International Criminal Court


1. Remit

The International Criminal Court (ICC) is responsible for trying persons accused of the most serious crimes which affect the international community as a whole: genocide, crimes against humanity, and war crimes. The legal foundation for this permanent court, which has its seat in The Hague, is the Rome Statute which was adopted in 1998 and came into force in 2002. The ICC is an expression of the determination of the 122 States Parties (as at 1 May 2013) to "put an end to impunity for the perpetrators of these crimes and thus to contribute to the prevention of such crimes".

The ICC does not replace national criminal justice systems, neither is it an international court of appeal that reviews national judgments as a court of last resort. Rather, the ICC is a complement to national criminal justice systems. It is brought in only where the national authorities responsible for criminal prosecutions are themselves unwilling or unable to prosecute crimes committed within their own jurisdictions or by their own nationals. This may be the case, for example, where the national authorities are controlled by individuals who are themselves partly responsible for committing the crimes in question, or if the national criminal justice system has collapsed as a result of war. The ICC ensures that the gaps in the prosecution of these particularly abhorrent crimes can be closed.

With its long humanitarian tradition and in its capacity as the depositary state for the Geneva Conventions, Switzerland provided significant support for the establishment of a strong and independent court. It ratified the Rome Statute in 2001, and at the same time enacted the legislative amendments that were immediately necessary to allow cooperation with the ICC.

2. Cooperation between Switzerland and the ICC

States Parties have a duty to cooperate fully with the ICC. Since the Court does not have its own investigative police force, in conducting its proceedings it is largely reliant on cooperation with States Parties. Switzerland enacted the necessary legal foundation for this cooperation with the Federal Act on Cooperation with the International Criminal Court (ICCA). A central office, with wide-ranging powers, has been created within the Federal Office of Justice (FOJ) to ensure that cooperation is as smooth as possible. The central office receives requests from the Court and decides on the scope and details of cooperation.

Transfer

The FOJ receives the formal requests for arrest from the ICC and determines whether or not the conditions for transfer to the ICC are met. If this is the case, it will order the arrest of the person who is being sought. It will issue a transfer warrant and notify the ICC. Providing the request for transfer is received by the FOJ within the set deadline (no later than 60 days after the person's arrest), the person concerned will, as a general rule, remain in custody until the end of the transfer procedure. They may appeal against their detention to the Federal Criminal Court.

The person being sought may waive ordinary proceedings by agreeing to their transfer to the ICC. In such cases, the FOJ may approve the transfer immediately and order its completion. In all other cases, it is the FOJ which decides on transfer to the ICC. The person being sought has no right of appeal against the FOJ's transfer decision. They can only dispute the jurisdiction of the ICC when they appear in front of it.

If a Swiss citizen is transferred by Switzerland to the ICC, once the proceedings have concluded the FOJ will request the return of the person concerned, so that they can serve their sentence in Switzerland.

Other forms of cooperation

The FOJ receives applications for other forms of cooperation (the recording of evidence, including witness statements, hearing of suspects, searches and seizures, service of documents, etc.). It will decide whether or not cooperation is permissible, order the necessary action, and mandate a cantonal or federal authority to carry out the request. Individuals who are accused in proceedings before the ICC are not entitled to any legal remedy. Only the other individuals who are affected by international legal assistance measures are entitled to lodge an appeal against the final FOJ ruling.

The FOJ may also authorise ICC prosecutors to conduct independent investigations (such as the taking of witness statements) on Swiss sovereign territory.

The rule on the voluntary provision of information and evidence that a Swiss authority has collected during its own criminal investigation goes above and beyond the standard required by the Rome Statute. The FOJ may volunteer information and evidence to the ICC to enable investigations to commence or to assist in pending legal proceedings.

Custodial sentences

Since the ICC is not able itself to execute custodial sentences, it depends on the support of the host state and the other States Parties. At the request of the ICC, Switzerland may take charge of executing a final and absolute judgment if the convicted individual is a Swiss citizen or is ordinarily resident in Switzerland. The FOJ will decide in consultation with the competent cantonal authority about whether or not to take on this executive function. The sentence handed down by the ICC is binding upon the Swiss authorities.

3. Amendment to Swiss criminal law

Following the enactment of the ICCA, Switzerland took the second step of amending its criminal law in line with the Rome Statute, to ensure the effective, transparent and gap-free prosecution of genocide, crimes against humanity and war crimes. Specifically, the revised Swiss Criminal Code and Military Criminal Code, both of which came into force in 2011, instituted "crimes against humanity" as a new offence, and defined "war crimes" in considerable detail:

  • Crimes against humanity are deemed to be offences such as premeditated murder, extermination, enslavement, enforced disappearances, torture, sexual offences or forced displacement, which are committed as part of extended or systematic attacks on the civilian population. These offences were essentially already covered by Swiss criminal law before the statutes were revised. However, there was no provision to allow Switzerland adequately to play its part in punishing these offences, made particularly abhorrent by the additional factor that they are committed against the civilian population.
     
  • War crimes – such as attacks against the civilian population, the recruitment of children or the use of banned weapons – are no longer penalised by a blanket reference to international humanitarian law, but are now defined in detail in Swiss criminal law.

The following authorities are responsible for conducting criminal proceedings: In times of peace, it is the Office of the Attorney General which conducts proceedings on the grounds of genocide, crimes against humanity and war crimes. The jurisdiction of the military justice system is limited to those cases in which members of the Swiss armed forces are the perpetrators or the victims. By contrast, the military judicial authorities bear sole responsibility for prosecuting such crimes during wartime.

Switzerland is also responsible for prosecuting offences committed abroad if the perpetrator is located in Switzerland and cannot be extradited or transferred to an international criminal court. This ensures that Switzerland cannot be abused – either now or in the future – as a "safe haven" by the world's most serious criminals. At the same time, a provision in Switzerland's code of procedure also ensures that no prosecuting authority need commence complex and costly in absentia proceedings that have no connection with Switzerland, or have to conduct proceedings that have no prospect of success because evidence is unavailable.

4. Ad-hoc tribunals and successor courts

In the wake of conflicts in the former Yugoslavia and in Rwanda, Switzerland laid down the rules of cooperation with the ad-hoc tribunals in the Hague and Arusha (Tanzania) in 1995 in the Federal Act on Cooperation with the International Tribunals Prosecuting Serious Violations of International Humanitarian Law. In 2003, the scope of the Act was extended to cover cooperation with the special court of justice in Sierra Leone. Once these ad-hoc tribunals had succeeded in completing a large proportion of pending war crimes proceedings, the UN Security Council established a successor court to conduct the final trials. In 2012, Switzerland extended the scope of the aforementioned Act once again to include cooperation with this successor court.

5. Cooperation with the ICC: schema

Cooperation with the ICC

Note

For the complete documentation see the pages in German, French or Italian.

Documents

Links

to the top Last modification 04.07.2013

Cour pénale internationale


1. Tâches

La Cour pénale internationale (CPI) est une cour permanente siégant à La Haye, devant laquelle sont jugées les personnes accusées des crimes les plus graves qui touchent l'ensemble de la communauté internationale, à savoir les génocides, les crimes contre l’humanité et les crimes de guerre. Sa compétence est régie par le Statut de Rome de 1998, entré en vigueur en 2002. La CPI est l'expression de la détermination des 122 Etats membres (état au 1er mai 2013) "à mettre un terme à l'impunité des auteurs de ces crimes et à concourir ainsi à la prévention de nouveaux crimes".

La CPI n'est pas une instance de recours au niveau international. Elle ne se substitue pas non plus aux tribunaux nationaux, mais intervient selon le principe de la complémentarité, uniquement dans les cas où les autorités nationales n’ont pas la volonté ou les moyens de poursuivre en justice les crimes commis sur leur territoire national ou perpétrés par leurs ressortissants. Cela peut arriver lorsque les autorités nationales compétentes sont contrôlées par des personnes ayant elles-mêmes une part de responsabilité dans les crimes en cause ou que le système de poursuite pénale n’est plus en état de fonctionner suite à une guerre. La CPI permet de combler les lacunes dans la poursuite de ces crimes particulièrement abominables.

Eu égard à sa tradition humanitaire et à sa qualité d'Etat dépositaire des Conventions de Genève, la Suisse a soutenu de manière décisive la création d'une cour forte et indépendante. Elle a ratifié le Statut de Rome en 2001 et procédé aux adaptations de lois qui s'imposaient pour permettre la coopération avec la CPI.

2. Coopération avec la CPI

Les Etats parties sont tenus de coopérer pleinement avec la CPI. La Cour ne disposant pas de forces de police propres, elle est tributaire de la collaboration des Etats pour mener ses procédures. Pour permettre cette collaboration, la Suisse a adopté la loi fédérale du 22 juin 2001 sur la coopération avec la Cour pénale internationale (LCPI). Un service central doté de compétences étendues a été institué au sein de l'Office fédéral de la justice (OFJ). Il a pour attributions de recevoir les demandes émanant de la Cour, de définir l'ampleur de la coopération et d'en arrêter les modalités.

Remise de personnes recherchées

L'OFJ reçoit la demande d'arrestation de la CPI et vérifie si les conditions de la remise sont remplies. Le cas échéant, il ordonne l'arrestation des personnes recherchées. Il décerne un mandat d'arrêt aux fins de remise et informe la CPI. Si la demande de remise parvient à l'OFJ dans les délais impartis (au plus tard 60 jours après l'arrestation), la personne recherchée reste placée en détention jusqu'à la clôture de la procédure. Elle peut faire recours devant le Tribunal pénal fédéral contre sa détention.

La personne recherchée peut renoncer à la procédure ordinaire en donnant son consentement à la remise. Dans ce cas, l'OFJ peut autoriser la remise et la faire exécuter sans délai. Dans le cas contraire, l'OFJ prend la décision de remise. La personne recherchée ne peut pas attaquer cette décision; elle ne peut que faire recours devant la CPI sur la question de sa compétence.

Si un citoyen suisse est remis à la CPI, l'OFJ demande qu'il soit restitué à la Suisse à l'issue de la procédure, afin qu'il puisse y purger sa peine.

Autres formes de coopération

L'OFJ reçoit les demandes portant sur d'autres formes de coopération (rassemblement d'éléments de preuve, y compris les dépositions, interrogatoire de personnes suspectes, exécution de perquisitions et de saisies, notification de documents, etc.). Il statue sur la licéité de la coopération, ordonne les mesures nécessaires et charge une autorité cantonale ou fédérale d'exécuter la demande. Les personnes inculpées dans le cadre d'une procédure menée devant la Cour n'ont pas qualité pour recourir. Seules les autres personnes concernées par les mesures d'entraide judiciaire peuvent recourir contre la décision de clôture de l'OFJ.

L'OFJ peut en outre autoriser les procureurs de la CPI à procéder à des actes d'instruction sur le territoire suisse (par ex. audition de témoins).

La règle selon laquelle l'OFJ peut transmettre spontanément à la Cour les informations et les éléments de preuve qu'une autorité suisse a recueillis pour les besoins de sa propre enquête va au-delà des exigences du Statut de Rome. Elle a pour but de permettre l'ouverture d'une poursuite pénale ou de faciliter le déroulement d'une enquête en cours.

Exécution des peines privatives de liberté

La CPI n'ayant aucune possibilité de faire exécuter des peines privatives de liberté, elle dépend du soutien de son Etat hôte et des Etats parties. La Suisse peut faire exécuter une décision pénale qui a force de chose jugée sur demande de la CPI si la personne condamnée est suisse ou a son domicile habituel en Suisse. L'OFJ prend sa décision après avoir consulté l'autorité cantonale compétente. Les autorités suisses doivent se conformer à la peine fixée par la CPI.

3. Adaptation du droit pénal suisse

Après l'adoption de la LCPI, la Suisse a adapté son droit pénal au Statut de Rome, afin d'assurer une poursuite pénale efficace, transparente et sans faille des génocides, des crimes contre l'humanité et des crimes de guerre. Les modifications du code pénal et du code pénal militaire entrées en vigueur en 2011 ont consisté essentiellement à inscrire dans le droit suisse les crimes contre l'humanité et à définir plus précisément les crimes de guerre.

  • Les crimes contre l’humanité désignent des actes tels que le meurtre, l’extermination, la réduction en esclavage, les disparitions forcées, la torture, les infractions sexuelles et la déportation, commis dans le cadre d’une attaque généralisée ou systématique contre la population civile. Ces actes étaient déjà sanctionnés par le droit suisse avant la révision, mais celui-ci ne punissait pas spécifiquement l’élément d’attaque contre la population civile, lequel confère aux crimes contre l’humanité un caractère particulièrement abominable.
     
  • Les crimes de guerre (attaques contre des civils, recrutement d’enfants soldats, utilisation d’armes prohibées, etc.), qui n'étaient sanctionnés que par une référence générale au droit international humanitaire, sont désormais définis de manière détaillée dans le droit pénal suisse.

Des autorités différentes sont compétentes pour mener les procédures en temps de paix et en temps de guerre. En temps de paix, le Ministère public de la Confédération mène les procédures pour génocide, crimes contre l’humanité ou crimes de guerre, et seuls incombent aux tribunaux militaires les cas dans lesquels un militaire suisse est l’auteur ou la victime du crime. En temps de guerre, tous les cas relèvent de la juridiction militaire.

Les autorités suisses peuvent aussi poursuivre des actes commis à l’étranger, à condition toutefois que leur auteur se trouve en Suisse et ne puisse pas être extradé ni remis à un tribunal pénal international. La Suisse est ainsi assurée de ne pas pouvoir servir de havre à des criminels de guerre. Grâce à une norme procédurale, les autorités de poursuite pénale sont dispensées d'ouvrir des procédures longues et complexes en l’absence de l’inculpé dans des cas qui sont entièrement étrangers à la Suisse ou de conduire des procès dépourvus de chances de succès faute de pouvoir se procurer les preuves.

4. Tribunaux ad hoc et mécanisme successeur

Suite aux conflits en ex-Yougoslavie et au Rwanda, la Suisse, pour réglementer sa collaboration avec les tribunaux ad hoc sis à La Haye et à Arusha (Tanzanie), a adopté la loi fédérale du 21 décembre 1995 relative à la coopération avec les tribunaux internationaux chargés de poursuivre les violations graves du droit international humanitaire. En 2003, le champ d’application de cette loi a été élargi pour couvrir la collaboration avec le tribunal spécial pour la Sierra Leone. Les tribunaux ad hoc étant parvenus à conclure bon nombre des procédures menées pour crimes de guerre, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a créé le Mécanisme international chargé d’exercer les fonctions résiduelles des tribunaux pénaux. La Suisse a étendu en 2012 le champ d'application de la loi, afin de collaborer avec cet organe judiciaire.

5. Coopération avec la CPI: schéma

Coopération avec la CPI

Dernière modification 04.07.2013

Début de la page