Global Entry Program

US Global Entry Program admission procedure

Travelers standing at Global Entry Kiosks at an international airport
Global Entry Kiosks, located at international airports, simplify the passenger`s entry into the United States (Photo: James Tourtellotte)

Global Entry offers a range of advantages for entry to the United States of America. The U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) established the program to allow frequent travellers to the United States expedited entry to the country at airports. Swiss nationals accepted on the program can enter the United States via an automatic kiosk, thus avoiding long queues and waiting times on arrival.

To participate in the program, travellers must undergo a security check. The security check in Switzerland is carried out by fedpol. In the United States it is conducted by U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP). To register for the program you must provide fedpol with the documents listed below.

Declaration of consent

We require your consent to carry out a search on you in the police databases (RIPOL and SIS) and to disclose personal data to the U.S. authorities. Please read, complete and sign the Declaration of Consent (PDF, 112 kB, 18.02.2021).

Proof of identity

Please make a coloured scan of your passport as proof of your identity.

Extract from the Swiss criminal records

You can order a Swiss criminal records extract from the Federal Office of Justice FOJ here.

  • Children under 10 years do not require an extract. 
  • Your criminal records extract should have been issued within the last three months and must display the date of issue.

Fees

There is a charge of CHF 100 for the pre-clearance procedure. Payment should be made electronically. The following means of payment are accepted: PostFinance card, PostFinance e-Finance, TWINT, Mastercard, Visa and American Express.

Please pay CHF 100.00

Submitting documents

Are you a Swiss national and would you like to register on the U.S. Global Entry Program? If so, please complete the fields below and upload all the required documents: signed Declaration of Consent (last page only), extract from the Swiss criminal records and a coloured copy of your valid passport.

Please note that the subsequent procedure is only accessible after payment of the fee.

*
*
*
*
*
*

All fields marked with * must be completed. 

Applications for security clearance will be processed in chronological order.

Further steps

Pre-clearance and notification

Once your application has been processed, you will be notified in writing about the next steps in the procedure:

  • If you are not registered in the police databases, you can begin the U.S. procedure here.
    Click on the Global Entry Program column. Create a new account using the ‘Get Started’ button. The U.S. authorities charge of fee of USD 100. The U.S. customs authorities decide whether you are definitely admitted to the program.
  • If you are registered in the police data bases, you will not be authorised to participate in the program.

Disclosing personal data

If you pass the pre-clearance security check by the U.S. authorities, you will be granted provisional Low Risk Traveler status. Your application will be registered with a 'PASS ID or APPLICATION ID' reference. Please send us this reference.

fedpol will then disclose the following personal data to the U.S. authorities: your first name, surname, date of birth, passport number and 'PASS ID or APPLICATION ID' reference.

Mandatory disclosure of biometric data in the U.S.A.

Once your Low Risk Traveler status is confirmed, you have 365 days to make an appointment with the U.S. authorities. The next time you travel to the United States, you will need to finalise the procedure, either at a U.S. airport or at a centre outside the airport, by submitting your biometric data (photograph and digital fingerprints). This procedure is only conducted on first-time entry to the country.

Entering the United States as a member of the Global Entry Program

Once a member of the Global Entry Program you can enter the United States using one of the automatic kiosks. Membership is valid for five years.

Global Entry travel expedites entry to the United States but is not a substitute for ESTA travel authorisation or a U.S. visa if your visit exceeds 90 days.

Last modification 18.02.2021

Top of page

Programme Global Entry

Processus d’admission au programme Global Entry des États-Unis

Des voyageurs se tiennent devant des bornes automatiques du programme Global Entry dans un aéroport international
Les bornes automatiques Global Entry situés dans les aéroports internationaux simplifient l’entrée aux Etats-Unis (Photo: James Tourtellotte)

Le programme Global Entry offre une série d'avantages pour l'entrée aux États-Unis. Le service américain des douanes et de la protection des frontières (U.S. Customs and Border Protection CBP) a créé ce programme afin de simplifier les formalités d'entrée à l'aéroport pour les personnes se rendant fréquemment aux États-Unis. Les ressortissantes et ressortissants suisses inscrits au programme pourront entrer sur le territoire américain en passant par une borne automatique. Ils évitent ainsi les guichets d'immigration habituels, où l'attente peut être longue.

Pour être admis au programme Global Entry, un contrôle de sécurité est requis. En Suisse, fedpol est en charge de ce contrôle tandis qu’aux États-Unis, c’est le service américain des douanes et de la protection des frontières qui en a la responsabilité. Afin de s’inscrire au programme, il est nécessaire de fournir à fedpol les documents mentionnés ci-dessous.

Déclaration de consentement

Nous avons besoin de votre accord pour entreprendre des recherches à votre sujet dans les systèmes d'information de police (RIPOL et SIS) ainsi que pour transmettre vos données personnelles aux États-Unis. Veuillez lire, compléter et signer la déclaration de consentement (PDF, 371 kB, 22.06.2020).

Preuve de votre identité

Veuillez préparer un scan couleur de votre passeport attestant votre identité.

Casier judiciaire

Veuillez commander ici un extrait de votre casier judiciaire auprès de l'Office fédéral de la justice.

  • Les mineurs de moins de 10 ans en sont exemptés. 
  • L’extrait du casier judiciaire doit être daté de moins de trois mois. La date doit être visible.

Frais de traitement

fedpol perçoit un émolument de 100 CHF pour les frais de traitement de l'examen préalable. Le paiement se fait de façon électronique. Les moyens de paiement suivants sont acceptés : PostFinance Card, PostFinance E-Finance, TWINT, Mastercard, Visa et American Express.

Veuillez payer CHF 100.00

Envoi des documents

Vous avez la nationalité suisse et vous souhaitez vous inscrire au programme Global Entry des États-Unis ? Si oui, veuillez à présent remplir les champs ci-dessous et charger tous les documents demandés : déclaration de consentement signée (uniquement la dernière page), l’extrait du casier judiciaire et la copie couleur du passeport valable.

Veuillez noter que la suite de la procédure n'est accessible qu'après le paiement de l’émolument.

*
*
*
*
*
*

Tous les champs marqués par *, doivent être obligatoirement remplis. 

Les inscriptions relatives au contrôle de sécurité seront traitées dans leur ordre d’arrivée.

Étapes successives :

Examen préalable et réponse

Une fois votre demande traitée, vous recevrez une confirmation écrite avec les prochaines étapes à suivre :

  • Si vous vous ne figurez pas dans les bases de données des systèmes d’information de police, vous pouvez vous inscrire ici, auprès du service des douanes et de la protection de frontières des Etats-Unis, pour obtenir une autorisation de sécurité des autorités américaines.
    Cliquez sur la colonne Global Entry Program et débutez le processus. Créer un nouveau compte en cliquant sur le bouton "Get Started". La participation à ce programme coûte 100 dollars. Le service américain des douanes décide de l'admission définitive au programme.
  • Si vous figurez dans les bases de données des systèmes d’information de police, vous n'êtes pas autorisé à participer au programme Global Entry. 

Transmission des données personnelles

Une fois l'examen préalable par le service des douanes américain réussi, vous obtenez le statut de low-risk traveler provisoire. Votre demande est enregistrée avec une référence nommée "PASS ID ou APPLICATION ID". Nous vous prions de nous la transmettre.

fedpol communiquera ensuite vos données: prénom, nom, date de naissance, numéro de passeport et votre numéro de référence "PASSID ou APPLICATION ID" aux autorités américaines.

Relevé obligatoire des données biométriques sur sol américain

Dès obtention de votre statut de low-risk traveler confirmé, vous avez 365 jours pour fixer un rendez-vous avec les autorités américaines compétentes. Lors de votre prochain déplacement aux États-Unis, il vous faudra finaliser la procédure soit auprès d'un aéroport américain, soit auprès d’un centre extérieur à l’aéroport. Vos données biométriques : photo et empreintes digitales seront enregistrées. Cette procédure est effectuée uniquement lors de votre premier déplacement.

Entrée aux États-Unis avec le programme Global Entry

Dès lors, vous êtes membre du programme Global Entry et pourrez désormais passer par une borne automatique pour entrer sur le territoire américain. Votre statut est valable cinq ans.

Si le programme Global Entry simplifie les modalités d'entrée aux États-Unis, il ne dispense pas d’une autorisation de voyage ESTA ou d’un visa si le séjour dépasse 90 jours.

Dernière modification 18.02.2021

Début de la page