisse compétente. Celle-ci communique à l’OFJ sa décision d’y accéder ou non, à l’attention de l’Etat étranger. Sont exclus les cas avec l’Allemagne, l’Autriche et l’Italie, pays avec lesquels la Suisse a conclu des accords bilatéraux permettant d’adresser directement une demande aux autorités de poursuite pénale compétentes localement.

Si la compétence juridictionnelle de la Suisse n’est pas fondée, il peut arriver, dans de très rares cas, que la demande soit tout de même acceptée. La poursuite pénale peut notamment être prise en charge à l’encontre d’un étranger domicilié en Suisse si le caractère bénin de son infraction ne justifie pas son extradition et que l’exécution de la procédure en Suisse permet d’escompter une meilleure réinsertion sociale. Dans ces cas, l’OFJ statue sur l’acceptation de la demande après avoir conféré avec l’autorité de poursuite pénale compétente.

Documents

Liens

Dernière modification 22.03.2010

Début de la page