Compulsory social measures and placements

Up to 1981, tens of thousands of children and young people were indentured by the authorities to farms as a cheap source of labour, or placed in severely managed homes, or in secure institutions or even prisons, without any form of court ruling. These children and young people often experienced unspeakable suffering and injustice. In some cases they were exposed to immense physical and psychological violence, were exploited, (sexually) abused, and suffered enormously from the separation from their parents and siblings.

Furthermore, some young women were put under enormous psychological pressure and forced to undergo abortion or sterilization procedures without their consent. Compulsory adoptions of one or more children were also common. Some children and young people were placed in homes or medical institutions, and used as subjects in trials of new substances, or medicated against their will. Little about these practices has been established to date, but the current academic enquiry will soon provide more information.

There has been much change at the social and political level in only a short time, resulting in a rethink. With almost record speed, the Federal Act on Compulsory Social Measures and Placements prior to 1981 (CSMPA) was drafted and passed by both chambers of Parliament with clear majorities. The Act came into force on 1 April 2017, and the process of coming to terms with the past is now underway.

We invite you to find out more about the history of this issue and its various aspects by reading the information on this website.

Further information

to the top Last modification 14.01.2019

Contact

Federal Office of Justice
CSMP Unit
Bundesrain 20, P. O. Box 8817
CH-3001 Bern
T
+41 58 462 42 84
Fax
+41 58 462 78 79
Contact

You can call the CSMP office from Monday to Friday, 9.00 am - 12.00 noon

Victimes de mesures de coercition à des fins d'assistance

Jusqu’en 1981, des dizaines de milliers d’enfants et adolescents ont été placés par les autorités dans des exploitations agricoles comme main-d’œuvre bon marché (ils y étaient considérés comme des "choses" et non comme des personnes), dans des foyers qui étaient sévèrement gérés, voire dans des établissements fermés ou encore dans des établissements pénitentiaires, et ce parfois sans décision judiciaire. Ces enfants et adolescents furent victimes de souffrances et d’injustices. Ils y ont souvent subi de la violence physique et psychologique, des mauvais traitements, des abus sexuels et y étaient violemment battus alors qu’ils étaient séparés de leurs parents et de leur fratrie.

Les femmes étaient parfois mises sous pression ou forcées de consentir à un avortement, à une stérilisation ou encore à l’adoption d’un ou de plusieurs de leurs enfants. Certains enfants et adolescents furent également placés dans des institutions ou cliniques où ils subirent des essais médicamenteux via des tests avec des substances inconnues et à une médicalisation forcée. Peu de recherches sur ce sujet ont été conduites. Les études scientifiques en cours fourniront bientôt de nouvelles données sur cette problématique.

En peu de temps, les lignes ont bougés, sur le plan politique et au sein de la société, ce qui a amené une remise en question. La loi fédérale sur les mesures de coercition à des fins d’assistance et les placements extrafamiliaux antérieurs à 1981 (LMCFA) a été élaborée en un temps quasi-record et adoptée à une nette majorité par le Parlement. La loi est entrée en vigueur le 1er avril 2017 et sa mise en pratique est en cours.

Le présent site met en évidence les tenants et les aboutissants de cette problématique.

vers le haut Dernière modification 07.01.2019

Contact

Office fédéral de la justice
Bundesrain 20, Case postale 8817
CH-3001 Berne
T
+41 58 462 42 84
Fax
+41 58 462 78 79
Contact

Le secrétariat de l’unité MCFA répond à vos appels du lundi au vendredi de 9h à 12h