Private International Law

Private international law (or conflict of laws) is a set of rules of law that determine which court has jurisdiction and which law governs a given legal dispute. It also determines whether, and if so under what conditions, a judgment rendered by a foreign court will be recognized and enforced domestically. Private international law rules typically apply when a legal dispute has an international element.

The private international law of Switzerland is codified in the Federal Act on Private International Law of 18 December 1987. That Act contains a general carve-out for matters governed by international treaties; some of those were drafted within international fora such as the Hague Conference on Private International Law, the UN Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL) or UNIDROIT.

Working alongside the government agencies that are also responsible for the issues mentioned, the Private International Law Unit prepares legislation and participates in the drafting and enforcements of the necessary international instruments (central authority function). These include international child abductions, international protection for minors and adults, cross-border spousal support-related matters, and international mutual assistance in civil and commercial matters, in which the authorities or courts of a requested states support the administration of justice in a requesting state.

International mutual assistance does not mean the provision of support to private individuals in legal matters with an international element. In particular, no information may be given on domestic or foreign law, or on the enforcement of claims under private law in Switzerland or internationally. The Federal Office of Justice provides legal information only in those areas in which it fulfils the function of a central authority, i.e. child abductions, protection for minors and adults, the collection of spousal and other support payments, and matters relating to summonses and evidence-gathering.

Further information

Note

For the complete documentation see the pages in German, French or Italian.

Legal basis

Documents

Dossier

to the top Last modification 08.02.2016

Contact

Federal Office of Justice
Private International Law Unit
Bundesrain 20
CH-3003 Bern
T
+41 58 463 88 64
Fax
+41 58 462 78 64
Contact

Droit international privé

Le droit international privé (DIP) est applicable aux situations de droit privé à caractère international. Il répond principalement aux questions suivantes: quel tribunal est compétent ? quel droit national est applicable ? à quelles conditions une décision rendue dans un Etat peut-elle être reconnue et exécutée dans un autre Etat?

Ces questions sont réglées pour la Suisse dans la Loi fédérale du 18 décembre 1987 sur le droit international privé (LDIP ; RS 291). Certains domaines sont réglés par des traités internationaux, qui ont été négociés au sein de divers organismes tels que la Conférence de La Haye sur le droit international privé, la Commission des Nations Unies pour le droit commercial international (CNUDCI) ou encore UNIDROIT.

L’unité Droit international privé élabore les actes normatifs touchant à ces domaines, en collaboration avec les autres services compétents, et elle participe à la mise sur pied des instruments internationaux nécessaires et à leur exécution (fonction d’autorité centrale). Son champ d’action englobe d’une part tout ce qui concerne, sur le plan international, les enlèvements d’enfants, la protection des mineurs et des adultes et les aliments, et d’autre part l’entraide judiciaire internationale en matière civile et commerciale, au titre de laquelle les autorités et les tribunaux de l’Etat requis assistent ceux de l’Etat requérant dans l’administration de la justice.

L’entraide judiciaire ne comprend pas le soutien à des particuliers dans des questions juridiques à caractère international. Notamment, l’unité ne donne pas de renseignements sur le droit suisse ou étranger ni sur l’exécution d’obligations de droit privé en Suisse ou dans un autre Etat. Elle ne fournit d’informations juridiques que dans les domaines dans lesquelles elle est autorité centrale (enlèvements d’enfant, protection des mineurs et des adultes, recouvrement d’aliments, questions relatives à la notification ou à l’administration de preuves).

Infos complémentaires

Bases légales

Documents

vers le haut Dernière modification 08.02.2016

Contact

Office fédéral de la justice
Domaine de direction Droit privé
Bundesrain 20
CH-3003 Berne
T
+41 58 462 41 82
Fax
+41 58 462 42 25
Contact