Transfer of sentenced persons


1. Definition

The European Convention on the Transfer of Sentenced Persons allows a person serving a custodial sentence (sanction or punishment) outside their home state to return to their home state to serve that sentence, subject to the fulfilment of certain conditions. This is intended to serve their reintegration into society. However, the Convention does not oblige member states to approve a request for transfer. To date, in addition to every member of the Council of Europe, the Convention has also been ratified by around 20 non-European states.

Switzerland acceded to the Convention in 1988, and to the Additional Protocol in 2004. It has also signed bilateral transfer treaties with Cuba, Kosovo, Morocco, Paraguay, Peru and Thailand, as well as a Guarantee of Reciprocity with Barbados.

2. Conditions of transfer

A transfer requires the following conditions, in particular, to be met:

  • The judgment must be final and enforceable.
  • At least six months of the sentence must still have to be served when the request for transfer is received.
  • The criminal offence must be punishable not only in the sentencing state (the state in which the judgment was handed down and where the sentenced person is serving their sentence), but also in the administering state (the home state of the sentenced person, to which they are to be transferred to continue serving their sentence).
  • The competent authorities in the sentencing and administering states, as well as the sentenced person, must give their consent to the transfer.
  • The sentenced person holds citizenship of the administering state. The Convention is not applicable if the person holds only a short or long-term residence permit. Some states, such as the Netherlands, deviate from this principle by also accepting sentenced persons who are not Dutch citizens, provided certain conditions are met.

3. Effects of transfer

The Convention provides for two possible methods of determining the length of sentence that the sentenced person still has to serve: continued enforcement, or the conversion of the original judgment into a judgment issued by the administering state.

Switzerland has opted for continued enforcement, in which the foreign sanction is essentially taken over unchanged. The remaining sentence that must be served in Switzerland following the transfer thus corresponds to the sentence period that would still have to be served in the sentencing state. However, if the sanction imposed by the sentencing state is incompatible with Swiss law, the sentence is adjusted to the maximum penalty which may be imposed for the offence in question under Swiss law. Once the transfer has taken place, the enforcement of the sanction is governed by Swiss law (conditions of parole, etc.).

4. Transfer procedure (in accordance with the Convention)

  • The sentenced person communicates their wish to be transferred to the competent authorities in the sentencing or administering state.
  • The sentencing and administering states exchange the necessary documentation (personal data, judgment, information on the sentence served to date in the sentencing state, and any further sentence to be served in the administering state).
  • The authorities of the two states take a decision on the request for transfer on the basis of this information. In Switzerland, responsibility for the decision on transfer lies with the Federal Office of Justice FOJ (Extraditions Unit), in cooperation with the relevant cantonal authorities. In the case of a transfer to Switzerland, the competent cantonal court will issue an exequatur decision. In doing so, it will examine whether or not the foreign judgment can be executed under Swiss law, and whether the length of sentence set abroad may have to be reduced to the maximum penalty provided for under Swiss law. The sentenced person has a right of appeal against this decision. The Convention does not oblige member states to approve a request for transfer, neither does it provide for the sentenced person to have a right of appeal if their transfer is refused.
  • If both states have consented to the transfer, thus making it enforceable, they will discuss the details of its execution, i.e. the place and date of transfer.
    The transfer process often involves time-consuming enquiries and clarifications, and may therefore prove lengthy. Experience indicates that the process can be expected to last for well over six months.

5. Transfer without the consent of the sentenced person

In the interests of international collaboration on a broader scale, the Additional Protocol to the Transfer Convention provides for a sentence to be executed in the country of origin without the consent of or against the will of the sentenced person in two cases.

  • If a legally valid expulsion order exists against the sentenced person in the sentencing state, the sentenced person may be handed over to their country of origin to serve out the remainder of their sentence.
  • If the sentenced person flees from the sentencing state to their country of origin, thereby seeking to avoid serving their sentence, the country of origin may execute the sentence in place of the sentencing state (please refer also to the "Sentence execution on behalf of another state" factsheet).

Like the Convention, the Additional Protocol does not oblige member states to approve a request for transfer.

6. Transfer procedure (in accordance with the Additional Protocol)

Transfer from Switzerland to a foreign state

  • The cantonal authority responsible for the execution of sentences and measures (executive authority) asks the FOJ to begin transfer proceedings. It encloses a copy of the enforceable judgment, as well as the final and absolute expulsion order, with its request.
  • The request is submitted after the sentenced person has been granted a legal hearing. They must be given the opportunity to respond to the executive authority's transfer request.
  • The FOJ checks that the cantonal request is complete and permissible, and may make further enquiries. Where necessary, these may extend to the sentenced person's country of origin.
  • The FOJ rules that the country of origin will be asked to take over the enforcement of the remainder of the sentenced person's sentence and that, if the request is approved, the sentenced person will be handed over to their country of origin. The sentenced person has 30 days in which to lodge an appeal against this ruling before the Federal Criminal Court. Both the sentenced person and the FOJ may appeal against the Federal Criminal Court decision before the Federal Supreme Court. An appeal does not have any suspensive effect on the submission of the transfer request to the country of origin.
  • The FOJ sends the transfer request to the country of origin. Specifically, it will request a binding response as to whether or not the future enforcement of the sentence will be taken over. The FOJ also asks for information on the length and severity of sentence that remains to be served following transfer, as well as details of continued sentence enforcement, specifically the timing of parole.
  • The FOJ examines the response of the country of origin, and asks the cantonal executive authority if it continues to support the transfer. If this is the case, steps will be taken to execute the transfer. The Swiss authorities reserve the right not to pursue the transfer after receiving the response from the country of origin, especially if the sentence would be too lenient or too short following any necessary conversion or adjustment.

Transfer from a foreign state to Switzerland

  • The foreign authority submits the transfer request to the FOJ.
  • The FOJ checks that the request is complete and permissible. If this is the case, it forwards the request to the competent cantonal executive authority for the latter's response.
  • Based on the cantonal response, the FOJ decides whether to approve or to refuse the foreign request.
  • If it decides to approve the request, the FOJ applies to begin exequatur proceedings: the cantonal court must establish whether or not the foreign judgement can be executed in Switzerland and, if necessary, must adjust the sentence to the maximum penalty provided for under Swiss law. An appeal against the court's decision may be lodged with the cantonal court of appeal.
  • If the transfer of the sentenced person to Switzerland is approved, the cantonal authorities forward the corresponding documents to the FOJ, along with the court's ruling that the sentence may be enforced in Switzerland.
  • The FOJ notifies the foreign authority of the final agreement of the Swiss authorities. As soon as the foreign authority has communicated its consent to the transfer, steps are taken to execute it.

Transfer proceedings against the will of the sentenced person generally take at least a year. Transfer under the terms of the Additional Protocol may thus be considered only in the case of longer custodial sentences, usually of at least two years.

Note

Documents

For the complete documentation see the pages in German, French or Italian.

to the top Last modification 23.06.2014

Überstellung verurteilter Personen


1. Begriff

Das Übereinkommen des Europarates über die Überstellung verurteilter Personen ermöglicht es Personen, die ausserhalb ihres Heimatstaates zu einer freiheitsentziehenden Sanktion (Strafe oder Massnahme) verurteilt worden sind, unter gewissen Voraussetzungen für die Verbüssung der Sanktion in ihren Heimatstaat zurückzukehren. Dadurch soll ihre Wiedereingliederung in die Gesellschaft gefördert werden. Das Übereinkommen begründet allerdings keine Verpflichtung der Mitgliedstaaten, einem Überstellungsersuchen zuzustimmen. Bisher haben neben den Mitgliedstaaten des Europarates auch rund 20 aussereuropäische Staaten das Übereinkommen ratifiziert.

Die Schweiz ist im Jahr 1988 dem Überstellungsübereinkommen und im Jahr 2004 dem Zusatzprotokoll beigetreten. Sie hat zudem bilaterale Überstellungsverträge mit Kosovo, Kuba, Marokko, Paraguay, Peru und Thailand sowie eine Gegenrechtsvereinbarung mit Barbados abgeschlossen.

2. Voraussetzungen für die Überstellung

Eine Überstellung setzt namentlich voraus:

  • Das Urteil ist rechtskräftig und vollstreckbar.
  • Beim Eingang des Überstellungsersuchens sind noch mindestens sechs Monate der Strafe zu verbüssen.
  • Die Straftat ist nicht nur im Urteilsstaat (Staat, wo das Urteil ausgesprochen wurde und sich die verurteilte Person im Straf- oder Massnahmenvollzug befindet), sondern auch im Vollstreckungsstaat (Heimatstaat der verurteilten Person, wohin diese zur weiteren Verbüssung ihrer Strafe überstellt werden soll) strafbar.
  • Die zuständigen Behörden des Urteils- und Vollstreckungsstaates sowie die verurteilte Person sind mit der Überstellung einverstanden.
  • Die verurteilte Person besitzt das Bürgerrecht des Vollstreckungsstaates; hat sie eine Niederlassungs- oder Aufenthaltsbewilligung ist das Überstellungsübereinkommen nicht anwendbar. Von diesem Grundsatz weichen gewisse Staaten (z. B. Niederlande) ab, die unter gewissen Voraussetzungen auch verurteilte Personen ohne Bürgerrecht übernehmen.

3. Wirkungen der Überstellung

Um die Höhe der Strafe festzulegen, welche die verurteilte Person nach der Überstellung noch verbüssen muss, sieht das Übereinkommen zwei mögliche Verfahren vor: die Fortsetzung des Vollzugs oder die Umwandlung des ursprünglichen Urteils in ein Urteil des Vollstreckungsstaates.

Die Schweiz hat sich für die Fortsetzung des Vollzugs entschieden. Die ausländische Sanktion wird grundsätzlich unverändert übernommen. Die in der Schweiz nach der Überstellung zu verbüssende Reststrafe entspricht somit jener, die auch im Urteilsstaat noch zu verbüssen wäre. Ist jedoch die im Urteilsstaat verhängte Sanktion nicht mit dem schweizerischen Recht vereinbar, wird die Sanktion an die für eine derartige Tat nach schweizerischem Recht vorgesehene Höchststrafe angepasst. Nach der Überstellung richtet sich der Vollzug der Sanktion nach schweizerischem Recht (z. B. Voraussetzungen für eine vorzeitige bedingte Entlassung).

4. Ablauf des Überstellungsverfahrens

  • Die verurteilte Person teilt ihren Wunsch nach Überstellung den zuständigen Behörden des Urteils- oder des Vollstreckungsstaates mit.
  • Der Urteils- und Vollstreckungsstaat tauschen die erforderlichen Unterlagen (Personalien, Urteil, Informationen über den bisherigen Strafvollzug im Urteilsstaat und zum allfälligen weiteren Strafvollzug im Vollstreckungsstaat) aus.
  • Aufgrund dieser Informationen entscheiden die Behörden beider Staaten über das Überstellungsersuchen. In der Schweiz ist für den Überstellungsentscheid das Bundesamt für Justiz BJ (Fachbereich Auslieferung) in Zusammenarbeit mit den verantwortlichen kantonalen Behörden zuständig. Im Falle einer Überstellung an die Schweiz erlässt das zuständige kantonale Gericht einen Exequaturentscheid. Dabei prüft es, ob das ausländische Urteil nach Schweizer Recht vollstreckt werden kann und ob die Ausland festgelegte Strafdauer allenfalls auf die im Schweizer Recht vorgesehene Höchststrafe zu reduzieren ist. Gegen diesen Entscheid steht der verurteilten Person ein Rechtsmittel offen. Das Übereinkommen verpflichtet die Mitgliedstaaten nicht, einem Überstellungsersuchen zuzustimmen. Es sieht auch keine Beschwerdemöglichkeit der verurteilten Person gegen eine Ablehnung der Überstellung vor.
  • Haben beide Staaten der Überstellung zugestimmt und wird die Überstellung dadurch vollstreckbar, sprechen die beiden Staaten die Vollzugsmodalitäten ab (Datum und Ort der Übergabe).

Das Überstellungsverfahren erfordert oft aufwändige Abklärungen und dauert entsprechend lange. Erfahrungsgemäss ist mit einer Verfahrensdauer von deutlich mehr als sechs Monaten zu rechnen.

5. Überstellung ohne Zustimmung der verurteilten Person

Im Interesse einer weiter gehenden internationalen Zusammenarbeit sieht das Zusatzprotokoll zum Überstellungsübereinkommen vor, dass auch ohne oder gegen den Willen einer verurteilten Person in zwei Fällen die Strafe im Heimatstaat vollstreckt werden kann.

  • Wenn gegen die verurteilte Person im Urteilsstaat eine rechtskräftige Aus- oder Wegweisungsverfügung vorliegt, kann sie in ihren Heimatstaat zum Vollzug einer Reststrafe überstellt werden.
  • Wenn die verurteilte Person aus dem Urteilsstaat in ihren Heimatstaat flieht und sich so der Strafverbüssung zu entziehen versucht, kann der Heimatstaat stellvertretend die Strafe vollstrecken (siehe auch Fact Sheet "Stellvertretende Strafvollstreckung").

Auch das Zusatzprotokoll begründet keine Verpflichtung der Mitgliedstaaten, einem Überstellungsersuchen zuzustimmen.

6. Ablauf des Überstellungsverfahrens (gemäss Zusatzprotokoll)

Überstelllung von der Schweiz ans Ausland

  • Die kantonale Strafvollzugsbehörde beantragt beim BJ, das Überstellungsverfahren einzuleiten. Sie legt dem Antrag namentlich eine Kopie des vollstreckbaren Urteils sowie der rechtskräftigen Aus- oder Wegweisungsverfügung bei.
  • Der Antrag erfolgt, nachdem der verurteilten Person das rechtliche Gehör gewährt worden ist. Sie muss namentlich die Gelegenheit erhalten, sich zum Überstellungsantrag der kantonalen Strafvollzugsbehörde zu äussern.
  • Das BJ prüft, ob der kantonale Antrag vollständig und zulässig ist, und trifft allenfalls weitere Abklärungen, falls erforderlich auch im Heimatstaat der verurteilten Person.
  • Das BJ verfügt, dass der Heimatstaat um Übernahme der weiteren Strafvollstreckung ersucht und dass im Falle einer Zustimmung die verurteilte Person ihrem Heimatstaat übergeben wird. Gegen diesen Entscheid kann die verurteilte Person innert 30 Tagen eine Beschwerde beim Bundesstrafgericht einreichen. Den Entscheid des Bundesstrafgerichts können sowohl die verurteilte Person als auch das BJ beim Bundesgericht anfechten. Eine allfällige Beschwerde hat keine aufschiebende Wirkung auf die Stellung des Überstellungsersuchens.
  • Das BJ übermittelt das Überstellungsersuchen an den Heimatstaat. Es ersucht insbesondere um eine verbindliche Stellungnahme, ob die weitere Strafvollstreckung übernommen wird. Ersucht wird zudem um Angaben über die Höhe der Strafe, die nach der Überstellung zu verbüssen bleibt, sowie über die Modalitäten des weiteren Strafvollzugs (insbesondere über den Zeitpunkt der bedingten Entlassung).
  • Das BJ prüft die Stellungnahme des Heimatstaates und fragt die kantonale Strafvoll-zugsbehörde an, ob sie weiterhin die Überstellung befürwortet. Gegebenenfalls wird der Vollzug der Überstellung eingeleitet. Die schweizerischen Behörden behalten sich vor, nach Erhalt der Stellungnahme auf eine Überstellung zu verzichten (insbesondere falls das Strafmass nach einer allfälligen Umwandlung oder Anpassung der Strafe zu gering sein sollte).

Überstellung vom Ausland an die Schweiz

  • Die ausländische Behörde übermittelt das Überstellungsersuchen an das BJ.
  • Das BJ prüft, ob das Ersuchen vollständig und zulässig ist. Gegebenenfalls leitet es das Ersuchen an die zuständige kantonale Strafvollzugsbehörde zur Stellungnahme weiter.
  • Gestützt auf die kantonale Stellungnahme entscheidet das BJ über die Annahme oder Ablehnung des ausländischen Ersuchens.
  • Im Falle einer Annahme des Ersuchens beantragt das BJ, das Exequaturverfahren einzuleiten: Das kantonale Gericht muss abklären, ob das ausländische Urteil in der Schweiz vollstreckt werden kann und allenfalls das Strafmass an die nach Schweizer Recht vorgesehene Höchststrafe anpassen. Der Entscheid des Gerichts kann bei der kantonalen Rekursinstanz angefochten werden.
  • Wird die Überstellung der verurteilten Person an die Schweiz befürwortet, übermitteln die kantonalen Behörden die entsprechenden Dokumente an das BJ (einschliesslich Vollstreckbarerklärung des Gerichts).
  • Das BJ informiert die ausländische Behörde über das definitive Einverständnis der schweizerischen Behörden. Sobald die ausländische Behörde ihr Einverständis zur Überstellung mitgeteilt hat, wird der Vollzug eingeleitet.

Ein Überstellungsverfahren gegen den Willen der verurteilten Person dauert in der Regel mindestens ein Jahr. Eine Überstellung nach Zusatzprotokoll kann deshalb nur im Falle einer längeren Freiheitsstrafe (in der Regel mindestens zwei Jahre) in Betracht gezogen werden.

Letzte Änderung 23.06.2014

Zum Seitenanfang