Federal, cantonal, communal and private archives

There is a significant volume of records in the archives of the federal government, cantons and communes, as well as in private archives, which document social measures and placements prior to 1981 for generations to come. The CSMPA requires all archives to preserve any documents containing details of victims or persons affected by compulsory social measures or placements.

The archives must ensure that anyone with a legitimate interest is allowed access to their files and given a proper opportunity to read them in a simple and cost-free procedure. This right is given in the first place to the victims and persons affected or, if they are no longer alive, to their family members. People engaged in the academic enquiry into the issue may also inspect these files.

The CSMPA also requires the archives to help victims, persons affected and their family members with their search for records. These people can contact the archives directly at any time. Alternatively, they can contact their local cantonal contact point, which will provide support and coordinate the search if need be.

You will find the addresses below:

You will also find useful information on searching for documents in the guide issued by the Guido Fluri Foundation:

to the top Last modification 27.05.2019

Archives fédérales, cantonales, communales et privées

Les archives fédérales, cantonales, communales et privées renferment de nombreux documents qui permettent de reconstituer l'univers des mesures de coercition et des placements extrafamiliaux antérieurs à 1981. La LMCFA prescrit à toutes les archives de conserver les documents comportant des indications relatives aux victimes ou autres personnes concernées.

Les archives doivent veiller à ce que toutes les personnes qui ont un intérêt légitime puissent accéder simplement et gratuitement aux dossiers et les consulter dans leur intégralité. Ces personnes sont principalement les victimes et les personnes concernées et, après leur décès, leurs proches, mais aussi celles qui étudient le sujet à des fins scientifiques.

La LMCFA charge les archives d'aider les victimes, les personnes concernées et leurs proches à retrouver les dossiers de l'époque. Ces personnes peuvent s'adresser directement aux archives ou, si elles ont besoin de soutien et d'une coordination éventuelle, à un point de contact cantonal.

Les interlocuteurs à contacter sont les suivants:

Des informations utiles concernant les demandes d’"accès aux documents", c’est-à-dire les droits et obligations des personnes concernées, autorités, organes officielles et autres institutions sont disponibles dans le document suivant :

Le guide pour la recherche de dossiers édité par la Fondation Guido Fluri comporte lui aussi nombre d'informations utiles:

vers le haut Dernière modification 16.10.2017