Compulsory social measures and placements

Up to 1981, tens of thousands of children and young people were indentured by the authorities to farms as a cheap source of labour, or placed in severely managed homes, or in secure institutions or even prisons, without any form of court ruling. These children and young people often experienced unspeakable suffering and injustice. In some cases they were exposed to immense physical and psychological violence, were exploited, (sexually) abused, and suffered enormously from the separation from their parents and siblings.

Furthermore, some young women were put under enormous psychological pressure and forced to undergo abortion or sterilization procedures without their consent. Compulsory adoptions of one or more children were also common. Some children and young people were placed in homes or medical institutions, and used as subjects in trials of new substances, or medicated against their will. Little about these practices has been established to date, but the current academic enquiry will soon provide more information.

There has been much change at the social and political level in only a short time, resulting in a rethink. With almost record speed, the Federal Act on Compulsory Social Measures and Placements prior to 1981 (CSMPA) was drafted and passed by both chambers of Parliament with clear majorities. The Act came into force on 1 April 2017, and the process of coming to terms with the past is now underway.

We invite you to find out more about the history of this issue and its various aspects by reading the information on this website.

Further information

to the top Last modification 14.01.2019

Contact

Federal Office of Justice
CSMP Unit
Bundesrain 20, P. O. Box 8817
CH-3001 Bern
T
+41 58 462 42 84
Fax
+41 58 462 78 79
Contact

You can call the CSMP office from Monday to Friday, 9.00 am - 12.00 noon

Opfer von fürsorgerischen Zwangsmassnahmen

Bis 1981 wurden zehntausende Kinder und Jugendliche von Behörden auf Bauernhöfe als billige Arbeitskräfte ver-"dingt", in streng geführte Heime oder in geschlossene Einrichtungen, z. T auch ohne Gerichtsentscheid in Strafanstalten fremdplatziert. Diese Kinder und Jugendlichen haben oft unsägliches Leid und Unrecht erlitten; sie waren z.T. massiver körperlicher und psychischer Gewalt ausgesetzt, wurden misshandelt, ausgebeutet und sehr oft auch sexuell missbraucht und litten extrem unter der Trennung von ihren Eltern und Geschwister.

Auch sind junge Frauen sind unter grossen psychischen Druck gesetzt und gezwungen worden, einer Abtreibung, eine Sterilisation oder einer Adoption eines oder mehrerer ihrer Kinder zuzustimmen. Kinder und Jugendliche waren in Heimen oder auch in Kliniken Medikamentenversuchen mit unerprobten Substanzen oder Zwangsmedikationen ausgesetzt. Vieles ist bisher noch wenig erforscht. Die gegenwärtig laufende wissenschaftliche Aufarbeitung wird hierzu demnächst neue Erkenntnisse liefern.

In kurzer Zeit ist auf gesellschaftlicher und politischer Ebene vieles in Bewegung geraten und es hat ein Umdenken stattgefunden. Fast in Rekordzeit wurde ein Bundesgesetz zur Aufarbeitung der fürsorgerischen Zwangsmassnahmen und Fremdplatzierungen vor 1981 (AFZFG) ausgearbeitet und vom Parlament mit deutlichen Mehrheiten beschlossen. Seit dem 1. April 2017 ist es in Kraft und die Aufarbeitung ist im Gang.

Wir laden Sie ein, sich auf dieser Website über verschiedene Aspekte und Hintergründe dieses Themas näher zu informieren.

nach oben Letzte Änderung 07.01.2019

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Justiz
Fachbereich FSZM
Bundesrain 20, Postfach 8817
CH-3001 Bern
T
+41 58 462 42 84
Fax
+41 58 462 78 79
Kontakt

Telefonzeiten Sekretariat FSZM von Montag bis Freitag 09.00-12.00 Uhr