Service of judicial documents in criminal matters

Channels of transmission

The direct service of judicial documents from abroad is an official act which is permitted only insofar as it is provided for in state treaties or declared permissible by the Federal Council. Under the terms of the Ordinance on International Mutual Assistance in Criminal Matters, with the exception of summonses all documentation may be served directly by post to persons in Switzerland who are not themselves being prosecuted abroad. Documents relating to minor traffic offences may also be served directly by post to recipients in Switzerland.

Where judicial documents are to be served through official mutual legal assistance channels, the applicable treaty basis governs whether they are exchanged directly between the authorities in charge, or indirectly via the two countries' ministries of justice. In the absence of any treaty basis, judicial documents must generally be transmitted via diplomatic channels.

Summonses

The summonsing of persons to appear as defendants or witnesses in foreign criminal proceedings is a special type of service. Switzerland requires that summonses for defendants reach the competent Swiss authority at least thirty days before the date set for the defendant's appearance. Persons who have been summoned may not suffer legal or material prejudice in either the requesting or the requested state if they do not comply with the summons. Consequently, anyone accepting a summons is under no obligation to appear before the foreign authority. Summonses containing threats of compulsion will not be served.

Procedure for requests for service

The Federal Office of Justice (Mutual Assistance Unit II) receives the foreign request for service and conducts a summary examination to establish whether or not it meets the formal requirements. The service of documentation or summonses does not constitute a coercive measure. Unlike requests for mutual legal assistance which must be executed by compulsory means, such as the collection and handover of banking documents, a request for service does not have to be checked to ensure that it fulfils the dual criminality condition.

If the request for service does not immediately appear inadmissible, the FOJ will forward it to the executing cantonal authorities. This authority will then deliver the documents to the recipient either in person or by post. Service is deemed effected if acceptance of the documents or refusal to accept has been confirmed in writing. Pursuant to the decisions of the Federal Supreme Court, neither the instruction to serve documentation to the recipient nor service itself constitutes an official ruling. As a result, the recipient has no means of legal recourse.

Note

For the complete documentation see the pages in German, French or Italian.

Documents

to the top Last modification 22.03.2010

Zustellungen in Strafsachen

Übermittlungswege

Die direkte Zustellung von Gerichtsakten aus dem Ausland ist eine Amtshandlung. Sie ist nur gestattet, soweit sie in Staatsverträgen vorgesehen ist oder sie der Bundesrat für zulässig erklärt. Gemäss Verordnung über internationale Rechtshilfe in Strafsachen dürfen an Personen in der Schweiz, die im Ausland nicht selber verfolgt werden, sämtliche Schriftstücke (mit Ausnahme von Vorladungen) direkt per Post zugestellt werden. Auch Schriftstücke in Strafsachen wegen Übertretung von Strassenverkehrsvorschriften dürfen den Empfängern in der Schweiz direkt per Post zugestellt werden.

Der Zustellung von Gerichtsakten auf dem Rechtshilfeweg erfolgt je nach staatsvertraglichen Grundlagen entweder direkt zwischen den zuständigen Behörden oder über die Justizministerien der beiden Staaten. Bestehen keine staatsvertragliche Grundlagen, müssen Gerichtsakten in der Regel auf diplomatischem Weg übermittelt werden. 

Vorladungen

Eine besondere Art der Zustellung ist die Vorladung von Personen als Beschuldigte oder Zeugen in einem ausländischen Strafverfahren. Vorladungen an einen Beschuldigten müssen mindestens 30 Tage vor dem für das Erscheinen festgesetzten Termin bei der zuständigen schweizerischen Behörde eintreffen. Vorgeladene Personen dürfen keinen rechtlichen oder tatsächlichen Nachteilen ausgesetzt werden, wenn sie einer Vorladung nicht Folge leisten. Wer eine Vorladung entgegennimmt, ist somit nicht verpflichtet, vor der ausländischen Behörde zu erscheinen. Vorladungen, die Zwangsandrohungen enthalten, werden den Empfängern nicht zugestellt.

Behandlung der Zustellungsersuchen

Das Bundesamt für Justiz (Fachbereich Rechtshilfe II) nimmt die ausländischen Zustellungsersuchen entgegen und prüft summarisch, ob sie den formellen Anforderungen entsprechen. Bei der Zustellung von Schriftstücken oder Vorladungen handelt es sich nicht um eine Zwangsmassnahme. Anders als bei Rechtshilfeersuchen, deren Vollzug die Anwendung von Zwang erfordert (z.B. die Erhebung und Herausgabe von Bankdokumenten), muss daher bei Zustellungsersuchen die Voraussetzung der beidseitigen Strafbarkeit nicht geprüft werden.

Erscheint das Zustellungsersuchen nicht offensichtlich als unzulässig, leitet es das BJ an die ausführende kantonale Behörde weiter. Diese Behörde stellt das Ersuchen durch persönliche Übergabe oder per Post dem Empfänger zu. Die Zustellung gilt als erfolgt, wenn der Empfänger die Annahme des Schriftstücks bestätigt oder die Verweigerung der Annahme bescheinigt wird. Weder die Anordnung, ein Schriftstück dem Empfänger zuzustellen, noch die Zustellung selbst gelten gemäss Rechtsprechung des Bundesgerichts als Verfügung. Daher stehen dem Empfänger auch keine Rechtsmittel zur Verfügung.

Dokumente

Links

Letzte Änderung 22.03.2010

Zum Seitenanfang