International Protection of Adults

Keywords: Care and nursing

What is it about?

The increasing mobility of individuals as well as the ageing of the population has led to a growing need for cross-border assistance measures in relation to the protection of adults. In order to provide the best possible protection to adults needing assistance in cases with an international dimension, Switzerland has ratified the Hague Convention of 13 January 2000 on the International Protection of Adults (HC 2000; RS 0.211.232.1) and has also amended art. 85 FAPIL (Federal Act of 18 December 1987 on International Private Law; RS 291). These came into force on 1 July 2009.

Examples

  1. An adult under deputyship moves abroad (to a Contracting State to the Convention). In order to protect the adult, the protection authority must ensure that the measure is continued abroad and that a similar measure is taken under domestic law to discharge the deputy from his or her duties. With the assistance of the central authorities if necessary, the adult protection authority will be able to address its request to the competent authority of the State of the new residence. Thanks to the bilateral cooperation, the interests of the adult can be preserved and the deputyship in Switzerland lifted. 

  2. A Swiss couple resides in Germany. The competent German Court nominated the husband as the guardian of his wife and as the manager of her assets, since she is suffering from dementia. The bank in Switzerland does not accept the decision of the German Court. In order to be able to dispose of the accounts of his wife, the husband files for recognition of the German Court order before the Swiss competent authority.

Further information

Note

For the complete documentation see the pages in German, French or Italian.

Links

to the top Last modification 06.05.2019

Contact

Federal Office of Justice
Central Authority for International Adult protection
Bundesrain 20
CH-3003 Bern
T
+41 58 463 88 64
Fax
+41 58 462 78 64
Contact

Protection internationale des adultes

De quoi s’agit-il ?

La mobilité croissante des individus ainsi que le vieillissement de la population induisent un besoin croissant de mesures d’assistance transfrontières en matière de protection des adultes. Afin de protéger au mieux les adultes ayant besoin d’assistance dans des situations à caractère international la Suisse a ratifié la Convention de La Haye du 13 janvier 2000 sur la protection internationale des adultes (CLaH 2000 ; RS 0.211.232.1) et a également modifié l’art. 85 LDIP (Loi fédérale du 18 décembre 1987 sur le droit international privé ; RS 291). Ces changements sont entrés en vigueur au 1er juillet 2009.

Exemples

  1. Un adulte sous curatelle déménage à l’étranger (dans un pays partie à la Convention). Afin de protéger l’adulte, l’autorité de protection peut faire en sorte que la mesure soit poursuivie à l’étranger et une mesure similaire de droit interne prise. À cet effet, l’autorité de protection de l’adulte pourra adresser, cas échéant avec le soutien des autorités centrales, une requête à l’autorité compétente du nouveau lieu de résidence. Grâce à la collaboration bilatérale, les intérêts de la personne concernée pourront ainsi être sauvegardés et la curatelle suisse levée.  

  2. Un couple suisse vit en Allemagne. Le tribunal allemand compétent a nommé le mari en tant que tuteur et administrateur des biens de sa femme, celle-ci étant atteinte de démence. La banque en Suisse n’accepte cependant pas la décision du tribunal allemand. Afin de pouvoir disposer des comptes de sa femme, le mari demande à l’autorité suisse compétente la reconnaissance de la décision allemande.

Infos complémentaires

vers le haut Dernière modification 28.04.2011

Contact

Office fédéral de la justice
Autorité centrale en matière de protection internationale des adultes
Bundesrain 20
CH-3003 Berne
T
+41 58 463 88 64
Fax
+41 58 462 78 64
Contact