Expansion of the state treaty framework with regard to international mutual assistance in criminal matters

Helping to combat cross-border crime more efficiently


Greater mobility and new technologies are making crime more international. Often, evidence or suspects are to be found beyond the jurisdiction of the competent prosecuting authorities. This means that the success of national investigations can be jeopardised if other states do not provide support. Mutual assistance between prosecuting authorities is therefore becoming increasingly important.

Furthermore, in many cases, it is not possible to hold criminal proceedings in a particular state or to enforce judicial decisions in the state in which the judgment was given. In circumstances like these, the prosecuting and enforcement authorities are also dependent on cooperation with other countries.

This is why the Federal Council has made expanding the state treaty framework for international mutual legal assistance in criminal matters a security policy priority. Stepping up cross-border cooperation on criminal law is one of the goals of Switzerland's legislative planning programme for both the 2007-2011 (Federal Gazette 2008, 753ff, esp. 794f) and 2011-2015 (Federal Gazette 2012, 481ff, esp. 561f) periods.

1. Areas of international mutual assistance in criminal matters

International cooperation in criminal matters is divided into the following areas:

  • Extradition
  • Minor or accessory legal assistance
    (in particular with regard to interviewing witnesses or the accused, serving summonses or judgments, gathering evidence or handing over assets)
  • Prosecution by one state, acting for another
  • Enforcement of judicial decisions
    (including the deportation of convicted persons to their country of origin).

2. Reasons for drawing up a bilateral mutual assistance instrument

Under the Federal Act on International Mutual Assistance in Criminal Matters (Bundesgesetz über internationale Rechtshilfe in Strafsachen, IRSG), Switzerland may cooperate with other countries even in the absence of a treaty under international law. Nevertheless, it is often advisable to conclude a legal assistance treaty or a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU).

Some of the reasons for this include:

  • Other states may not be able to offer legal assistance without a treaty;
  • A bilateral solution being the only way to solve problems with legal assistance;
  • The large scale of the case in question or especially close ties make simplified legal assistance advisable;
  • National standards being harmonised or laid down more efficiently in multilateral treaties.

3. Tasks of the International Treaties Unit

The main task of the Unit is to expand Switzerland's treaty framework with regard to international mutual assistance in criminal matters. It examines the requests from abroad submitted to Switzerland and makes its own drafts.

On the one hand, traditional state treaties can be concluded, providing a legally-binding framework for cooperation. But there are also other instruments under international law that may be used, such as an exchange of notes or correspondence, and political memoranda of understanding. These instruments are agreed at government level and do not need to be approved by the Swiss parliament. They are becoming an increasingly viable option, especially in relation to states which are not yet ready to initiate formal treaty negotiations. They often constitute the preliminary stage of a state treaty and, as such, are a tangible expression of the desire to expand cooperation.

The framework is being expanded around the globe. In an initial phase, Switzerland conducted negotiations with European countries. Later attention was turned to states with Anglo-American systems of law, and more recently to Latin America (e.g. the treaties recently concluded with Brazil, Argentina, Peru, Columbia and Ecuador), Asia (e.g. Hong Kong and the Philippines) and Africa (e.g. Egypt, Morocco and Algeria). A list of priorities has been drawn up to help determine which countries should be approached for negotiations in the future. In the coming years, emerging financial centres and economic powers, including those in the Asiatic regions and Arab world, will be given suitable attention.

In addition to expanding the bilateral treaty framework, the Unit is involved in drafting multilateral legal assistance instruments and offence-specific agreements that contain legal assistance provisions. Examples include treaties drawn up by the UN or the Council of Europe to combat terrorism, corruption, international organised crime and cybercrime. The Unit monitors all issues related to international legal assistance in criminal matters, especially those discussed within the Council of Europe, the European Union and the United Nations, and brings the Swiss perspective to the negotiating table.

The Unit's remit also extends to national legislative projects related to international mutual assistance in criminal matters. It handles these projects from their inception through to their adoption by the Swiss parliament. As the specialist service within the FDJP, it acts as an adviser in parliamentary discussions (preparing draft legislation and Federal Council dispatches to parliament. Examples of current legislative initiatives include amendments to the Federal Act on International Mutual Assistance in Criminal Matters. This is particularly relevant at present with regard to mutual assistance in fiscal matters. The Unit has also been involved in drafting the federal decree – and later the federal act – on cooperation with international courts on the prosecution of serious violations of international human rights, as well as the Federal Act on Cooperation with the International Criminal Court (Bundesgesetz über die Zusammenarbeit mit dem International Strafgerichtshof).

4. How does an international mutual assistance instrument come about?

4.1 Bilateral instruments

  • The initiative for negotiations on bilateral treaties, intergovernmental agreements, and MoUs comes from an individual state. Formal mandates are not usually issued where legal assistance is concerned. If the subject of negotiations has not yet been finalised, exploratory talks are first held which will also establish whether or not a treaty is possible at all or whether only an MoU is required at first. Often, the first step is for the state interested in negotiations to present a proposal as a basis for discussion, after informal contact with its target partner. In some cases, the other party will present a counter-proposal.
  • The first round of negotiations discusses the proposal and counter-proposal, as well as any further proposals. Differences are rarely eliminated entirely in the first round, so further rounds of negotiation are required. These are held alternately in the two countries involved. Once the two parties have agreed on a joint treaty text, the leaders of the two delegations will generally initial each page of the treaty. It will be formally signed once the text has been approved by the government. In Switzerland, treaties also require the authorisation of the Federal Council. The treaty signing often takes place as part of an official foreign visit by a member of the Federal Council or a visit by a representative of the foreign government to Switzerland. 
  • Once the treaty has been signed, the signatory states begin the domestic approval procedure. This involves the text of the treaty being translated into all official languages and the drafting of an opinion that the Federal Council adopts and submits to the Swiss parliament. Only when the National Council and Council of States have approved the treaty can it be ratified through an exchange of instruments of ratification or notification that domestic approval procedures have been completed.

4.2. Multilateral treaties

Multilateral treaties are initiated by various international organisations, frequently by means of a resolution by the United Nations General Assembly or by a proposal to the Council of Europe. The draft treaty provided by the organisation itself or by one or more individual states is finalised in several rounds of negotiation. All states are entitled to submit proposals and outline their position. The final text of the treaty is generally adopted formally at a ministerial conference. Within the Council of Europe, this is the task of the Committee of Ministers, which meets twice a year. Once adopted, the treaty must pass through the signature, approval and ratification process.

5. Current projects

Mutual legal assistance treaty with Japan

  • Exploratory talks

Mutual legal assistance instrument with China

  • Talks are being held at task force level with the aim of gaining knowledge and experience

Mutual legal assistance treaty with the Bahamas

  • Negotiations have been launched

Mutual legal assistance treaty with Kosovo

  • Exploratory talks

Mutual legal assistance treaty with Indonesia

  • Passed by the Federal Council on 14 September 2018
  • Treaty signed on 4 February 2019 (media release)
  • The agreement will come into force as soon as each country’s domestic legal requirements have been met. In Switzerland, Parliament must approve the agreement.

Transfer treaty with Brazil  

  • Passed by the Federal Council on 5 June 2015 (Medienmitteilung)
  • Treaty signed on 23 November 2015
  • Ratification by Brazil still pending

Protocol amending the Additional Protocol to the Convention on the Transfer of Sentenced Persons

  • Passed by the Federal Council on 11 October 2017
  • Treaty signed on 22 November 2017
  • Federal Council opinion (media release)

Extension of mutual legal assistance in the area of fiscal matters

  • Several legislative projects

 

Note

For the complete documentation see the pages in German, French or Italian.

Documents

to the top Last modification 13.07.2017

Extension du réseau des traités bilatéraux et multilatéraux instaurant une coopération en matière pénale

Objectif: lutter plus efficacement contre la criminalité internationale


La facilité avec laquelle on se déplace de nos jours et les nouvelles technologies disponibles sur le marché ont pour corollaire une internationalisation de plus en plus marquée de la criminalité: bien souvent, les autorités de poursuite pénale ont affaire à des suspects et à des éléments de preuve qui ne se trouvent pas sur le territoire de l'Etat auquel s'étend leur juridiction. C'est dire que sans le concours des autorités d'autres Etats, les investigations et procédures qu'elles conduisent sur un plan national risquent de ne pas aboutir. Cela étant, l'assistance mutuelle entre autorités de poursuite pénale joue un rôle de plus en plus important.

Il arrive également, dans nombre de cas, qu'il ne soit pas possible de conduire une procédure pénale dans un Etat déterminé ou encore de faire exécuter des jugements pénaux sur le territoire de l'Etat où ils ont été prononcés. En pareille occurrence, les autorités de poursuite pénale et les autorités responsables de l'exécution des peines sont également tributaires de la coopération d'autres Etats.

Dans ce contexte, l'extension du réseau des traités fait partie de la politique de sécurité du Conseil fédéral. Les programmes de la législature 2007 à 2011 ainsi que 2011 à 2015 du Conseil fédéral (FF 2008 639ss, sp. 679-681 et FF 2012 349ss, sp. 428) prévoient depuis plusieurs années le développement et une intensification de la coopération, notamment internationale en matière pénale.

1. Domaines couverts par la coopération internationale en matière pénale

La coopération internationale en matière pénale porte sur les différentes procédures suivantes:

  • extradition;
  • entraide judiciaire accessoire dite aussi "petite entraide judiciaire"
    (elle comprend notamment l'audition de témoins ou d'inculpés, la notification de citations et de jugements, la saisie et la remise de pièces à conviction, enfin la remise de valeurs);
  • délégation de la poursuite pénale;
  • exécution de décisions pénales étrangères
    (y compris le transfèrement des personnes condamnées à leur Etat d'origine).

2. Motifs justifiant la conclusion d'un instrument bilatéral d’entraide judiciaire

La loi fédérale sur l'entraide internationale en matière pénale (EIMP) constitue une base juridique qui permet à la Suisse de coopérer avec d'autres Etats même si elle n'a pas passé avec eux un traité international. Il peut s’avérer nécessaire pour elle, cependant, de conclure un traité bilatéral ou un Memorandum of Understanding (MoU), pour l’une ou l’autre des raisons suivantes:

  • l’autre Etat n’est pas en mesure de coopérer en l’absence de traité;
  • les difficultés que pose la collaboration ne peuvent être surmontées que moyennant un traité bilatéral;
  • l'ampleur de la coopération est telle ou les relations sont à ce point intenses qu'elles justifient une simplification de la procédure d'entraide judiciaire;
  • il importe de conclure des traités multilatéraux aux fins d'harmoniser ou de rendre plus efficaces les dispositions des législations nationales.

3. Missions de l'unité des Traités internationaux

La mission principale de l'unité est d'assurer l'extension du réseau des traités conclus par la Suisse dans le domaine de la coopération internationale en matière pénale. A cette fin, elle examine les demandes soumises à la Suisse ou élabore ses propres projets.

L’unité conclut en priorité des traités classiques, réglant la coopération entre les Etats de manière contraignante. Mais elle recourt aussi, et de plus en plus, à des instruments internationaux tels qu’échanges de notes ou de lettres ou encore déclarations d’intention politiques (appelées Memorandums of Understanding ). Conclus à l'échelon gouvernemental, ces instruments ne requièrent pas l'aval du parlement. Ils sont de plus en plus appelés à constituer des solutions de rechange dans les relations avec des Etats qui ne remplissent pas encore les conditions qui permettraient de convenir d’obligations juridiques réciproques. Souvent, ils représentent le stade précédant immédiatement la conclusion d’un traité et témoignent d’une volonté d'intensifier la coopération.

L'unité cherche à instaurer une coopération avec des Etats des différentes régions du monde. Dans un premier temps, elle a négocié des traités avec les Etats européens. Puis elle s'est concentrée sur les Etats qui appliquent le droit anglo-américain et, pour finir, sur les Etats d'Amérique latine (voir les traités conclus récemment avec le Brésil, l'Argentine, le Pérou, la Colombie, l'Equateur), d'Asie (par ex. Hong Kong et les Philippines) et d'Afrique (par ex. l’Egypte, le Maroc et l’Algérie). Son attention se portera à l'avenir sur les places financières et les puissances commerciales émergentes, notamment en Asie et dans le monde arabe.

En sus de l'extension du réseau des traités bilatéraux, l'unité participe à l'élaboration d'instruments multilatéraux en matière d'entraide judiciaire ainsi que de conventions internationales portant sur la répression d'infractions déterminées et contenant des dispositions relatives à l'entraide judiciaire (par ex. dans les domaines du terrorisme, de la corruption, de la criminalité transnationale organisée, de la cybercriminalité, etc.). Pour ce faire, l'unité suit toutes les affaires qui ont trait à l'entraide judiciaire internationale en matière pénale et elle défend la perspective suisse dans les négociations.

L'unité est également responsable des projets législatifs nationaux touchant la coopération internationale en matière pénale. Elle les suit lors des délibérations parlementaires en tant que service spécialisé du DFJP (préparation de projets de loi et de messages du Conseil fédéral à l’intention du Parlement). Parmi les dossiers législatifs récents qui ont occupé l'unité, citons les modifications de la loi fédérale sur l'entraide internationale en matière pénale (actuellement : extension de l'entraide en cas d'infraction fiscale), l'élaboration de l'arrêté puis de la loi fédéral/e relatifs à la coopération avec les tribunaux internationaux chargés de poursuivre les violations graves du droit international humanitaire ainsi que la loi fédérale sur la coopération avec la Cour pénale internationale.

4. Genèse d’un instrument d’entraide judiciaire internationale

4.1 Traités bilateraux

  • La négociation de traités bilatéraux, de protocoles d’accord (ou MoU Memorandums of Understanding) a toujours pour origine l'initiative prise par un Etat. Dans le domaine de l'entraide judiciaire, on renonce, la plupart du temps, à établir un mandat de négociation en bonne et due forme. Si le contenu des négociations ne peut pas encore être défini avec toute l'exhaustivité voulue, on engage d'abord des pourparlers exploratoires qui permettent également de déterminer s'il existe des chances réelles de conclure un traité ou s'il faut d'abord envisager un MoU. Souvent, la première étape consiste pour l'Etat intéressé par la conclusion d'un traité, à soumettre au partenaire pressenti – après des contacts informels – un projet censé servir de base de négociation. Il arrive parfois que l'Etat en question réagisse en proposant lui-même un contre-projet.
  • Le premier tour des négociations est consacré à l'examen du projet, du contre-projet ainsi que d'éventuelles propositions supplémentaires. En règle générale, le premier tour ne permet pas d'éliminer toutes les divergences. Il est donc nécessaire d'organiser un, voire plusieurs, tours supplémentaires. Les négociations ont toujours lieu alternativement dans l'un ou l'autre Etat. Lorsque les deux parties sont parvenues à se mettre d'accord sur un texte, celui-ci est généralement paraphé. En d'autres termes, les chefs de délégation des deux Etats apposent sur chaque page, à la main, leurs initiales. La signature formelle du traité intervient après que le Gouvernement en a approuvé le texte. En Suisse, elle est subordonnée à l'autorisation expresse du Conseil fédéral. Elle a souvent lieu à l'occasion d'une visite officielle d'un membre du Conseil fédéral dans l'Etat partenaire ou d'un membre du Gouvernement de cet Etat en Suisse.
  • Le traité une fois signé, les parties contractantes engagent la procédure d'approbation conformément à leur droit national. A cette fin, le Conseil fédéral adopte à l'intention du Parlement un message par lequel il lui propose d'approuver le texte du traité qui aura été préalablement établi par traduction dans toutes les langues officielles. Ce n'est qu'après que le Conseil national et le Conseil des Etats ont donné leur approbation que peut avoir lieu la ratification soit sous forme d'échange des instruments de ratification soit encore sous celle de la notification que les procédures d'approbation sont closes dans les deux Etats.

4.2 Traités multilatéraux

Les conventions multilatérales, quant à elles, prennent naissance au sein des différentes organisations internationales, souvent à la suite d'une résolution (Assemblée générale des Nations Unies) ou d'interventions parlementaires (Conseil de l'Europe). Le projet de convention élaboré par l'organisation elle-même ou par un ou plusieurs Etats membres est mis au point au cours de plusieurs rondes de négociations. Tous les Etats peuvent présenter des propositions et formuler des prises de position. En règle générale, le texte définitif de la convention est adopté formellement lors d'une réunion de la Conférence des Ministres. Au Conseil de l'Europe, cette tâche incombe au Comité des Ministres qui siège deux fois par an. Cette étape achevée, les procédures de signature, d'approbation et de ratification peuvent suivre leur cours.

5. Projets d'actualité

dont l'unité des Traités internationaux a la charge:

Traité d'entraide judiciaire avec le Japon

  • Discussions exploratoires en cours

Instrument d'entraide judiciaire avec la Chine

  • Discussions au niveau de la task force visant à réunir des expériences.

Traité d'entraide judiciaire avec les Bahamas

  • Négociations ont été lancées

Traité d'entraide judiciaire avec le Kosovo

  • Discussions exploratoires en cours

Traité d'entraide judiciaire avec l’Indonésie

  • Approbation par le Conseil fédéral le 14 septembre 2018
  • Traité signé le 4 février 2019 (communiqué aux médias)
  • Le traité entrera en vigueur sitôt que chaque Partie aura accompli les formalités prévues dans sa législation nationale. En Suisse, le Parlement doit être consulté.

Convention de transfèrement avec le Brésil

  • Approbation par le Conseil fédéral le 5 juin 2015 (communiqué aux médias)
  • Traité signé le 23 novembre 2015.
  • Ratification par le Brésil en suspens

Protocole portant amendement au Protocole additionnel à la Convention sur le transfèrement des personnes condamnées

  • Approbation par le Conseil fédéral le 11 octobre 2017
  • Traité signé le 22 novembre 2017
  • Adoption d’un message le 23 mai 2018 (communiqué aux médias)

Extension de l'entraide judiciaire dans les cas d'infractions fiscales

 

Documents

Principaux textes servant de base à la collaboration internationale en matière pénale

Dernière modification 13.07.2017

Début de la page