Division for International Legal Assistance



Extraditions Unit

The Extraditions Unit examines applications from foreign authorities for individuals to be taken into custody pending extradition (request for search) and, where appropriate, will order the arrest in Switzerland of the persons being sought. Where a person consents to extradition after they have been arrested, the Unit will approve a simplified procedure for extradition to the applicant state. If the person concerned resists extradition, the Unit will issue an extradition warrant. It will examine the foreign extradition request and take the relevant decision, which may be challenged before the Federal Criminal Court. Appeals to the Federal Supreme Court are possible in particularly significant cases. At the application of the Swiss criminal prosecution and enforcement authorities, the Extradition Unit will circulate Swiss search requests, mostly via Interpol, and submit extradition applications to foreign states.

In addition, the Unit receives foreign applications for Switzerland to assume criminal prosecutions on their behalf and forwards them to the competent Swiss prosecuting authorities. It also makes the corresponding requests to foreign authorities at the request of the Swiss prosecuting authorities. Furthermore, the Unit consults with the responsible cantonal authorities to decide whether or not to approve applications from Swiss citizens who have been found guilty abroad and wish to return to Switzerland to serve out their custodial sentences. Similarly, it considers cases in which foreigners have applied to return to their native countries to serve the remaining term of a sentence handed down in Switzerland.

Mutual Assistance Units I and II

Where no direct business dealings are possible, the Mutual Assistance Units I and II forward Swiss applications for mutual assistance to the relevant foreign authorities and examine whether mutual assistance requests from abroad meet legal requirements in Switzerland. If necessary, it will ask the requesting authority to emend its application or provide further information. If the request meets the legal requirements and if mutual assistance is not obviously inadmissible, the Units will forward the request to the competent cantonal or federal authority for execution. If several cantons are involved, the lead canton does not make a decision within the appropriate time, or the case is complex or of particular importance, the Units may execute the mutual assistance request of their own accord.

The Mutual Assistance Unit I deals primarily with requests concerning the seizure and handover of assets. In cases of urgency, the Unit can impose precautionary measures ‒ such as the freezing of accounts ‒ as soon as it receives notification of a request for mutual assistance by a foreign authority. It is also responsible for dealing with mutual assistance requests concerning Politically Exposed Persons (PEP). Further, the Unit negotiates agreements with other states on sharing seized assets and is responsible for such cases at national level. In addition, it processes cases relating to the spontaneous transmission of evidence and the service of documents to foreign prosecuting authorities. The Unit also deals with proceedings in connection with the International Criminal Court and the international tribunals, and performs in particular cross-sectional tasks.

The Mutual Assistance Unit II comprises two special central offices responsible for cooperation with the USA and Italy, and for all mutual assistance procedures regarding these two countries. In addition, Unit II is in charge of all requests for notification.

Both Units monitor the application of the Mutual Assistance Act and may, in their capacity as supervisory body, submit an appeal to the Federal Criminal Court or Federal Supreme Court against a decision made by an executing body.

International Treaties Unit

The main task of this Unit is to expand Switzerland's network of treaties around the world to strengthen international relations in the fight against cross-border crime. It examines the draft treaties submitted to Switzerland or draws up its own state treaty drafts. It is also responsible for drafting other instruments under international law, such as exchanges of notes or political memoranda of understanding. In addition, it participates in the drafting of multilateral mutual assistance instruments and criminal law conventions containing provisions on mutual assistance, in particular in the context of the Council of Europe and the UN. The Unit is also responsible for legislative projects relating to international cooperation in criminal matters.

Liaison Prosecutors Office

Switzerland has had a liaison prosecutor at Eurojust since 2015. Eurojust is an EU institution whose tasks include improving the coordination of investigations and prosecutions between the competent authorities of the Member States, and enhancing cooperation between the Member States in relation to the execution of international legal assistance and extradition requests. The Swiss liaison prosecutor represents Switzerland’s interests within Eurojust, and fosters relations between Eurojust and Swiss prosecuting authorities. The liaison prosecutor also assists Swiss prosecuting authorities in criminal investigations of a transnational nature and mediates between the competent authorities of the countries concerned.

Note

For the complete documentation see the pages in German, French or Italian.

to the top Last modification 01.02.2014

Contact

Federal Office of Justice
International Legal Assistance Division
Bundesrain 20
CH-3003 Bern
T
+41 58 462 11 20
Fax
+41 58 462 53 80
Contact

Domaine de direction Entraide judiciaire internationale



Unité Extraditions

L’unité Extraditions examine les demandes d’arrestation provisoire aux fins d’extradition émanant d’autorités étrangères et, le cas échéant, décerne un mandat d’arrêt à l’encontre des personnes recherchées. Si, après son arrestation, la personne poursuivie se déclare d’accord d’être extradée, l’extradition est exécutée selon une procédure simplifiée. Si, en revanche, la personne poursuivie s’oppose à son extradition, l’OFJ décerne un mandat d’arrêt aux fins d’extradition. Après avoir examiné la demande émanant de l’autorité étrangère, il arrête la décision d’extradition, décision qui est sujette à recours devant le Tribunal pénal fédéral; dans des cas particulièrement importants, le prononcé de ce dernier peut être déféré au Tribunal fédéral. A la requête des autorités suisses de poursuites pénales et d’exécution des peines et des mesures, l’unité Extraditions diffuse, le plus souvent par le canal d’Interpol, les avis de recherche contre les personnes réclamées en Suisse et adresse les demandes d’extradition nécessaires aux autorités étrangères.

L’unité réceptionne en outre les requêtes tendant à la délégation de la poursuite pénale qui émanent d’autorités étrangères et les transmet aux autorités suisses de poursuite pénale compétentes; inversement, à la demande des autorités suisses de poursuite pénale, il saisit les autorités étrangères de telles requêtes. Par ailleurs, de concert avec les autorités cantonales responsables, elle statue sur les demandes de transfèrement présentées par des ressortissants suisses condamnés à l’’étranger qui souhaitent rentrer en Suisse pour y purger le solde de leur peine de même que par des ressortissant étrangers condamnés en Suisse et désireux de purger le solde de leur peine dans leur pays d’origine.

Unités Entraide judiciaire I et II

Les unités Entraide judiciaire I et II transmettent aux autorités étrangères les demandes d’entraide judiciaire émanant d’autorités suisses dans la mesure où ces autorités ne sont pas habilitées à communiquer directement entre elles. Elles examinent également si les demandes d’entraide judiciaire émanant de l’étranger satisfont aux exigences légales. Au besoin, elles invitent l’autorité étrangère requérante à amender ou à compléter sa demande. Si la demande satisfait aux exigences légales et si l’octroi de l’entraide n’est manifestement pas inadmissible, elles transmettent la demande pour exécution à l’autorité judiciaire cantonale compétente ou, selon le cas, à l’autorité fédérale. Lorsque la demande concerne plusieurs cantons, que le canton compétent ne statue pas dans un délai utile ou encore que le cas est complexe ou d’une ampleur particulière, elles peuvent se charger elles-mêmes de l’exécution de la demande.

L’unité Entraide judiciaire I se charge principalement des demandes d’entraide judiciaire qui ont pour objet la saisie et la remise de valeurs patrimoniales. Lorsqu’il y a urgence, elle peut ordonner des mesures provisionnelles (par exemple, le blocage de comptes bancaires) dès qu’elle apprend qu’elle sera saisie d’une demande. Elle est également responsable des demandes d’entraide judiciaire concernant des personnes exposées politiquement (PEP). Elle mène avec d’autres Etats des négociations en vue de la conclusion de conventions internationales portant sur le partage des valeurs patrimoniales confisquées (sharing) ; les cas nationaux de sharing relèvent également de sa compétence. Elle traite les cas dans lesquels il s’agit d’assurer la transmission spontanée de moyens de preuve et d’informations à une autorité étrangère de poursuite pénale. Enfin, elle mène des procédures en faveur du Tribunal pénal international et d’autres tribunaux internationaux et exécute des tâches communes aux deux unités.

L’unité Entraide judiciaire II réunit deux autorités centrales, compétentes pour la coopération avec les Etats-Unis et l’Italie. Elle se charge de toutes les procédures d’entraide judiciaire qui concernent ces deux pays. Enfin, elle traite toutes les demandes de notification.

Les deux unités fonctionnent comme autorité de surveillance de l’application de la loi sur l’entraide pénale internationale; à ce titre, elles peuvent former des recours devant le Tribunal pénal fédéral puis devant le Tribunal fédéral contre les décisions des autorités d’exécution.

Unité Traités internationaux

La mission principale de cette unité est d’assurer l’extension du réseau des accords conclus par la Suisse avec des Etats du monde entier, aux fins de renforcer la coopération internationale en matière de lutte contre la criminalité transfrontalière. L’unité examine les projets de traités qui sont soumis à la Suisse par des Etats étrangers et élabore ceux que la Suisse soumet de son côté à ses partenaires étrangers. Elle est également compétente pour l’élaboration d’autres instruments internationaux tels que les échanges de notes ou les déclarations politiques d’intention (memoranda of understanding). Elle participe, notamment au sein du Conseil de l’Europe et de l’ONU, à l’élaboration d’instruments multilatéraux portant sur l’entraide judiciaire et de conventions pénales comprenant des dispositions relatives à l’entraide judiciaire. Enfin, l’unité est responsable de l’élaboration de projets législatifs concernant la coopération internationale en matière pénale.

Bureau de la procureure de liaison de la Suisse

La Suisse a une procureure de liaison auprès d’Eurojust depuis 2015. Eurojust est une agence de l’Union européenne qui a pour tâches de promouvoir la coordination des enquêtes et de la poursuite pénale entre les Etats membres et de faciliter l’entraide judiciaire internationale et l’exécution des extraditions. La mission de la procureure de liaison consiste à représenter les intérêts de la Suisse et à entretenir les relations entre l’agence et les autorités suisses de poursuite pénale. La procureure doit en outre accorder son soutien aux autorités suisses dans les enquêtes pénales transfrontalières et assurer le contact entre elles et les autorités étrangères.

Thèmes

vers le haut Dernière modification 01.02.2014

Contact

Office fédéral de la justice
Domaine de direction Entraide judiciaire internationale
Bundesrain 20
CH-3003 Berne
T
+41 58 462 11 20
Fax
+41 58 462 53 80
Contact