Illegal adoptions

Already in 1999, in its Dispatch on Switzerland’s Ratification of the 1993 Hague Convention on Protection of Children and Cooperation in Respect of Intercountry Adoption, the Federal Council referred to the abuses that had been reported for many years and in many parts of the world. The children adopted in the 1980s and 1990s from abroad are now adults. Some have gone in search of their origins, uncovering illicit practices that affected their adoption. All countries receiving adopted children are now confronted with these issues.

Report on illegal adoptions from Sri Lanka in the 1980s

On 16 March 2018, the National Council adopted the Ruiz Postulate 17.4181 on investigating illegal adoptions of children from Sri Lanka in Switzerland in the 1980s.

The main tenet of the postulate was an instruction to the Federal Council to examine, in cooperation with the cantons, the practices of private intermediaries and the cantonal and federal authorities with regard to adoptions of children from Sri Lanka in the 1980s.

The Federal Council's report, which is due to be published at the end of 2020, will cover three main aspects:

  • A historical study of the legislative framework at the time and the practices of the authorities and private intermediaries. The Zurich University of Applied Sciences (ZHAW) was commissioned to draw up an independent report on this, covering the period between 1973 and 1997.
  • The support given to adoptees in the search for their origins.
  • An analysis of the current legislative framework governing intercountry adoption procedures, including recommendations on the current and future legislative framework and practices.

In order to ensure that the analysis is as wide-reaching as possible, a steering group comprising cantonal representatives, representatives of the adoptee association "Back to the Roots" and a politician was set up to support the work of the Confederation.

Federal support for adoptees in search for origins

The Confederation is committed to working with the cantons to support adoptees in their search for their origins. To this end, the FOJ and the CCDJP are planning to set up a special working group on the search for origins, which will not be limited to Sri Lanka.

Furthermore, on Switzerland’s initiative a group of European states and Sri Lanka have agreed on a Memorandum of Cooperation for the processing of original search requests in Sri Lanka. Adoptees wishing to send an application to Sri Lanka should contact the Information Service in their canton of residence.

Federal action against illegal adoptions

Switzerland is an active member of the Hague Conference's Working Group on preventing and addressing illicit practices in intercountry adoption.

Note

For the complete documentation see the pages in German, French or Italian.

Documentation

(These documents are not available in English)

Last modification 27.02.2020

Top of page

Illegale Adoptionen

Bereits in seiner Botschaft von 1999 zur Ratifikation der Haager Konvention von 1993 über den Schutz von Kindern und die Zusammenarbeit auf dem Gebiet der internationalen Adoption durch die Schweiz hat der Bundesrat auf die seit Jahren angeprangerten Missbräuche auf internationaler Ebene hingewiesen. Die in den 80er und 90er Jahren aus dem Ausland adoptierten Kinder sind heute erwachsen. Einige haben sich auf die Suche nach ihrer Herkunft begeben und dabei rechtswidrige Praktiken bei ihrer Adoption ans Licht gebracht. Alle Aufnahmestaaten von Adoptivkindern sind heute mit solchen Fragen konfrontiert.

Bericht zu den illegalen Adoptionen aus Sri Lanka in den Achtzigerjahren

Am 16. März 2018 hat der Nationalrat das Postulat Ruiz 17.4181 "Licht ins Dunkel bringen. In den Achtzigerjahren wurden Kinder aus Sri Lanka in der Schweiz illegal adoptiert" angenommen. Das Postulat beauftragt den Bundesrat, gemeinsam mit den Kantonen die Praxis der privaten Vermittlungsstellen und der Behörden auf Kantons- und Bundesebene bei Adoptionen von Kindern aus Sri Lanka in den Achtzigerjahren zu untersuchen.

Der Bericht des Bundesrats, dessen Veröffentlichung auf Ende 2020 vorgesehen ist, umfasst voraussichtlich drei Themenbereiche:

  • Die historische Aufarbeitung des damaligen gesetzlichen Rahmens sowie der Praxis der Behörden und privaten Vermittlungsstellen bei internationalen Adoptionen. Hierfür wurde die Zürcher Hochschule für angewandte Wissenschaften (ZHAW) beauftragt, einen unabhängigen Bericht für die Zeit zwischen 1973 und 1997 zu verfassen.
  • Die Unterstützung der betroffenen Personen bei der Suche nach ihrer Herkunft.
  • Eine Analyse der aktuellen Gesetzgebung zu internationalen Adoptionsverfahren sowie Empfehlungen zur Praxis und zum heutigen und künftigen gesetzlichen Rahmen.

Um eine möglichst breite Analyse gewährleisten zu können, wird der Bund bei seinen Arbeiten von einer Begleitgruppe unterstützt. Dazu gehören Vertreter der Kantone, Vertreter der Betroffenenorganisation "Back to the Roots" sowie eine Vertreterin aus der Politik.

Engagement des Bundes bei der Herkunftssuche

Der Bund unterstützt zusammen mit den Kantonen Betroffene bei der Herkunftssuche. Zu diesem Zweck wollen das BJ und die KKJPD eine Arbeitsgruppe speziell für die Herkunftssuche einsetzen, welche sich nicht auf Sri Lanka beschränkt.

Auf Schweizer Initiative hin hat sich ausserdem eine Gruppe europäischer Staaten mit Sri Lanka auf ein Zusammenarbeitsprotokoll zur Behandlung von Anträgen zur Herkunftssuche in Sri Lanka geeinigt. Adoptierte, welche ein solches Ersuchen nach Sri Lanka übermitteln möchten, können sich an die Auskunftsstelle ihres Wohnsitzkantons wenden.

Engagement des Bundes gegen illegale Adoptionen

Die Schweiz engagiert sich bei der Haager Konferenz in einer Arbeitsgruppe zur Prävention von rechtswidrigen Praktiken und deren Behebung auf dem Gebiet von internationalen Adoptionen.

Dokumentation

nach oben Letzte Änderung 27.02.2020