International Criminal Court


1. Remit

The International Criminal Court (ICC) is responsible for trying persons accused of the most serious crimes which affect the international community as a whole: genocide, crimes against humanity, and war crimes. The legal foundation for this permanent court, which has its seat in The Hague, is the Rome Statute which was adopted in 1998 and came into force in 2002. The ICC is an expression of the determination of the 122 States Parties (as at 1 May 2013) to "put an end to impunity for the perpetrators of these crimes and thus to contribute to the prevention of such crimes".

The ICC does not replace national criminal justice systems, neither is it an international court of appeal that reviews national judgments as a court of last resort. Rather, the ICC is a complement to national criminal justice systems. It is brought in only where the national authorities responsible for criminal prosecutions are themselves unwilling or unable to prosecute crimes committed within their own jurisdictions or by their own nationals. This may be the case, for example, where the national authorities are controlled by individuals who are themselves partly responsible for committing the crimes in question, or if the national criminal justice system has collapsed as a result of war. The ICC ensures that the gaps in the prosecution of these particularly abhorrent crimes can be closed.

With its long humanitarian tradition and in its capacity as the depositary state for the Geneva Conventions, Switzerland provided significant support for the establishment of a strong and independent court. It ratified the Rome Statute in 2001, and at the same time enacted the legislative amendments that were immediately necessary to allow cooperation with the ICC.

2. Cooperation between Switzerland and the ICC

States Parties have a duty to cooperate fully with the ICC. Since the Court does not have its own investigative police force, in conducting its proceedings it is largely reliant on cooperation with States Parties. Switzerland enacted the necessary legal foundation for this cooperation with the Federal Act on Cooperation with the International Criminal Court (ICCA). A central office, with wide-ranging powers, has been created within the Federal Office of Justice (FOJ) to ensure that cooperation is as smooth as possible. The central office receives requests from the Court and decides on the scope and details of cooperation.

Transfer

The FOJ receives the formal requests for arrest from the ICC and determines whether or not the conditions for transfer to the ICC are met. If this is the case, it will order the arrest of the person who is being sought. It will issue a transfer warrant and notify the ICC. Providing the request for transfer is received by the FOJ within the set deadline (no later than 60 days after the person's arrest), the person concerned will, as a general rule, remain in custody until the end of the transfer procedure. They may appeal against their detention to the Federal Criminal Court.

The person being sought may waive ordinary proceedings by agreeing to their transfer to the ICC. In such cases, the FOJ may approve the transfer immediately and order its completion. In all other cases, it is the FOJ which decides on transfer to the ICC. The person being sought has no right of appeal against the FOJ's transfer decision. They can only dispute the jurisdiction of the ICC when they appear in front of it.

If a Swiss citizen is transferred by Switzerland to the ICC, once the proceedings have concluded the FOJ will request the return of the person concerned, so that they can serve their sentence in Switzerland.

Other forms of cooperation

The FOJ receives applications for other forms of cooperation (the recording of evidence, including witness statements, hearing of suspects, searches and seizures, service of documents, etc.). It will decide whether or not cooperation is permissible, order the necessary action, and mandate a cantonal or federal authority to carry out the request. Individuals who are accused in proceedings before the ICC are not entitled to any legal remedy. Only the other individuals who are affected by international legal assistance measures are entitled to lodge an appeal against the final FOJ ruling.

The FOJ may also authorise ICC prosecutors to conduct independent investigations (such as the taking of witness statements) on Swiss sovereign territory.

The rule on the voluntary provision of information and evidence that a Swiss authority has collected during its own criminal investigation goes above and beyond the standard required by the Rome Statute. The FOJ may volunteer information and evidence to the ICC to enable investigations to commence or to assist in pending legal proceedings.

Custodial sentences

Since the ICC is not able itself to execute custodial sentences, it depends on the support of the host state and the other States Parties. At the request of the ICC, Switzerland may take charge of executing a final and absolute judgment if the convicted individual is a Swiss citizen or is ordinarily resident in Switzerland. The FOJ will decide in consultation with the competent cantonal authority about whether or not to take on this executive function. The sentence handed down by the ICC is binding upon the Swiss authorities.

3. Amendment to Swiss criminal law

Following the enactment of the ICCA, Switzerland took the second step of amending its criminal law in line with the Rome Statute, to ensure the effective, transparent and gap-free prosecution of genocide, crimes against humanity and war crimes. Specifically, the revised Swiss Criminal Code and Military Criminal Code, both of which came into force in 2011, instituted "crimes against humanity" as a new offence, and defined "war crimes" in considerable detail:

  • Crimes against humanity are deemed to be offences such as premeditated murder, extermination, enslavement, enforced disappearances, torture, sexual offences or forced displacement, which are committed as part of extended or systematic attacks on the civilian population. These offences were essentially already covered by Swiss criminal law before the statutes were revised. However, there was no provision to allow Switzerland adequately to play its part in punishing these offences, made particularly abhorrent by the additional factor that they are committed against the civilian population.
     
  • War crimes – such as attacks against the civilian population, the recruitment of children or the use of banned weapons – are no longer penalised by a blanket reference to international humanitarian law, but are now defined in detail in Swiss criminal law.

The following authorities are responsible for conducting criminal proceedings: In times of peace, it is the Office of the Attorney General which conducts proceedings on the grounds of genocide, crimes against humanity and war crimes. The jurisdiction of the military justice system is limited to those cases in which members of the Swiss armed forces are the perpetrators or the victims. By contrast, the military judicial authorities bear sole responsibility for prosecuting such crimes during wartime.

Switzerland is also responsible for prosecuting offences committed abroad if the perpetrator is located in Switzerland and cannot be extradited or transferred to an international criminal court. This ensures that Switzerland cannot be abused – either now or in the future – as a "safe haven" by the world's most serious criminals. At the same time, a provision in Switzerland's code of procedure also ensures that no prosecuting authority need commence complex and costly in absentia proceedings that have no connection with Switzerland, or have to conduct proceedings that have no prospect of success because evidence is unavailable.

4. Ad-hoc tribunals and successor courts

In the wake of conflicts in the former Yugoslavia and in Rwanda, Switzerland laid down the rules of cooperation with the ad-hoc tribunals in the Hague and Arusha (Tanzania) in 1995 in the Federal Act on Cooperation with the International Tribunals Prosecuting Serious Violations of International Humanitarian Law. In 2003, the scope of the Act was extended to cover cooperation with the special court of justice in Sierra Leone. Once these ad-hoc tribunals had succeeded in completing a large proportion of pending war crimes proceedings, the UN Security Council established a successor court to conduct the final trials. In 2012, Switzerland extended the scope of the aforementioned Act once again to include cooperation with this successor court.

5. Cooperation with the ICC: schema

Cooperation with the ICC

Note

For the complete documentation see the pages in German, French or Italian.

Documents

Links

to the top Last modification 04.07.2013

Internationaler Strafgerichtshof


1. Aufgaben

Der Internationale Strafgerichtshof (IStGH) ist zuständig für die Beurteilung der schwersten Verbrechen, welche die internationale Gemeinschaft als Ganzes berühren: Völkermord, Verbrechen gegen die Menschlichkeit und Kriegsverbrechen. Die rechtliche Grundlage dieses ständigen Gerichtshofs mit Sitz in Den Haag bildet das Römer Statut, das im Jahr 1998 verabschiedet worden und im Jahr 2002 in Kraft getreten ist. Der IStGH ist Ausdruck der Entschlossenheit der 122 Vertragsstaaten (Stand: 1. Mai 2013), "der Straflosigkeit der Täter ein Ende zu setzen und so zur Verhütung solcher Verbrechen beizutragen".

Der IStGH ersetzt nicht die innerstaatliche Strafgerichtsbarkeit und ist auch keine internationale Rekursinstanz, die letztinstanzliche nationale Strafurteile überprüft. Der IStGH ergänzt vielmehr die innerstaatliche Strafgerichtsbarkeit: Er wird nur dann tätig, wenn die für die Strafverfolgung zuständigen nationalen Behörden nicht willens oder nicht in der Lage sind, die auf ihrem Hoheitsgebiet oder von ihren Staatsangehörigen begangenen Verbrechen zu verfolgen. Dies kann etwa dann der Fall sein, wenn die nationalen Behörden von Personen kontrolliert werden, welche die fraglichen Verbrechen selbst mitzuverantworten haben, oder wenn das staatliche Strafverfolgungssystem als Folge kriegerischer Ereignisse zusammengebrochen ist. Der IStGH stellt sicher, dass Lücken bei der Verfolgung dieser besonders verabscheuungswürdigen Verbrechen geschlossen werden können.

Die Schweiz hat aufgrund ihrer humanitären Tradition und ihrer Rolle als Depositarstaat der Genfer Konventionen die Errichtung eines starken und unabhängigen Gerichtshofs massgeblich unterstützt. Sie hat das Römer Statut im Jahr 2001 ratifiziert und gleichzeitig die für eine Zusammenarbeit mit dem IStGH unmittelbar notwendigen Gesetzesanpassungen erlassen.

2. Zusammenarbeit der Schweiz mit dem IStGH

Die Vertragsstaaten sind verpflichtet, grundsätzlich uneingeschränkt mit dem IStGH zusammenzuarbeiten. Da der Gerichtshof keine polizeilichen Ermittlungsorgane hat, ist er für die Durchführung seiner Verfahren weitgehend auf die Zusammenarbeit der Vertragsstaaten angewiesen. Mit dem Erlass des Bundesgesetzes über die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Internationalen Strafgerichtshof (ZISG) hat die Schweiz die notwendige gesetzliche Grundlage geschaffen. Um eine optimale Zusammenarbeit zu gewährleisten, ist im Bundesamt für Justiz (BJ) eine Zentralstelle mit weichreichenden Kompetenzen geschaffen worden. Die Zentralstelle nimmt die Ersuchen des Gerichtshofs entgegen und entscheidet über den Umfang sowie die Modalitäten der Zusammenarbeit.

Überstellung

Das BJ nimmt das Festnahmeersuchen des IStGH entgegen und prüft, ob die Voraussetzungen für eine Überstellung gegeben sind. Gegebenenfalls ordnet es die Festnahme der gesuchten Person an. Es erlässt den Überstellungshaftbefehl und informiert den IStGH. Trifft das Überstellungsersuchen fristgerecht (spätestens 60 Tage nach der Festnahme) beim BJ ein, bleibt die gesuchte Person grundsätzlich bis zum Abschluss des Überstellungsverfahrens in Haft. Sie kann gegen die Inhaftierung beim Bundesstrafgericht Beschwerde führen.

Die gesuchte Person kann auf die Durchführung des ordentlichen Verfahrens verzichten, indem sie in ihre Überstellung einwilligt. Das BJ kann in diesem Fall unverzüglich die Überstellung bewilligen und den Vollzug veranlassen. Andernfalls entscheidet das BJ über die Überstellung an den IStGH. Die gesuchte Person hat keine Beschwerdemöglichkeit gegen den Überstellungsentscheid des BJ; sie kann lediglich beim IStGH dessen Zuständigkeit anfechten.

Wird ein Schweizer Bürger dem IStGH überstellt, so ersucht das BJ nach Abschluss des Verfahrens um die Rückführung der betroffenen Person, damit sie ihre Strafe in der Schweiz verbüssen kann.

Andere Formen der Zusammenarbeit

Das BJ nimmt die Ersuchen um andere Formen der Zusammenarbeit (Beweisaufnahmen einschliesslich Zeugenaussagen, Einvernahmen verdächtiger Personen, Durchsuchungen und Beschlagnahmungen, Zustellung von Unterlagen usw.) entgegen. Es entscheidet über die Zulässigkeit der Zusammenarbeit, ordnet die notwendigen Massnahmen an und beauftragt eine kantonale oder eidgenössische Behörde mit dem Vollzug des Ersuchens. Personen, die im Verfahren vor dem Gerichtshof angeschuldigt sind, steht kein Rechtsmittel zu. Nur die übrigen, durch die Rechtshilfemassnahmen betroffenen Personen haben eine Beschwerdemöglichkeit gegen die Schlussverfügung des BJ.

Das BJ kann ferner Ankläger des IStGH ermächtigen, selbständige Untersuchungshandlungen auf schweizerischem Hoheitsgebiet (z.B. Zeugeneinvernahmen) vorzunehmen.

Über den vom Römer Statut geforderten Standard hinaus geht die Regelung der spontanen Übermittlung von Informationen und Beweismitteln, die eine Schweizer Behörde für eine eigene Strafuntersuchung gesammelt hat. Das BJ kann dem IStGH unaufgefordert Informationen und Beweismittel übermitteln, um die Einleitung von Ermittlungen zu ermöglichen oder um ein hängiges Strafverfahren zu erleichtern.

Vollstreckung von Freiheitsstrafen

Da der IStGH über keine Möglichkeit verfügt, Freiheitsstrafen zu vollstrecken, ist er auf die Unterstützung des Gaststaates und der Vertragsstaaten angewiesen. Die Schweiz kann auf Ersuchen des IStGH einen rechtskräftigen Strafentscheid vollstrecken, wenn die verurteilte Person Schweizer Bürger/in ist oder in der Schweiz ihren gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt hat. Das BJ entscheidet nach Rücksprache mit der zuständigen kantonalen Behörde über die Übernahme der Strafvollstreckung. Das Strafmass des IStGH ist für die Schweizer Behörden bindend.

3. Anpassung des schweizerischen Strafrechts

Nach dem Erlass des ZISG hat die Schweiz in einem zweiten Schritt ihr Strafrecht an das Römer Statut angepasst, um eine wirksame, transparente und lückenlose Strafverfolgung von Völkermord, Verbrechen gegen die Menschlichkeit sowie Kriegsverbrechen zu gewährleisten. Mit den im Jahr 2011 in Kraft getretenen Änderungen des Strafgesetzbuches und des Militärstrafgesetzes wurden namentlich der neue Tatbestand der Verbrechen gegen die Menschlichkeit geschaffen und die Kriegsverbrechen detailliert definiert:

  • Als Verbrechen gegen die Menschlichkeit gelten Straftaten wie vorsätzliche Tötung, Ausrottung, Versklavung, Verschwindenlassen von Personen, Folter, Sexualdelikte oder Vertreibung, die im Rahmen eines ausgedehnten oder systematischen Angriffs gegen die Zivilbevölkerung begangen werden. Diese Straftaten wurden bereits vor der Gesetzesrevision grundsätzlich durch das schweizerische Strafrecht erfasst. Allerdings konnte das zusätzliche Element des Angriffs gegen die Zivilbevölkerung, das diese Verbrechen besonders verabscheuungswürdig macht, nicht angemessen "mitbestraft" werden.
  • Kriegsverbrechen – wie z. B. Angriffe gegen die Zivilbevölkerung, die Rekrutierung von Kindern oder der Einsatz verbotener Waffen – werden nicht mehr durch einen Pauschalverweis auf das humanitäre Völkerrecht unter Strafe gestellt, sondern detailliert im Schweizer Strafrecht definiert.

Für die Durchführung von Strafverfahren sind folgende Behörden zuständig: In Friedenszeiten führt grundsätzlich die Bundesanwaltschaft Verfahren wegen Völkermordes, Verbrechen gegen die Menschlichkeit und Kriegsverbrechen. Die Zuständigkeit der Militärjustiz beschränkt sich auf jene Fälle, in denen Angehörige der Schweizer Armee Täter oder Opfer sind. Im Kriegsfall ist hingegen ausschliesslich die Militärjustiz für die Strafverfolgung zuständig.

Die Schweiz ist auch für die Verfolgung im Ausland begangener Taten zuständig, sofern sich der Täter in der Schweiz befindet und nicht ausgeliefert oder an ein internationales Strafgericht überstellt werden kann. Damit ist sichergestellt, dass die Schweiz weiterhin nicht als "sicherer Hafen" für Schwerstverbrecher missbraucht werden kann. Zugleich gewährleistet eine prozessrechtliche Bestimmung, dass keine Strafverfolgungsbehörde aufwändige Abwesenheitsverfahren ohne Bezug zur Schweiz eröffnen oder wegen nicht beschaffbarer Beweismittel aussichtslose Prozesse führen muss.

4. Ad-hoc-Strafgerichte und Nachfolgegericht

Im Gefolge der Konflikte in Ex-Jugoslawien und Ruanda regelte die Schweiz im Jahr 1995 die Zusammenarbeit mit den Ad-Hoc-Strafgerichten in Den Haag und Arusha (Tansania) im Bundesgesetz über die Zusammenarbeit mit den internationalen Gerichten zur Verfolgung schwerwiegender Verletzungen des humanitären Völkerrechts. Im Jahr 2003 dehnte die Schweiz den Geltungsbereich des Bundesgesetzes auf die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Spezialgerichtshof in Sierra Leone aus. Nachdem die Ad-hoc-Strafgerichte einen grossen Teil der Kriegsverbrecherprozesse abschliessen konnten, schuf der Uno-Sicherheitsrat ein Nachfolgegericht, das die letzten Verfahren durchführen wird. Um auch mit diesem Gericht zusammenarbeiten zu können, dehnte die Schweiz im Jahr 2012 den Geltungsbereich des Bundesgesetzes entsprechend aus.

5. Zusammenarbeit mit dem IStGH: Schema

Zusammenarbeit mit dem IStGH

Letzte Änderung 04.07.2013

Zum Seitenanfang