Illegal adoptions

Already in 1999, in its Dispatch on Switzerland’s Ratification of the 1993 Hague Convention on Protection of Children and Cooperation in Respect of Intercountry Adoption, the Federal Council referred to the abuses that had been reported for many years and in many parts of the world. The children adopted in the 1980s and 1990s from abroad are now adults. Some have gone in search of their origins, uncovering illicit practices that affected their adoption. All countries receiving adopted children are now confronted with these issues.

Report on illegal adoptions from Sri Lanka in the 1980s

On 16 March 2018, the National Council adopted the Ruiz Postulate 17.4181 on investigating illegal adoptions of children from Sri Lanka in Switzerland in the 1980s.

The main tenet of the postulate was an instruction to the Federal Council to examine, in cooperation with the cantons, the practices of private intermediaries and the cantonal and federal authorities with regard to adoptions of children from Sri Lanka in the 1980s.

The Federal Council's report, which is due to be published at the end of 2020, will cover three main aspects:

  • A historical study of the legislative framework at the time and the practices of the authorities and private intermediaries. The Zurich University of Applied Sciences (ZHAW) was commissioned to draw up an independent report on this, covering the period between 1973 and 1997.
  • The support given to adoptees in the search for their origins.
  • An analysis of the current legislative framework governing intercountry adoption procedures, including recommendations on the current and future legislative framework and practices.

In order to ensure that the analysis is as wide-reaching as possible, a steering group comprising cantonal representatives, representatives of the adoptee association "Back to the Roots" and a politician was set up to support the work of the Confederation.

Federal support for adoptees in search for origins

The Confederation is committed to working with the cantons to support adoptees in their search for their origins. To this end, the FOJ and the CCDJP are planning to set up a special working group on the search for origins, which will not be limited to Sri Lanka.

Furthermore, on Switzerland’s initiative a group of European states and Sri Lanka have agreed on a Memorandum of Cooperation for the processing of original search requests in Sri Lanka. Adoptees wishing to send an application to Sri Lanka should contact the Information Service in their canton of residence.

Federal action against illegal adoptions

Switzerland is an active member of the Hague Conference's Working Group on preventing and addressing illicit practices in intercountry adoption.

Note

For the complete documentation see the pages in German, French or Italian.

Documentation

(These documents are not available in English)

Last modification 27.02.2020

Top of page

Adoptions illégales

Déjà dans son message de 1999 sur la ratification par la Suisse de la Convention de La Haye de 1993 sur la protection des enfants et la coopération en matière d'adoption internationale, le Conseil fédéral a fait référence aux abus dénoncés depuis des années sur le plan international. Les enfants adoptés dans les années 80 et 90 sont aujourd'hui des adultes. Certains se sont mis à la recherche de leurs origines, mettant au jour des pratiques illicites ayant touché leur adoption. Tous les pays d'accueil d'enfants adoptés sont de nos jours confrontés à ces questions.

Rapport sur les adoptions illégales du Sri Lanka dans les années 1980

Le 16 mars 2018, le Conseil national a adopté le Postulat Ruiz 17.4181 "Faire la lumière sur les adoptions illégales en Suisse dans les années 1980 d'enfants venant du Sri Lanka".

Le postulat charge notamment le Conseil fédéral d'examiner, en collaboration avec les cantons, les pratiques des intermédiaires privés et des autorités cantonales et fédérales concernant les adoptions d'enfants en provenance du Sri Lanka dans les années 1980.

Le rapport du Conseil fédéral, dont la publication est prévue fin 2020, portera en principe sur trois volets :

  • Une étude historique du cadre législatif de l'époque et des pratiques des autorités et des intermédiaires privés. A cette fin, un mandat a été donné à la Haute école spécialisée de Zurich (ZHAW) d’établir un rapport indépendant couvrant la période entre 1973 et 1997.
  • Le soutien des personnes touchées dans la recherche de leurs origines.
  • Une analyse du cadre législatif actuel encadrant les procédures d’adoption internationales ainsi que des recommandations sur les pratiques et le cadre législatif actuel et futur.

Afin d'assurer une analyse aussi large que possible, un groupe d’accompagnement a été constitué pour soutenir les travaux de la Confédération. Il réunit des représentants des cantons, des représentants de l’organisation de personnes adoptées "Back to the Roots" ainsi qu’une représentante de la politique.

Engagement de la Confédération pour la recherche des origines

La Confédération s'engage avec les cantons afin de soutenir les adoptés dans la recherche de leurs origines. A cet effet, l'OFJ et la CCDJP prévoient d'instaurer un groupe de travail spécifiquement pour la recherche des origines, qui ne sera pas uniquement limité au Sri Lanka.

De plus, sur initiative de la Suisse, un groupe d'Etats européens et le Sri Lanka se sont mis d'accord sur un protocole de collaboration pour le traitement des requêtes de recherche d'origine au Sri Lanka. Les personnes adoptées qui souhaitent envoyer une demande au Sri Lanka sont priées de s'adresser au Service d'information de leur canton de domicile.

Engagement de la Confédération contre les adoptions illégales

La Suisse s'engage auprès de la Conférence de La Haye au sein du Groupe de travail sur la prévention des pratiques illicites en matière d'adoption internationale et la manière d'y remédier.

Documentation

vers le haut Dernière modification 27.02.2020