Legal Basis

Apart from the HC 61 and the HC 96, two federal acts apply in relation to the international protection of children.

FA-ACA

The Federal Act on International Child Abduction and the Hague Conventions on the Protection of Children and Adults (FA-ACA; SR 211.222.32) came into force on July 1 2009. In respect of the international protection of children, it defines the jurisdiction of the central federal authority and the central cantonal authorities in the context of the HC 96.

FAPIL

Under art. 85 para. 1 of the Federal Act of 18 December 1987 on International Private Law (FAPIL ; RS 291), in relation to the protection of children, the jurisdiction of the Swiss judicial or administrative authorities, the applicable law and the recognition and execution of foreign decisions or measures are governed by the HC 96.

Under art. 85 para. 3 FAPIL, the judicial or administrative authorities also have jurisdiction when the protection of a person or their property so requires. This allows the Swiss authorities to take measures relating to children domiciled abroad who need protection, where the authorities of the State where they are habitually resident neglect to do so. This applies primarily to people who are habitually resident in a non-Contracting State and who are Swiss citizens.

Finally, paragraph 4 provides for the recognition of the measures ordered in a State that is not party to the HC 96 if the measures have been ordered or recognised in the State where the child concerned is habitually resident.

Links

to the top Last modification 29.04.2011

Bases légales

Outre la CLaH 61 et la CLaH 96, deux lois fédérales sont applicables en matière de protection internationale des enfants.

LF-EEA

La loi fédérale sur l’enlèvement international d’enfants et les Conventions de La Haye sur la protection des enfants et des adultes (LF-EEA ; RS 211.222.32) est entrée en vigueur au 1er juillet 2009. En matière de protection internationale d’enfants, elle définit les compétences de l’autorité centrale fédérale et des autorités centrales cantonales dans le cadre de la CLaH 96.

85 LDIP

En vertu de l’art. 85 al. 1 de la Loi fédérale du 18 décembre 1987 sur le droit international privé (LDIP ; RS 291), en matière de protection des enfants, la compétence des autorités judiciaires ou administratives suisses, la loi applicable ainsi que la reconnaissance et l’exécution des décisions ou mesures étrangères sont régies par la CLaH 96.

Aux termes de l’art. 85 al. 3 LDIP, les autorités judiciaires ou administratives sont en outre compétentes lorsque la protection d’une personne ou de ses biens l’exige. Ceci permet aux autorités suisses de prendre des mesures à l’égard d’enfants domiciliés à l’étranger qui ont besoin de protection, lorsque les autorités de l’Etat où ils ont leur résidence habituelle négligent de le faire. Il s’agit, au premier chef, de personnes qui ont leur résidence habituelle dans un Etat non contractant et sont de nationalité suisse.

Enfin, l’alinéa 4 permet la reconnaissance de mesures ordonnées dans un Etat qui n’est pas partie à la CLaH 96 si elles ont été ordonnées ou reconnues dans l’Etat où l’enfant concerné a sa résidence habituelle.

Liens

vers le haut Dernière modification 29.04.2011