International Protection of Adults

Keywords: Care and nursing

What is it about?

The increasing mobility of individuals as well as the ageing of the population has led to a growing need for cross-border assistance measures in relation to the protection of adults. In order to provide the best possible protection to adults needing assistance in cases with an international dimension, Switzerland has ratified the Hague Convention of 13 January 2000 on the International Protection of Adults (HC 2000; RS 0.211.232.1) and has also amended art. 85 FAPIL (Federal Act of 18 December 1987 on International Private Law; RS 291). These came into force on 1 July 2009.

Examples

  1. An adult under deputyship moves abroad (to a Contracting State to the Convention). In order to protect the adult, the protection authority must ensure that the measure is continued abroad and that a similar measure is taken under domestic law to discharge the deputy from his or her duties. With the assistance of the central authorities if necessary, the adult protection authority will be able to address its request to the competent authority of the State of the new residence. Thanks to the bilateral cooperation, the interests of the adult can be preserved and the deputyship in Switzerland lifted. 

  2. A Swiss couple resides in Germany. The competent German Court nominated the husband as the guardian of his wife and as the manager of her assets, since she is suffering from dementia. The bank in Switzerland does not accept the decision of the German Court. In order to be able to dispose of the accounts of his wife, the husband files for recognition of the German Court order before the Swiss competent authority.

Further information

Note

For the complete documentation see the pages in German, French or Italian.

Links

to the top Last modification 06.05.2019

Contact

Federal Office of Justice
Central Authority for International Adult protection
Bundesrain 20
CH-3003 Bern
T
+41 58 463 88 64
Fax
+41 58 462 78 64
Contact

Internationaler Erwachsenenschutz

Schlagwörter: Betreuung und Pflege

Worum geht es?

Die zunehmende individuelle Mobilität und die alternde Bevölkerung erzeugen ein wachsendes Bedürfnis nach grenzüberschreitenden Unterstützungsmassnahmen im Bereich des Erwachsenenschutzes. Zum besseren Schutz unterstützungsbedürftiger Erwachsener bei internationalen Sachverhalten hat die Schweiz das Übereinkommen vom 13. Januar 2000 über den internationalen Schutz von Erwachsenen ratifiziert (HEsÜ; SR 0.211.232.1) und Artikel 85 IPRG entsprechend angepasst (Bundesgesetz vom 18. Dezember 1987 über das Internationale Privatrecht; SR 291). Diese sind per 1. Juli 2009 in Kraft getreten.

Beispiele

  1. Ein unter Beistandschaft stehender Erwachsener ist ins Ausland umgezogen (in einen Vertragsstaat des Übereinkommens). Zu seinem Schutz soll die Beistandschaft am neuen Wohnort anerkannt, weitergeführt und hierfür eine analoge innerstaatliche Massnahme ergriffen werden. Die bisher zuständige Schweizer Erwachsenenschutzbehörde muss hierfür einen entsprechenden Antrag an die zuständige Behörde am neuen Aufenthaltsort richten, welcher mit Unterstützung der Zentralbehörden übermittelt werden kann. Durch die bilaterale Zusammenarbeit können die Interessen des Betroffenen gewahrt und schliesslich die Beistandschaft in der Schweiz aufgehoben werden.

  2. Ein Schweizer Ehepaar lebt in Deutschland. Das örtliche Amtsgericht hat den Ehemann zum Betreuer und Vermögensverwalter seiner an Demenz erkrankten Ehefrau ernannt. Die Bank in der Schweiz akzeptiert den deutschen Gerichtsentscheid jedoch nicht. Damit der Ehemann über die Konti seiner Ehefrau verfügen kann, ersucht er die zuständige Schweizer Behörde in einem Entscheid das ausländische Urteil anzuerkennen.

Weitere Infos

Rechtliche Grundlagen

nach oben Letzte Änderung 28.04.2011

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Justiz
Zentrale Behörde für Internationalen Erwachsenenschutz
Bundesrain 20
CH-3003 Bern
T
+41 58 463 88 64
Fax
+41 58 462 78 64
Kontakt