Lugano Convention 2007

Scope of application

The Convention on jurisdiction and the recognition and enforcement of judgments in civil and commercial matters (Lugano Convention; SR 0.275.12) was concluded in Lugano on 30 October 2007. The signatories are the Swiss Confederation, the European Community, the Kingdom of Denmark, the Kingdom of Norway and the Republic of Iceland. It is the successor to the Lugano Convention on jurisdiction and enforcement of judgments in civil and commercial matters of 16 September 1988 (SR 0.275.11), which is why it is often referred to as the revised Lugano Convention. At the same time, it also serves as a parallel agreement to Council Regulation (EC) 44/2001 of 22 December 2000 on jurisdiction and the recognition and enforcement of judgments in civil and commercial matters (the Brussels I Regulation), which in turn will be replaced by Regulation (EU) 1212/2012 on 10 January 2015.

While the Lugano Convention 2007 entered into force for the European Union, Denmark and Norway on 1 January 2010, it has only applied to Switzerland since 1 January 2011. For Iceland, it entered into force on 1 May 2011.

For states that join the European Union after the conclusion of the Lugano Convention, the Convention applies automatically from their EU accession date.

Materials and case law

The official explanatory report on the Lugano Convention 2007 was produced by Professor Fausto Pocar.

Under Article 3 paragraph 3 of Protocol 2 to the Lugano Convention 2007, the European Commission is responsible for setting up a system for exchanging information on decisions taken in application of both Lugano Conventions of 1988 and 2007 (as well as the legal instruments named in Art. 64) (currently under development; previously the European Court of Justice was responsible).

Standing committee and meeting of experts

Under Article 4 of the Protocol No. 2 to the Lugano Convention 2007, there is a Standing Committee made up of representatives of the contracting parties that can be convened as required. Its tasks include consultation on the revision of the Convention and on amending the annexes (e.g. if the scope of application is extended to include new EU member states), and the adoption of new language versions.

At its first meeting on 3 May 2011, the Standing Committee stated that it would not require a protocol in relation to the law on maintenance for the time being, as its ordinary revision mechanisms could be used as required to resolve possible inconsistencies that have arisen since the LugC came into force (in the dispatch dated 18 February 2009 on the revised Lugano Convention, the Federal Council, in order to avoid certain inconsistencies (in particular in relation to agreements on jurisdiction and lis pendens) between the Regulation (EC) 4/2009 on maintenance obligations and the LugC, considered calling for an Additional Protocol on the relationship between these two instruments; BBl 2009 1777, 1797-1798).

At its second meeting (25 September 2013), the Standing Committee on the LugC discussed the possible modification of the revised Lugano Convention (LugC) to bring it line with the new version of the Brussels I Regulation (1215/2012). The Standing Committee made no recommendation on the possible amendment of the Lugano Convention and did not decide on any further steps. In addition, it was discussed whether an amendment of the Lugano Convention was necessary in connection with the planned introduction of the European patent with unitary effect and the Unified Patent Court. Here the Standing committee decided to wait for the results of further investigations into the necessity of an amendment, and to consider the question again if so required.

Article 5 of Protocol No. 2 to the Lugano Convention 2007 also provides for a "meeting of experts", to enable an exchange of views on the development of case law  (see the "Reports on national case law"). New legislation that might influence the application of the Convention may also be discussed in this forum. These expert meetings are held at irregular intervals, normally every one to two years.

to the top Last modification 09.06.2011

Das Lugano-Übereinkommen 2007

Anwendungsbereich

Das Übereinkommen über die gerichtliche Zuständigkeit und die Anerkennung und Vollstreckung von Entscheidungen in Zivil- und Handelssachen (Lugano-Übereinkommen, LugÜ; SR 0.275.12) ist am 30. Oktober 2007 in Lugano geschlossen worden. Unterzeichner sind die Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, die Europäische Gemeinschaft, das Königreich Dänemark, das Königreich Norwegen und die Republik Island. Es handelt sich um das Nachfolgeabkommen zum Lugano-Übereinkommen über die gerichtliche Zuständigkeit und die Vollstreckung gerichtlicher Entscheidungen in Zivil- und Handelssachen vom 16. September 1988 (SR 0.275.11), weshalb oft auch vom revidierten Lugano-Übereinkommen die Rede ist. Gleichzeitig stellt es das Parallel-Abkommen zur Verordnung (EG) Nr. 44/2001 des Rates vom 22. Dezember 2000 über die gerichtliche Zuständigkeit und die Anerkennung und Vollstreckung von Entscheidungen in Zivil- und Handelssachen (EuGVVO; Brüssel I-Verordnung) dar, ihrerseits am 10. Januar 2015 durch die Verordnung (EU) 1215/2012 ersetzt.

Während das Lugano-Übereinkommen 2007 für die Europäische Union, Dänemark und Norwegen am 1. Januar 2010 in Kraft getreten ist, gilt es für die Schweiz seit dem 1. Januar 2011. Für Island ist es am 1. Mai 2011 in Kraft getreten. Für Staaten, die nach Abschluss des Lugano-Übereinkommens der Europäischen Union beitreten, gilt das Übereinkommen automatisch ab ihrem EU-Beitrittsdatum.

Materialien und Rechtsprechung

Den offiziellen erläuternden Bericht zum Lugano-Übereinkommen 2007 hat Prof. Fausto Pocar verfasst.

Gemäss Art. 3 Abs. 3 des Protokolls Nr. 2 zum Lugano-Übereinkommen 2007 richtet die Europäische Kommission ein System für den Austausch von Informationen über die Entscheidungen ein, die in Anwendung der beiden Lugano-Übereinkommen von 1988 und 2007 (sowie der in Art. 64 genannten Rechtsinstrumente) ergangen sind (zurzeit im Aufbau; bisher war der EuGH dafür zuständig).

Ständiger Ausschuss und Sachverständigenrat

Gemäss Artikel 4 des Protokolls Nr. 2 zum Lugano-Übereinkommen 2007 gibt es einen aus Vertretern der Vertragsparteien bestehenden "Ständigen Ausschuss", der im Bedarfsfall einberufen wird. Dessen Aufgaben bestehen u.a. in der Konsultation über eine Revision des Übereinkommens sowie der Aktualisierung der Anhänge (z.B. anlässlich der Erstreckung des Anwendungsbereichs auf neue EU-Mitgliedstaaten) und der Aufnahme neuer Sprachfassungen.

An seiner ersten Sitzung (3. Mai 2011) hat der Ständige Ausschuss erklärt, den Weg eines Protokolls im Bereich des Unterhaltsrechts vorerst nicht weiterzuverfolgen, da zur Bereinigung möglicher Inkohärenzen seit dem Inkrafttreten des LugÜ im Bedarfsfall dessen ordentliche Revisionsmechanismen benützt werden könnten (in der Botschaft vom 18. Februar 2009 zum revidierten Lugano-Übereinkommen erwog der Bundesrat, zur Vermeidung gewisser Inkohärenzen (insbesondere in den Bereichen Gerichtsstandsvereinbarungen und Rechtshängigkeit) zwischen der Unterhaltsverordnung (EG) 4/2009 und dem LugÜ ein Zusatzprotokoll über das Verhältnis zwischen diesen beiden Instrumenten anzustreben; BBl 2009 1777, 1797-1798).

Anlässlich seiner zweiten Sitzung (25. September 2013) beriet der Ständige LugÜ-Ausschuss die mögliche Anpassung des revidierten Lugano-Übereinkommens (LugÜ) an die Neufassung der Brüssel-I-Verordnung (1215/2012). Der Ständige Ausschuss hat zur Frage der möglichen Anpassung des Lugano-Übereinkommens keine Empfehlung abgegeben und keine weiteren Schritte beschlossen. Zudem wurde diskutiert, ob im Zusammenhang mit der geplanten Einführung des "Europäischen Patents mit einheitlicher Wirkung" sowie des "Einheitlichen Patentgerichts" eine Anpassung des Lugano-Übereinkommens notwendig sei. Diesbezüglich hat der Ständige Ausschuss entschieden, weitere Abklärungen betreffend die Notwendigkeit einer Anpassung abzuwarten und die Frage im Bedarfsfall wieder aufzugreifen.

Art. 5 des Protokolls Nr. 2 zum Lugano-Übereinkommen 2007 sieht zudem einen "Sachverständigenrat" (Expertentreffen) vor, um einen Meinungsaustausch über die Entwicklung der Rechtsprechung zu ermöglichen (siehe die "Berichte zur nationalen Rechtsprechung"). Auch neue Rechtsvorschriften, die die Anwendung des Übereinkommens beeinflussen, können in diesem Rahmen diskutiert werden. Diese Treffen auf Expertenebene finden in unregelmässigen Abständen statt, i.d.R. alle 1-2 Jahre.

nach oben Letzte Änderung 09.06.2011