Private International Law

Private international law (or conflict of laws) is a set of rules of law that determine which court has jurisdiction and which law governs a given legal dispute. It also determines whether, and if so under what conditions, a judgment rendered by a foreign court will be recognized and enforced domestically. Private international law rules typically apply when a legal dispute has an international element.

The private international law of Switzerland is codified in the Federal Act on Private International Law of 18 December 1987. That Act contains a general carve-out for matters governed by international treaties; some of those were drafted within international fora such as the Hague Conference on Private International Law, the UN Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL) or UNIDROIT.

Working alongside the government agencies that are also responsible for the issues mentioned, the Private International Law Unit prepares legislation and participates in the drafting and enforcements of the necessary international instruments (central authority function). These include international child abductions, international protection for minors and adults, cross-border spousal support-related matters, and international mutual assistance in civil and commercial matters, in which the authorities or courts of a requested states support the administration of justice in a requesting state.

International mutual assistance does not mean the provision of support to private individuals in legal matters with an international element. In particular, no information may be given on domestic or foreign law, or on the enforcement of claims under private law in Switzerland or internationally. The Federal Office of Justice provides legal information only in those areas in which it fulfils the function of a central authority, i.e. child abductions, protection for minors and adults, the collection of spousal and other support payments, and matters relating to summonses and evidence-gathering.

Further information

Note

For the complete documentation see the pages in German, French or Italian.

Legal basis

Documents

Dossier

to the top Last modification 08.02.2016

Contact

Federal Office of Justice
Private International Law Unit
Bundesrain 20
CH-3003 Bern
T
+41 58 463 88 64
Fax
+41 58 462 78 64
Contact

Internationales Privatrecht

Das internationale Privatrecht (IPR; Kollisionsrecht) kommt bei denjenigen privatrechtlichen Sachverhalten zur Anwendung, die einen internationalen Bezug aufweisen. Dabei beantwortet das IPR hauptsächlich folgende Fragen: Welches Gericht ist zuständig? Welches nationale Recht ist anwendbar? Unter welchen Bedingungen kann ein Entscheid, der in einem Staat gefällt wurde, in einem anderen Staat anerkannt und vollstreckt werden?

In der Schweiz sind die entsprechenden Regeln im Bundesgesetz über das Internationale Privatrecht vom 18. Dezember 1987 (IPRG; SR 291) kodifiziert. Einige Bereiche sind durch Staatsverträge geregelt. Gewisse von diesen sind im Rahmen verschiedener Gremien wie der Haager Konferenz für internationales Privatrecht, der UNO-Kommission für internationales Handelsrecht (UNCITRAL) oder von UNIDROIT ausgehandelt worden.

Der Fachbereich IPR bereitet in Zusammenarbeit mit ebenfalls zuständigen Dienststellen in den erwähnten Fragestellungen die Erlasse vor und wirkt bei der Erarbeitung notwendiger internationaler Instrumente sowie bei deren Vollzug (Zentralbehördenfunktion) mit. Dazu gehören die internationalen Kindsentführungen, der internationale Minderjährigen- und Erwachsenenschutz, die internationalen Alimentensachen und die internationalen Rechtshilfe in Zivil- und Handelssachen, mit welcher die Behörden oder Gerichte eines ersuchten Staates die Rechtspflege eines ersuchenden Staates unterstützen.

Internationale Rechtshilfe bedeutet nicht, dass Privatpersonen bei rechtlichen Fragen mit internationalem Bezug Unterstützung erhalten. Insbesondere können keine Auskünfte über in- und ausländisches Recht oder über die Durchsetzung privatrechtlicher Forderungen im In- und Ausland erteilt werden. Das Bundesamt für Justiz erteilt nur Rechtsauskünfte in jenen Bereichen, wo es eine Zentralbehördenfunktion ausübt (Kindesentführungen, Minderjährigen- und Erwachsenenschutz, Alimenteninkasso und Zustellungs- sowie Beweiserhebungsfragen).

Weitere Infos

nach oben Letzte Änderung 08.02.2016

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Justiz
Direktionsbereich Privatrecht
Bundesrain 20
CH-3003 Bern
T
+41 58 462 41 82
Fax
+41 58 462 42 25
Kontakt