Division of forfeited assets (asset-sharing)

1. Encouraging cooperation

The seizure and confiscation of assets acquired by criminal means is an important instrument in combating crime effectively. State access to such illegal gains follows the principle that crime should not pay. Often, the proceeds of crime are not located in the country where the offences were actually committed. Consequently, they can be confiscated only if two or more states work together. To encourage this cooperation, international conventions – specifically the Council of Europe Convention on Money Laundering, and the Financial Action Task Force, FATF – recommend that assets be shared between the states involved in the criminal proceedings. The Federal Act on the Division of Forfeited Assets (DFAA), which entered into force on 1 August 2004, provides the legal basis for the conclusion of asset sharing agreements between Switzerland and foreign states, as well as for the domestic division of assets between the Federal Government and the cantons.

2. Division between Switzerland and foreign states

The DFAA distinguishes between the active and passive sharing of assets internationally:

  • In the case of active international sharing, the Swiss authorities confiscate assets of crim-inal origin under Swiss law as part of their own criminal proceedings. They then offer a share to the foreign state which supported those proceedings. 
  • In the case of passive international sharing, the criminal proceedings are pursued by a foreign authority, which confiscates assets of criminal origin under its own legal system. Upon request, the Swiss authorities provide these authorities with the necessary evidence and documents, or hand over assets that are located in Switzerland, so that they can be confiscated, or returned to their rightful owner, as part of the foreign criminal proceedings. In return for Switzerland's help, the foreign state allocates it a share of the confiscated as-sets.

Procedure

  • Should federal or cantonal authorities be considering sharing forfeited assets with a foreign state, they will first notify the Federal Office of Justice (FOJ).
  • The FOJ grants the authorities of the cantons concerned, and the Federal Government, a hearing.
  • The FOJ conducts negotiations with the foreign state with a view to concluding an asset sharing agreement. As a rule, the assets will be shared equally between Switzerland and the foreign state. Assets which originate from the bribing of public officials or the improper conduct of a public office are not shared, but reimbursed in full to the foreign state which suffered the loss.
  • The FOJ concludes the asset sharing agreement. Should the gross contribution exceed ten million Swiss francs, the FOJ will obtain the approval of the Federal Department of Justice and Police (FDJP) in advance.
  • The Swiss authorities which have confiscated the assets hand these over to the FOJ. The FOJ transfers the agreed share to the foreign state. The FOJ may also instruct the cantonal authorities to transfer the foreign state's share to it directly.

3. Division between the Federal Government and the cantons

By applying simple rules for division, the DFAA creates a balance between the public authorities involved in the criminal proceedings, and thus prevents conflicts of interest. Division proceedings are conducted if the forfeited assets amount to at least 100,000 francs.

  • 5/10 go to that public authority (canton or Federal Government) which led the criminal investigation and ordered the forfeiture, and thus bore the greatest share of the work. 
  • 2/10 go to the cantons in which the forfeited assets were located, in return for their cooperation in the criminal proceedings. 
  • 3/10 go to the Federal Government, in return for supporting the cantons in their fight against crime. 

At the end of the division proceedings, the FOJ issues a ruling about the amounts owing to the cantons involved, and to the Federal Government. Its division ruling may be challenged by means of an appeal to the Federal Administrative Court.

Forfeited assets of criminal origin are paid to the general cantonal or federal treasury. The DFAA does not provide for their purpose to be tied in any way, but allows the recipient to decide at their discretion how they are to be used.

4. Cases

Between 2004 and 2015, Switzerland received assets of criminal origin of around CHF 90 million on the basis of international asset sharing agreements.

In almost all of these cases, the assets were split 50:50 according to the usual practice.

These assets had been forfeited following a foreign or Swiss forfeiture ruling, most commonly in proceedings for drugs offences or money laundering.

In the two largest asset sharing cases since the DFAA came into force, Switzerland shared funds of CHF 58.4 million with Japan and of USD 50 million with the USA.

Documents

to the top Last modification 20.05.2015

Teilung eingezogener Vermögenswerte (Sharing)

1. Förderung der Zusammenarbeit

Die Beschlagnahme und Einziehung deliktisch erworbener Vermögenswerte ist ein wichtiges Instrument, um die Kriminalität wirksam zu bekämpfen. Der Zugriff des Staates auf den illegalen Gewinn folgt dem Grundsatz, dass sich das Verbrechen nicht auszahlen soll. Oft befinden sich die deliktisch erworbenen Vermögenswerte nicht in jenem Land, wo die Straftaten begangen worden sind. Sie können deshalb nur eingezogen werden, wenn zwei oder mehrere Staaten zusammenarbeiten. Um diese Zusammenarbeit zu fördern, empfehlen internationale Abkommen (namentlich das Übereinkommen des Europarates über Geldwäscherei und die Empfehlungen der Financial Action Task Force FATF), eingezogene Vermögenswerte unter den am Strafverfahren beteiligten Staaten zu teilen (Sharing). Das am 1. August 2004 in Kraft getretene Bundesgesetz über die Teilung eingezogener Vermögenswerte (TEVG) bildet die Rechtsgrundlage für den Abschluss von Teilungsvereinbarungen zwischen der Schweiz und ausländischen Staaten sowie für die innerstaatliche Teilung zwischen Bund und Kantonen.

2. Teilung zwischen der Schweiz und ausländischen Staaten

Das TEVG unterscheidet zwischen aktiver und passiver internationaler Teilung:

  • Bei der aktiven internationalen Teilung ziehen die schweizerischen Behörden in einem eigenen Strafverfahren Vermögenswerte deliktischer Herkunft nach schweizerischem Recht ein. Anschliessend bieten sie einen Teil dem ausländischen Staat an, der das Strafverfahren unterstützt hat. 
  • Bei der passiven internationalen Teilung führt eine ausländische Behörde das Strafverfahren und zieht die Vermögenswerte deliktischer Herkunft nach ihrer Rechtsordnung ein. Die schweizerischen Behörden übermitteln ihnen auf Ersuchen die erforderlichen Beweismittel und Unterlagen oder händigen ihnen in der Schweiz liegende Vermögenswerte aus, damit sie im ausländischen Strafverfahren eingezogen oder den berechtigten Personen zurückerstattet werden können. Im Gegenzug überlässt der ausländische Staat der Schweiz einen Teil der eingezogenen Vermögenswerte.

Verfahren

  • Kommt infolge einer Einziehung eine Teilung mit einem ausländischen Staat in Betracht, informieren die Behörden des Bundes oder der Kantone das Bundesamt für Justiz (BJ).
  • Das BJ hört die Behörden der betroffenen Kantone und des Bundes an.
  • Das BJ führt mit den ausländischen Behörden Verhandlungen, um eine Teilungsvereinbarung abzuschliessen. In der Regel werden die Vermögenswerte zu gleichen Quoten zwischen der Schweiz und dem ausländischen Staat aufgeteilt. Vermögenswerte, die aus der Bestechung von Beamten oder ungetreuer Amtsführung stammen, werden nicht geteilt, sondern vollumfänglich dem geschädigten ausländischen Staat zurückerstattet.
  • Das BJ schliesst die Teilungsvereinbarung ab. Übersteigt der Bruttobeitrag 10 Millionen Franken, holt das BJ vorgängig die Genehmigung des Eidgenössischen Justiz- und Polizeidepartements (EJPD) ein.
  • Die schweizerischen Behörden, welche die Vermögenswerte eingezogen haben, händigen diese dem BJ aus. Das BJ überweist dem ausländischen Staat seinen Anteil. Das BJ kann auch die kantonalen Behörden beauftragen, dem ausländischen Staat seinen Anteil direkt zu überweisen.

3. Teilung zwischen dem Bund und den Kantonen

Das TEVG schafft mit einfachen Teilungsregeln einen Ausgleich unter den am Strafverfahren beteiligten Gemeinwesen und vermeidet damit Interessenkonflikte. Ein Teilungsverfahren wird durchgeführt, sofern die eingezogenen Vermögenswerte mindestens 100 000 Franken betragen.

  • 5/10 fallen jenem Gemeinwesen (Kanton oder Bund) zu, das die Strafuntersuchung geleitet und die Einziehung verfügt hat und somit den grössten Arbeitsaufwand hatte. 
  • 2/10 erhalten die Kantone, wo sich die eingezogenen Vermögenswerte befanden, für ihre Mitwirkung am Strafverfahren. 
  • 3/10 gehen an den Bund für seine Unterstützung der Kantone bei der Bekämpfung der Kriminalität. 

Am Ende des Teilungsverfahrens erlässt das BJ eine Verfügung über die Beträge, die den beteiligten Kantonen und dem Bund zustehen. Sein Teilungsentscheid ist mit Beschwerde beim Bundesverwaltungsgericht anfechtbar.

Eingezogene Vermögenswerte kriminellen Ursprungs fliessen in die allgemeine Staatskasse. Das TEVG sieht keine Zweckbindung vor, sondern lässt die Empfänger frei über diese Gelder verfügen.

4. Fälle

Von 2004 bis 2015 hat die Schweiz infolge von internationalen Teilungsvereinbarungen Vermögenswerte kriminellen Ursprungs in Höhe von rund 90 Mio. CHF erhalten.

In fast allen Fällen wurden die Vermögenswerte gemäss üblicher Praxis je zur Hälfte geteilt.

Die Vermögenswerte waren aufgrund eines ausländischen oder schweizerischen Einziehungsurteils eingezogen worden - am häufigsten in Verfahren wegen Drogendelikten oder Geldwäscherei.

In den zwei grössten Sharing-Fällen seit Inkrafttreten des TEVG hat die Schweiz mit Japan 58,4 Mio. CHF und mit den USA 50 Mio. USD geteilt.

Dokumente

nach oben Letzte Änderung 20.05.2015