Taking evidence


1. Definition

Whereas borders do not create barriers for criminals, they do present obstacles to prosecuting authorities. A foreign public prosecutor may not, for example, order a bank in Switzerland to freeze an alleged fraudster's account and hand over the relevant banking documents as evidence. Sovereignty precludes the conduct of official acts in a foreign state. However, the instrument of international mutual assistance in criminal matters makes it possible for states to support each other in the fight against international crime. If a public prosecutor has to investigate a case abroad, they will ask the judicial authorities of the country concerned to handle the case on their behalf. The requested state will lend legal assistance by undertaking on its territory the official acts that have been requested, and by forwarding the findings to the requesting state for use in a specific criminal case. Specifically, mutual assistance involves interviewing witnesses and suspects, securing and handing over evidence and documents as well as objects and assets, searching premises and seizing property, conducting identity parades and serving summonses, judgments and other court documents.

In the sense of voluntary legal assistance, a Swiss public prosecutor may pass on information or evidence which they have gathered during their own criminal investigations to a foreign prosecuting authority without being requested to do so. They may not pass on evidence which is private and confidential, such as banking documents. A Swiss public prosecutor is, however, permitted to pass on even confidential information if it will permit their foreign counterpart to make a request for mutual assistance to Switzerland.

A distinction must be made between international mutual assistance in criminal matters and the exchange of intelligence between police forces. The latter is simply information-gathering without the use of coercive action. This includes the police interviewing informants, the provision of extracts from official records, information about telephone subscribers, holders of post office boxes, keepers of vehicles, and the identity of specific persons, as well as address enquiries.

A distinction must also be drawn between mutual assistance and administrative assistance, which involves cooperation between tax and other government authorities. The exchange of information in tax proceeding is governed by the Federal Act on International Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters (SR 651.1) and bilateral double taxation treaties.  The Federal Tax Administration (FTA) is responsible for fulfilling foreign requests for official assistance, and for submitting Swiss requests to foreign governments.

2. Principles of Mutual Assistance

Mutual assistance is conditional upon the conduct of criminal proceedings in the requesting state. Switzerland may grant direct legal assistance to any state on the basis of the Federal Act on International Mutual Assistance in Criminal Matters (IMAC). If Switzerland has not concluded a mutual assistance treaty with the requesting state, then the request will generally be granted only if the requesting state guarantees reciprocity.

Coercive measures may be ordered in the execution of a mutual assistance request if the offence described in the request is also punishable in Switzerland. This is the principle of dual criminality. Coercive measures include searching premises, seizing evidence, serving summonses with a warning of arrest in the event of non-appearance, interviewing witnesses and lifting legal confidentiality obligations. Swiss banking confidentiality regulations are not absolute. They do not afford a suspected criminal any protection in, for example, a case of corruption in which bank documents (account statements) are to be supplied to the requesting authority.

Mutual assistance will not be granted if the subject of the investigation or proceedings is an act which is regarded by Switzerland as a political offence. Excluded from the definition of 'political offence' are all crimes that might be regarded as genocide or particularly reprehensible, such as aircraft hijacking or hostage-taking. Furthermore, a request will not be granted if it concerns a military offence such as insubordination or desertion.

Legal assistance will also be refused if there are serious shortcomings in the foreign proceedings. Examples include violations of the European Convention on Human Rights or the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights. It will also be denied if the proceedings abroad are carried out to prosecute or punish a person on account of their political opinions, their belonging to a certain social group, their race, religion or nationality.

Legal assistance is no longer possible if the suspect has been acquitted of or served a sentence for the same offence in either Switzerland or in the state where the offence was committed. This is the doctrine of ne bis in idem, or double jeopardy.

As a rule, Switzerland can grant legal assistance for fiscal offences only if the case described in the request constitutes tax or duty fraud under Swiss law. No legal assistance can be given in cases involving tax evasion, however. In cases of doubt, the Federal Office of Justice (FOJ) will consult the FTA. The terms of cooperation under the Schengen Agreement nonetheless provide for legal assistance relating to the evasion of consumer taxes, value-added tax and customs duties.

  • Tax evasion is where a person does not reveal information in their tax return in order to avoid a tax assessment or to ensure that this is incomplete. In Switzerland, tax evasion is regarded as a misdemeanour and is punished by a fine.
  • Tax fraud, meanwhile, refers to the provision of forged, falsified or untrue documents – such as business ledgers, balance sheets, profit and loss accounts and salary statements – in order to evade tax and deceive the tax authorities. Duty fraud refers to where a person fraudulently withholds a duty, fee or other payment to a public authority, or otherwise impairs its assets. Tax and duty fraud are regarded in Switzerland as crimes and are punished by imprisonment.

The evidence and information obtained through the means of mutual assistance can be used in the requesting state only in the criminal procedure for which assistance has been requested (reservation of speciality). The evidence an information may not be used, neither directly nor indirectly, in a criminal procedure concerning an offence for which assistance is not admissible.

Mutual assistance proceedings are governed by the principle of proportionality. However, this does not mean that a foreign state may seek assistance only after it has exhausted its own internal means of investigation. Mutual assistance proceedings are intended to assist criminal proceedings in the requesting state. Thus, all documents are to be handed over unless it is absolutely clear that they are unconnected with the charges that have been brought.

Objects and assets that derive from a criminal offence (proceeds of crime) may be surrendered to foreign authorities so that they can be seized by a foreign court or handed over to the foreign authorities to be returned to their rightful owners. As a rule, a legally valid and enforceable ruling must have been made by a criminal, civil or administrative court in the requesting state. In exceptional cases, Switzerland may waive this requirement if the criminal source is obvious, as in the Abacha case.

3. Mutual Assistance Procedure in Switzerland

Channel of transmission

There are a number of different channels by which mutual assistance requests may be transmitted to Switzerland:

  • Member states of the European Convention on Mutual Assistance in Criminal Matters (ECMA) send their requests directly or via their justice ministry to the FOJ.
  • If no treaty has been signed, then diplomatic channels are the rule. The FOJ receives the request from the requesting state's representation in Switzerland.
  • Direct contact between the foreign authority and the competent Swiss authority is in particular provided for in the Second Additional Protocol to the ECMA and in the Convention implementing the Schengen Agreement.

If there is no provision for direct contact, Swiss authorities transmit their requests to the relevant foreign authority via the FOJ.

Form and Contents of Mutual Assistance Requests

Requests for mutual assistance must contain the following information:

  • Name of the requesting authority (generally a judicial authority)
  • The object of the foreign proceedings and the reason for the request
    (description of the official acts requested)
  • Identifying data of the person who is the object of the criminal proceedings
  • Legal evaluation of the offence in the requesting state
  • Description of the essential facts of the case: place, time and circumstances
    The requesting authority does not have to prove that its description is accurate. It must only present reasonable grounds for suspicion. The requesting authority may not be required to explain precisely what it wishes to establish with its request. 'Fishing expeditions', however, are heavily frowned-upon. Evidence may not be collected at random and without material clues, for example the freezing of all assets in Switzerland and the handover of banking documents without information on the whereabouts of these assets.

Handling of Mutual Assistance Requests

The FOJ (Mutual Assistance Units I and II) conducts a summary examination of whether or not the request for mutual assistance satisfies the applicable formal requirements. If it does not, the FOJ asks the requesting authority to rectify or amend the request. In urgent cases, the FOJ may order provisional action – such as the freezing of accounts or seizure of assets – as soon as notice of a request has been given. The FOJ then sets a deadline for the requesting state to submit the formal request.

If the request meets the requirements and if mutual assistance is not obviously inadmissible (in the case of military offences, for example), the FOJ will forward the request to the competent cantonal judicial authority for execution. If investigations are required in several cantons, the FOJ may appoint one of these cantons as lead canton. In practice, most requests for mutual assistance are executed by the cantons. However, the FOJ may also delegate the execution of a request to the federal authority which would be competent had the offence been committed in Switzerland. Examples of such authorities include the Office of the Attorney General of Switzerland in cases of acts of terrorism or corruption of federal officials, and the Federal Customs Administration in cases of violation of the Federal Customs Act. If several cantons are involved and if the lead canton does not render a decision within the appropriate time, or if the case is complex or of particular importance, the FOJ itself may take charge of executing the request for mutual assistance. Based on positive experience, specifically in the Abacha case, the Federal Council's strategy on the freezing, forfeiture and restitution of potentate funds ('Asset Recovery') provides that the FOJ should increasingly execute requests for mutual assistance in this field. Under the terms of the mutual assistance treaty between Switzerland and the USA, the FOJ is also responsible for executing all incoming US legal assistance requests.

The executing authority examines whether the substantive requirements to grant mutual assistance have been met. If this is the case, it issues a decree to enter into the case, and orders the requested measures to be carried out – provided they are admissible in Switzerland. This sets the mutual assistance proceedings in motion. They are generally followed through until their conclusion. Once all measures have been taken and the proceedings have been concluded, the executing authorities will issue a final ruling. This will contain a detailed, in-depth statement of the legality of mutual assistance in the case in question. It will also state the extent to which mutual assistance was provided, i.e. which documents or assets may be handed over to the requesting state. Mutual assistance proceedings may be executed in a simplified procedure without a final ruling if the holders of documents or assets consent in writing to their being handed over to the requesting state.

The parties involved in the foreign proceedings (police officers, public prosecutors, defendants, legal representatives) may be allowed to attend action taken in response to a request for mutual assistance, provided that the law of the requesting state would admit the evidence obtained by mutual assistance only if those persons were present (common-law practice) or if their presence would make criminal proceedings in the requesting country considerably more likely to succeed. Their presence simply means that the parties to the foreign proceedings may be present at the execution of the request. They are not allowed to officiate themselves, however; official acts are the sole prerogative of Swiss officials.

Appeals

No appeal may be lodged against the decree to enter into the case. In principle, appeals may be made only against the final ruling. Appeals against any interim rulings may also be lodged only at the end of the proceedings, together with the appeal against the final ruling. Therefore, legal remedies are not available to the persons affected by mutual assistance measures until the end of the process. An exception is made for interim rulings which, because they involve the seizure of assets and valuables or the presence of foreign officials during execution, place the person concerned under an immediate and irreparable disadvantage, e.g. where a company has to close because a bank account has been frozen. The rulings of the authorities providing mutual assistance may be challenged before the Federal Criminal Court. An appeal against the decision of the Federal Criminal Court may be lodged with the Federal Supreme Court if that decision concerns the seizure or release of objects or assets, or the transmission of confidential information, and the case in question is a particularly important one. Mutual assistance is granted to the requesting state as soon as the final ruling has become absolute.

The only parties entitled to lodge an appeal are the FOJ, in its capacity as the federal supervisory authority in matters of mutual assistance, and persons who are personally and directly affected by a mutual assistance measure. Thus, a bank that was required to surrender account documents relating to a specific person has no right of appeal. Only the account holder has that right. The deadline for the appeal against the final ruling is 30 days (Federal Criminal Court) or ten days (Federal Supreme Court).

4. Further development of the legal framework to counter potentate funds

To prevent assets that have been obtained unlawfully by politically exposed persons (potentate funds) entering the Swiss financial centre, Switzerland has devised a system based largely on the two pillars of prevention and repression. Within this system, the Money Laundering Act is one of the most important means of prevention. Repression is based on the International Mutual Assistance Act (IMAC), which permits cooperation with other states to seize and return illicit assets. Switzerland expanded this system with the enactement the Federal Act on the Freezing and Restitution of Assets of Politically Exposed Persons obtained by Unlawful Means (FRAPA).

In practice, the FRAPA is subsidiary to the IMAC. It applies only in those cases in which mutual assistance proceedings are unsuccessful because the requesting state is a failing state, in other words its structures are not sufficiently robust. The FRAPA governs the freezing, forfeiture and restitution of illicit assets by the Federal Council at the request of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs. To uphold the rights of politically exposed persons, provision is made for appeals before the Federal Administrative Court and the Federal Supreme Court.

A distinction must be drawn here between two separate procedures. One involves the freezing of assets as part of mutual assistance proceedings under  the IMAC, and the precautionary freezing of assets with a view to cooperation on mutual assistance or to forfeiture should mutual assistance fail, under the FRAPA. The other, distinct, procedure concerns the freezing of assets to impose sanctions ordered by the UN, the OSCE or Switzerland's most significant trading partners. At the request of the Federal Department for Economic Affairs, Education and Research, these and other coercive measures are ordered by the Federal Council under the terms of the Embargo Act. They serve to secure compliance with international law, and respect for human rights in particular.

Documentation

Spanish translation

to the top Last modification 15.03.2016

Obtention de preuves


1. Définition

Alors même que les frontières deviennent toujours plus perméables aux malfaiteurs, elles demeurent une véritable barrière pour les autorités de police judiciaire. Par exemple, un procureur étranger n’a pas la possibilité d’enjoindre à une banque en Suisse de bloquer les avoirs d’un escroc présumé, pas plus qu’il ne peut la sommer de lui remettre les moyens de preuve que constituent les documents bancaires correspondants. Le principe de souveraineté exclut tout acte officiel sur le territoire d’un Etat étranger. Grâce à l’entraide judiciaire internationale en matière pénale, les Etats peuvent néanmoins se prêter mutuellement assistance et soutien dans la lutte contre la criminalité transfrontière. Lorsqu’un juge doit instruire une affaire à l’étranger, il peut demander aux autorités judiciaires du pays concerné de le faire à sa place. L’Etat requis accorde l’entraide judiciaire en accomplissant sur son territoire les actes officiels demandés et en communiquant les résultats de ces derniers à l’Etat requérant en vue de leur utilisation dans une procédure pénale déterminée. L’entraide judiciaire comprend notamment l’audition de témoins et d’inculpés, la saisie et la remise de pièces à conviction, de documents, d’objets ou d’avoirs, la perquisition et la confiscation, la confrontation de personnes et la notification de citations, de jugements et d’autres actes judiciaires.

L’entraide judiciaire inclut la possibilité pour le procureur suisse de transmettre spontanément, à une autorité de poursuite pénale étrangère, des informations et des moyens de preuves qu’il a recueillis au cours de sa propre enquête. Il ne peut toutefois transmettre des moyens de preuve qui touchent au domaine secret (documents bancaires, par exemple). Le procureur suisse est néanmoins habilité à fournir des informations touchant au domaine secret lorsqu’elles sont de nature à permettre à son homologue étranger de présenter une demande d’entraide judiciaire à la Suisse.

Il ne faut pas confondre l’entraide judiciaire et l’échange de renseignements de police, qui vise simplement à obtenir des informations, sans qu’aucune mesure de contrainte soit nécessaire (par exemple, auditions par la police à titre de renseignement, transmission d’extraits de registres officiels, indication du titulaire d’un raccordement téléphonique, d’une case postale ou du détenteur d’un véhicule, précisions sur l’identité d’une personne, recherche d’adresses).

Il faut aussi la distinguer de l’assistance administrative que se prêtent les autorités fiscales et les autres autorités administratives. L’échange d’informations en matière fiscale est réglé par la loi sur l’assistance administrative fiscale et par les accords bilatéraux de double imposition. L’Administration fédérale des contributions (AFC) est en charge de l’exécution des demandes d’assistance administrative émanant de l’étranger et de l’envoi des demandes suisses aux autorités étrangères.

2. Principes de l’entraide judiciaire

L’entraide judiciaire suppose l’ouverture préalable d’une procédure pénale dans l’Etat requérant. Se fondant sur la loi fédérale sur l’entraide judiciaire en matière pénale (EIMP), la Suisse peut octroyer l’entraide judiciaire à chaque pays. Si aucun accord d’entraide judiciaire n’a été conclu entre la Suisse et l’Etat requérant, l’entraide n’est accordée que si l’Etat requérant garantit la réciprocité.

Lors de l’exécution de la demande d’entraide, il est possible d’ordonner des mesures de contrainte (perquisition, saisie de pièces à conviction, citation sous peine d’exécution forcée, audition de témoins et levée de secrets protégés par la loi) si l’état de fait exposé dans la demande correspond aux éléments d’une infraction réprimée par le droit suisse (principe de la double incrimination). Le secret bancaire suisse n’est donc pas absolu. Lorsqu’il s’agit, dans une affaire de corruption par exemple, de remettre à l’autorité requérante des moyens de preuve sous forme de documents bancaires (relevés de comptes), le secret bancaire n’offre aucune protection au malfaiteur présumé.

Aucune entraide n’est fournie pour des enquêtes ou des procédures relatives à des infractions que la Suisse considère comme des actes de nature politique. L’EIMP dénie tout caractère politique à l’ensemble des crimes qui constituent un génocide ou sont, de façon générale, considérés comme particulièrement répréhensibles (détournements d’avion, prises d’otages). L’entraide est également refusée en cas d’infractions à caractère militaire (refus de servir, désertion).

Les graves défauts de la procédure étrangère (violation de la Convention européenne des droits de l’homme ou du Pacte international relatif aux droits civils et politiques) constituent aussi des motifs permettant de refuser l’entraide judiciaire. La demande est également irrecevable lorsque la procédure à l’étranger tend à poursuivre ou à punir une personne en raison de ses opinions politiques, de son appartenance à un groupe social déterminé, de sa race, de sa confession ou de sa nationalité.

L’entraide n’est plus possible si, à raison de la même affaire, la personne poursuivie soupçonnée a été acquittée ou si elle a exécuté sa peine en Suisse ou dans l’Etat où le délit a été commis (ne bis in idem).

En principe, la Suisse ne peut accorder l’entraide en cas d’infraction fiscale que si les faits exposés dans la demande correspondent à une fraude fiscale ou une escroquerie fiscale en droit suisse. L’entraide n’est pas possible s’il s’agit d’une simple soustraction fiscale. En cas de doute, l’Office fédéral de la justice prend l’avis de l’Administration fédérale des contributions. Toutefois, dans le cadre des accords de Schengen, la Suisse peut accorder l’entraide judiciaire si la soustraction fiscale porte sur les impôts de consommation, la TVA ou les droits de douane.

  • Soustraction d'impôt : le contribuable se soustrait à la taxation ou fait en sorte que celle-ci soit incomplète en omettant des revenus dans sa déclaration d’impôt. La soustraction d’impôt est en Suisse une contravention, passible d’une amende.
  • Fraude fiscale : le contribuable, pour se soustraire à l'impôt et tromper le fisc, fait usage de documents faux, falsifiés ou dont le contenu est inexact, tels que livres comptables, bilans, comptes de résultats ou certificats de salaire. L’escroquerie fiscale consiste à soustraire aux pouvoirs publics, par une attitude astucieuse, une contribution, un subside ou une autre prestation, ou porter atteinte d'une autre manière à leurs intérêts pécuniaires. La fraude fiscale et l’escroquerie fiscale sont des délits passibles d’une peine privative de liberté.

L’entraide judiciaire n’est accordée qu’à la condition que les autorités de l’Etat requérant utilisent les résultats de l’enquête uniquement aux fins d’investigations ou comme moyens de preuve dans une procédure relative à une infraction pour laquelle l’entraide judiciaire est admise (principe de la spécialité). L’utilisation indirecte de ces résultats, c’est-à-dire la communication par les autorités de poursuite pénale aux autorités fiscales ou douanières d’indications informelles basées sur les informations obtenues par voie d’entraide judiciaire est également exclue.

La procédure d’entraide judiciaire est réglée par le principe de la proportionnalité. On ne saurait cependant déduire de ce principe qu’un Etat étranger ne peut demander l’entraide qu’après avoir épuisé toutes les possibilités d’investigation sur son propre territoire. La procédure d’entraide doit permettre de mener à son terme la procédure pénale dans l’Etat requérant. A cet effet, toutes les pièces dont la relation avec les soupçons émis dans cet Etat n’est à priori pas exclue doivent lui être remises.

Les objets et valeurs qui sont le produit d’une infraction (productum sceleris) peuvent être remis en vue de leur confiscation à un tribunal étranger, ou à l’autorité étrangère compétente en vue de leur restitution à l’ayant droit. En règle générale, une décision définitive et exécutoire doit avoir été rendue par un tribunal pénal, civil ou administratif de l’Etat requérant. Il est exceptionnellement possible de renoncer à cette exigence lorsque, comme dans l’affaire Abacha par exemple, l’origine délictueuse des avoirs ne fait pas de doute.

3. Procédure d’entraide judiciaire en Suisse

Voie de transmission

Les demandes d’entraide judiciaire peuvent être présentées à la Suisse de différentes manières :

  • Les Etats membres de la Convention européenne d’entraide judiciaire (CEEJ) adressent leur requête directement ou par l’intermédiaire de leur Ministère de la justice à l’Office fédéral de la justice (OFJ).
  • La voie diplomatique est de rigueur lorsqu’il n’existe pas de traité. L’OFJ reçoit les requêtes de la représentation en Suisse de l’Etat requérant.
  • La correspondance directe entre l’autorité étrangère et l’autorité compétente suisse est prévue selon le Deuxième Protocole additionnel à la CEEJ, la Convention d'application de l'Accord de Schengen, les protocoles additionnels à la CEEJ pour les requêtes de l’Allemagne, l’Autriche, la France et l’Italie et, en cas d’urgence, pour les requêtes des autres pays.

Si aucune correspondance directe n’est prévue, les autorités suisses doivent communiquer leurs requêtes à l’OFJ, qui les transmet à l’étranger.

Forme et contenu de la requête d’entraide judiciaire

Les requêtes d’entraide judiciaire doivent contenir les indications suivantes :

  • Désignation de l’autorité qui présente la requête (en règle générale, une autorité judiciaire)
  • Objet de la procédure étrangère et motif de la requête (description des actes officiels demandés)
  • Indications sur la personne poursuivie
  • Qualification juridique des faits dans l’Etat requérant
  • Description des faits essentiels (lieu, date et circonstances de l’infraction)
    L’autorité requérante n’a pas à fournir la preuve de l’exactitude de l’état de fait décrit ; elle doit présenter des soupçons suffisants. On ne peut exiger de l’autorité requérante qu’elle indique dans l’état de fait ce que la requête doit précisément permettre de découvrir. Par contre, la recherche de preuves ("fishing expedition") est inacceptable. Des preuves ne sauraient être recueillies au hasard, sans indices concrets (par exemple blocage de tous les avoirs en Suisse et remise des documents, en l’absence d’indications plus précises sur l’endroit où se trouvent ces avoirs).

Traitement de la requête d’entraide judiciaire

L’OFJ (Unités de l’entraide judiciaire I et II) examine sommairement si la requête d’entraide judiciaire satisfait aux exigences formelles. Lorsque tel n’est pas le cas, l’OFJ invite l’autorité requérante à la préciser ou à la compléter. Dans les cas urgents, il peut ordonner des mesures provisionnelles (par exemple blocage de comptes, saisie) dès qu’une requête est annoncée. Il fixe alors un délai à l’Etat requérant pour la présentation de la demande formelle.

Lorsque la demande est conforme aux exigences et que l’entraide judiciaire n’est pas manifestement inadmissible (par exemple infractions militaires), l’OFJ la transmet à l’autorité judiciaire cantonale pour exécution. Si les investigations découlant de la requête nécessitent le concours de plusieurs cantons, l’OFJ peut charger l’un des cantons de la conduite de la procédure. Dans la pratique, ce sont les autorités cantonales qui exécutent la plupart des demandes d’entraide judiciaire. L’OFJ peut également déléguer l’exécution d’une demande d’entraide judiciaire à une autorité fédérale qui serait compétente si l’infraction avait été commise en Suisse, par exemple le Ministère public de la Confédération (pour des actes de terrorisme, ou la corruption de fonctionnaires fédéraux) ou la Direction générale des douanes (en cas de violation de la loi sur les douanes). Lorsque plusieurs cantons sont concernés, qu’un canton ne rend pas sa décision dans le délai imparti ou qu’il s’agit d’une affaire complexe revêtant une importance particulière, l’OFJ peut assurer lui-même l’exécution de la demande d’entraide judiciaire. Suite à de bonnes expériences (notamment dans l’affaire Abacha), la Stratégie du Conseil fédéral concernant le blocage, la confiscation et la restitution des avoirs de potentats ("Asset Recovery") prévoit de confier plus souvent à l’OFJ l’exécution des demandes d’entraide dans ce domaine. L’OFJ se charge en outre de toutes les demandes d’entraide judiciaire en provenance des Etats-Unis, en vertu de l’accord entre les deux pays.

L’autorité d’exécution examine si toutes les conditions matérielles nécessaires à l’octroi de l’entraide judiciaire sont réunies et ordonne, dans une décision d’entrée en matière, les mesures d’entraide demandées et considérées comme admissibles. La procédure d’entraide est alors engagée et sera poursuivie sans interruption jusqu’à sa clôture. Lorsque toutes les mesures ont été exécutées et que la procédure est terminée, l’autorité d’exécution rend une décision de clôture motivée sur l’octroi et l’étendue de l’entraide. Elle définit en outre la portée de l’entraide, c’est-à-dire les documents ou les avoirs qui peuvent être remis à l’Etat requérant. Une exécution simplifiée de la procédure d’entraide judiciaire sans décision de clôture est possible lorsque tous les détenteurs de documents ou de valeurs donnent par écrit leur consentement à l’Etat requérant.

Les personnes participant à la procédure étrangère (fonctionnaires de police, procureurs, accusés, défenseurs) peuvent assister à l’exécution de la requête dans la mesure où l’admission des preuves recueillies par voie d’entraide judiciaire est subordonnée à une telle présence (pour les Etats de droit anglo-saxon) ou lorsque cette présence est susceptible de faciliter considérablement le succès d’une procédure engagée dans l’Etat requérant. Le terme "présence" signifie que les personnes étrangères participant à la procédure peuvent uniquement assister à l’exécution de la demande d’entraide. Elles ne sont pas habilitées à exécuter elles-mêmes des actes officiels qui restent de la seule compétence des fonctionnaires suisses.

Voies de droit

Aucun recours ne peut être formé contre la décision d’entrée en matière. En principe, seule la décision de clôture est susceptible de recours. Les éventuelles décisions incidentes ne peuvent être attaquées qu’à la fin de la procédure, en même temps que la décision de clôture. La personne touchée par les mesures d’entraide ne bénéficie donc de la protection juridique qu’à la fin de la procédure. Seules les décisions incidentes qui, en cas de saisie d’objets ou de valeurs, ou en raison de la présence de fonctionnaires étrangers participant à l’exécution de la procédure, occasionnent un préjudice immédiat et irréparable (par exemple si le blocage d’un compte bancaire paralyse une société) font exception à cette règle. Les décisions des autorités d’entraide judiciaire peuvent faire l’objet d’un recours devant le Tribunal pénal fédéral. Lorsque la décision du Tribunal pénal fédéral a pour objet une saisie, le transfert d’objets ou de valeurs ou la transmission de renseignements concernant le domaine secret et si elle concerne un cas particulièrement important, elle peut être attaquée par la voie du recours au Tribunal fédéral. Dès que la décision de clôture est exécutoire, l’entraide judiciaire peut être octroyée à l’Etat requérant.

La qualité pour recourir est exclusivement reconnue à l’OFJ, en tant qu’autorité fédérale de surveillance en matière d’entraide judiciaire, et aux personnes directement et personnellement touchées par les mesures d’entraide judiciaire. Ainsi la banque sommée de remettre des documents bancaires n’a-t-elle pas qualité pour recourir. Seul le titulaire du compte bancaire peut agir. Le délai de recours contre la décision de clôture est de 30 jours (Tribunal pénal fédéral) ou de 10 jours (Tribunal fédéral).

4. Développement du dispositif mis en place en matière d’avoirs de potentats

Afin d’empêcher que les avoirs acquis de manière illicite par des personnes politiquement exposées ("avoirs de potentats") ne parviennent en Suisse, cette dernière a mis en place un dispositif comprenant un volet prévention et un volet répression. La loi sur le blanchiment d’argent est au cœur des mesures de prévention. La répression se fonde sur l’EIMP, qui permet de coopérer avec les autres Etats pour confisquer et restituer les avoirs illicites. La Suisse a développé ce dispositif en adoptant la loi sur les valeurs patrimoniales d’origine illicite (LVP).

La LVP s’applique subsidiairement à l’EIMP, c’est-à-dire uniquement lorsqu’une procédure d’entraide judiciaire n’aboutit pas en raison de la situation de défaillance de l’Etat d’origine ("failing state" ou "Etat défaillant"). Elle règle le blocage des avoirs, leur confiscation et leur restitution par le Conseil fédéral (sur proposition du Département fédéral des affaires étrangères). Les personnes politiquement exposées peuvent, pour défendre leurs droits, faire recours au Tribunal administratif fédéral et au Tribunal fédéral.

Il faut distinguer entre, d’une part, le blocage de valeurs patrimoniales au titre d’une procédure d’entraide judiciaire (basé sur l’EIMP) ou bien en vue d’une entraide judiciaire ou en cas d’échec de l’entraide judiciaire (basé sur la LVP) et, d’autre part, le blocage de valeurs patrimoniales en application des sanctions décidées par l’ONU, l’OCDE ou les principaux partenaires commerciaux de la Suisse. Cette dernière mesure, ainsi que quelques autres, est arrêtée par le Conseil fédéral (sur proposition du Département fédéral de l'économie, de la formation et de la recherche), sur la base de la loi sur l’embargo, et sert à préserver le respect du droit international et notamment des droits de l’homme.

Documentation

Dernière modification 15.03.2016

Début de la page