Legal Basis

Apart from the HC 2000, two federal acts apply in relation to the international protection of adults.

FA-ACA

The Federal Act of 21 December 2007 on International Child Abduction and the Hague Conventions on the Protection of Children and Adults (FA-ACA; RS 211.222.32) came into force on 1 July 2009. In relation to the international protection of adults, it defines the jurisdiction of the federal central authority and the cantonal central authorities.

FAPIL

Under art. 85 para. 2 of the Federal Act of 18 December 1987 on International Private Law (FAPIL ; RS 291), in relation to the protection of adults, the jurisdiction of the Swiss judicial or administrative authorities, the applicable law and the recognition and execution of foreign decisions or measures are governed by the HC 2000.

Under art. 85 para. 3 FAPIL, the judicial or administrative authorities also have jurisdiction when the protection of a person or their property so requires. This allows the Swiss authorities to take measures relating to adults domiciled abroad who need protection, where the authorities of the State where they are habitually resident neglect to do so. This applies primarily to people who are habitually resident in a non-Contracting State and who are Swiss citizens.

Finally, paragraph 4 provides for the recognition of the measures ordered in a State that is not a party to HC 2000 if the measures have been ordered or recognised in the State where the adult concerned is habitually resident.

Legal Basis

to the top Last modification 29.04.2011

Rechtliche Grundlagen

Neben dem Haager Übereinkommen vom 13. Januar 2000 über den internationalen Schutz von Erwachsenen (HEsÜ) gelangen im Bereich des internationalen Erwachsenenschutzes zwei Bundesgesetze zur Anwendung.

BG-KKE

Das Bundesgesetz über internationale Kindesentführung und die Haager Übereinkommen zum Schutz von Kindern und Erwachsenen (BG-KKE; SR 211.222.32) ist am 1. Juli 2009 in Kraft getreten. Es umschreibt die Zuständigkeiten der Zentralen Behörde des Bundes und der Zentralen Behörden der Kantone im Bereich des internationalen Erwachsenenschutzes.

IPRG

Gemäss Artikel 85 Absatz 2 des Bundesgesetzes vom 18. Dezember 1987 über das Internationale Privatrecht (IPRG; SR 291) gilt das HEsÜ für den Schutz von Erwachsenen in Bezug auf die Zuständigkeit der schweizerischen Gerichte oder Behörden, auf das anwendbare Recht sowie auf die Anerkennung und Vollstreckung ausländischer Entscheidungen oder Massnahmen.

Nach Artikel 85 Absatz 3 IPRG sind die schweizerischen Gerichte oder Behörden ausserdem zuständig, wenn es für den Schutz einer Person oder von deren Vermögen unerlässlich ist. Damit wird es schweizerischen Behörden ermöglicht, für im Ausland wohnhafte schutzbedürftige Erwachsene Massnahmen zu ergreifen, sofern dies die Behörden am gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt unterlassen. Dabei geht es in erster Linie um Schweizer Bürger mit gewöhnlichem Aufenthalt in einem Nichtvertragsstaat.

Artikel 85 Absatz 4 ermöglicht die Anerkennung von Massnahmen, die in einem Nichtvertragsstaat ergangen sind, wenn sie im Staat des gewöhnlichen Aufenthalts ergangen sind oder dort anerkannt werden.

Rechtliche Grundlagen

nach oben Letzte Änderung 29.04.2011