Academic enquiry

The academic enquiry on compulsory measures and placements is a central pillar of the entire review process. In particular, its findings should support an understanding of how and why compulsory measures and placements were ordered and carried out. It should also examine the impact on the victims and their families at the time, and the continuing effects today.

The work of the Independent Expert Commission on Administrative Detention (IEC) and the National Research Programme (NRP) is intended to be mutually complementary, with content coordinated so as to provide a comprehensive picture of the various compulsory social measures and placements. A key element in the work is to consider the relevance of past events to present-day practices.

The role of the Federal Office of Justice in the academic enquiry is limited to certain coordination tasks and dissemination of the results (see Art. 15 para. 4). 

Independent Expert Commission (IEC)

The mission of the Independent Expert Commission (IEC) is to analyse, document and communicate administrative detention in Switzerland up to 1981. The IEC website provides updates on the Commission’s research work. This is currently in its final stages. The IEC’s final report is due to be published in the autumn of 2019.

You will find further information on the work of the IEC at:

NRP 76 - Welfare and Coercion - Past, Present and Future

In February 2017, the Federal Council commissioned the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) to carry out a new national research programme entitled ‘Welfare and Coercion – Past, Present and Future’ (NRP 76). This NRP will conduct a comprehensive investigation into the issue, taking a multi-disciplinary approach.

For further information, please visit the NRP 76 website or contact NRP 76 Programme Manager Dr. Stephanie Schönholzer.

Other research projects funded by the cantons, churches, etc.

Examples : Rathausen – LU ; Fischingen – TG ; Münsterlingen – TG ; Bätzi – SG; Burghölzli – ZH ; Institut Marini – FR

For further information, please contact the CSMP Unit office.

Individuals who have been victims of sexual abuse associated with the Catholic Church can contact:

to the top Last modification 14.01.2019

Etude scientifique

L’étude scientifique sur les mesures de coercition à des fins d’assistance et des placements extrafamiliaux est l’un des piliers du traitement de cette problématique. Les conclusions tirées de l’étude scientifique contribueront à faire comprendre pourquoi et comment les mesures ont été ordonnées et mises en œuvre, et quelles conséquences elles ont eues sur les personnes concernées et leur entourage.

Les travaux de la CIE et du PNR sont coordonnés sur le plan du contenu, afin qu'il soit possible de brosser un tableau aussi détaillé que possible de l'univers des mesures de coercition à des fins d'assistance et des placements extrafamiliaux. Les répercussions de ces mesures sur la vie actuelle des victimes feront partie intégrante de l'étude.

L'Office fédéral de la justice n'assume que des fonctions de coordination et de soutien en rapport avec l'étude scientifique (cf. art. 15, al. 4).

Commission indépendante d’experts internements administratifs (CIE)

La commission interdépendante d’experts (CIE) étudie les internements administratifs en Suisse et fourni des informations sur les résultats des recherches. Le site internet de la CIE explique chaque étape de ses recherches. Les conclusions de la recherche sont en cours d’élaboration. Le rapport final de la CIE sera publié en automne 2019.

Plus amples informations sur son travail :

PNR 76 - Assistance et coercition : passé, présent et avenir

Le Fonds national suisse a reçu en février 2017 le mandat de la part du Conseil fédéral de mettre en oeuvre un nouveau programme national de recherche sur le sujet "Assistance et coercition : passé, présent et avenir" (PNR 76) pour étudier la thématique dans son ensemble à travers une approche interdisciplinaire.

Pour de plus amples informations sur le travail du PNR 76, veuillez-vous rendre sur son site internet ou contacter la responsable du programme, Dr. Stephanie Schönholzer.

Autres projets de recherche financés par les cantons, l’Eglise, etc.

Exemples : Rathausen – LU ; Fischingen – TG ; Münsterlingen – TG ; Bätzi – SG; Burghölzli – ZH ; Institut Marini – FR

Pour de plus amples informations, veuillez contacter le secrétariat de l’unité MCFA 

Les personnes victimes d’abus sexuels dans le contexte ecclésial peuvent s’adresser aux personnes suivantes :

vers le haut Dernière modification 07.01.2019