Private Law Division



Civil Law and Law of Civil Procedure Unit

The Civil Law and Civil Procedure Unit prepares legislation in the fields of civil law, civil procedure, and debt enforcement and bankruptcy law. The unit is also responsible for private law, family law and inheritance law, as well as contract law and non-contractual civil liability matters. In addition to its legislative work, the Unit also prepares reports and opinions for the Federal Council, provides legal information to the Administration and the cantons, and works on a variety of other projects. The Unit is also responsible for overseeing the Consumer Credit Information Office.

Private International Law Unit

The Private International Law Unit is responsible for legislation on private international law and international civil procedure law (PILA, international treaties and implementing provisions).

It represents Switzerland in international organisations that prepare international treaties and model laws and at international conferences on the practical application and development of existing agreements. These include the Hague Conference on Private International Law, UNCITRAL (UN Commission on International Trade Law), UNIDROIT (International Institute for the Unification of Private Law) and the Standing Committee for the Lugano Convention.

The Private International Law Unit is also involved in applying the law. It is the Swiss Confederation’s Central Authority for matters relating to international child and adult protection, for international child abduction cases, for international adoptions and for international maintenance matters. It also advises other public authorities on international inheritance matters and, together with the International Legal Assistance Division, is responsible for international mutual assistance in civil matters.

Federal Civil Status Office

The Federal Civil Status Office (FCSO) exercises oversight in matters of civil status. It draws up the federal legislation and deals with parliamentary proposals in this field. It oversees the cantonal civil status supervisory authorities and ensures that the law is applied consistently throughout Switzerland, issuing directives to the cantons and to Swiss representations abroad. It also brings appeals in the cantonal courts and the Federal Supreme Court against decisions made by civil status authorities. In addition, the FCSO maintains the Swiss register of data on sperm donors and provides information to persons conceived in Switzerland after 1 January 2001 through sperm donation.

Infostar Unit

The Infostar Unit is responsible for operating and developing the electronic civil register (Infostar).

The Unit's specific remit includes ensuring the reliable running of the Infostar database, advising and supporting cantonal supervisory authorities on questions and problems relating to Infostar, handling complex questions about the new system of OASI (social security) numbers, modifying and developing software in connection with legislative projects, and developing new IT projects.

Federal Office for Land Registry and Real Estate Law

The Federal Office for Land Registry and Real Estate Law (FOLR) is responsible for the legislation on land registration and real estate law and oversees the land and ship registers. Issues relating to private law certification procedures also fall within its remit.

The FOLR is also responsible for legislative projects relating to the purchase of real estate by people who are not resident in Switzerland (Lex Koller). As the authority with the right to appeal, it reviews cantonal rulings on the acquisition of real estate by persons resident abroad and, where appropriate, files appeals with the cantonal appeals bodies or the Federal Supreme Court.

Federal Commercial Registry Office

The Federal Commercial Registry Office (FCRO) oversees the keeping of Switzerland’s cantonal commercial registers. It ensures that the federal law is applied correctly and consistently by the cantonal authorities, primarily by issuing directives on commercial registry law and the law on business names, and by ensuring that cantonal register entries comply with the law. In addition, FCRO keeps a central register of all the legal entities that are recorded in the cantonal commercial registers. The central register is used in enquiries to establish whether a business name is identical or similar to one already registered. These name searches can be requested by post or online (www.regix.ch). The central register and the cantonal commercial registers together form the primary authoritative database for registered business identification numbers (BINA). The public data in the central register is accessible online via the Zefix internet database (www.zefix.ch). Zefix can be used to search for the address of any legal entity in Switzerland. The FCRO is also responsible for legislative projects in the field of company law.

Note

For the complete documentation see the pages in German, French or Italian.

to the top Last modification 18.03.2019

Contact

Federal Office of Justice
Private Law Division
Bundesrain 20
CH-3003 Bern
T
+41 58 462 41 82
Fax
+41 58 462 78 79
Contact

Direktionsbereich Privatrecht



Fachbereich Zivilrecht und Zivilprozessrecht

Der Fachbereich Zivilrecht und Zivilprozessrecht (ZZ) erarbeitet Erlasse im Zivilrecht sowie im Zivilprozessrecht und im Schuldbetreibungs- und Konkursrecht. In die Zuständigkeit des Fachbereichs fällt damit das Personen-, Familien- und Erbrecht sowie das Vertragsrecht und das ausservertragliche Haftpflichtrecht. Neben der eigentlichen Gesetzgebungsarbeit bereitet der Fachbereich auch Berichte und Stellungnahmen für den Bundesrat vor, erteilt Rechtsauskünfte an die Verwaltung und die Kantone und arbeitet an diversen Projekten mit. Schliesslich übt der Fachbereich die Aufsicht über die Informationsstelle für Konsumkredit (IKO) aus.

Fachbereich Internationales Privatrecht

Der Fachbereich Internationales Privatrecht (IPR) ist für die Gesetzgebung im internationalen Privat- und Zivilverfahrensrecht zuständig (IPRG, Staatsverträge und Umsetzungsvorschriften).

Er vertritt die Schweiz in internationalen Organisationen zur Erarbeitung von Staatsverträgen und Modell-Gesetzen sowie in internationalen Konferenzen über die praktische Anwendung und Weiterentwicklung von bestehenden Übereinkommen. Dazu gehören die Haager Konferenz für internationales Privatrecht, die UNCITRAL (UNO-Kommission für internationales Handelsrecht), UNIDROIT (Institut international pour l'unification du droit privé) sowie der Ständige Ausschuss des Lugano-Übereinkommens.

Der Fachbereich Internationales Privatrecht ist auch im Bereich der Rechtsanwendung tätig. Er ist Zentralbehörde des Bundes für den internationalen Kindes- und Erwachsenenschutz, für internationale Kindesentführungen, für internationale Adoptionen sowie für internationale Alimentensachen. Er berät zudem Behörden in internationalen Erbschaftsfragen und ist, zusammen mit dem Direktionsbereich Rechtshilfe, für Fragen im Bereich der internationalen Rechtshilfe in Zivilsachen zuständig.

Eidgenössisches Amt für das Zivilstandswesen

Das Eidgenössische Amt für das Zivilstandswesen (EAZW) übt die Oberaufsicht im Zivilstandswesen aus. Es bereitet die Gesetzgebung des Bundes vor und behandelt parlamentarische Vorstösse in diesem Bereich. Es inspiziert die kantonalen Aufsichtsbehörden im Zivilstandswesen und stellt einen schweizweit einheitlichen Vollzug sicher. Zu diesem Zweck erlässt es Weisungen an die Kantone und die schweizerischen Vertretungen im Ausland. Weiter führt es Beschwerden gegen Entscheide der Zivilstandsbehörden vor kantonalen Instanzen und dem Bundesgericht. Es führt überdies das schweizerische Spenderdatenregister zur Aufbewahrung der Samenspenderdaten und erteilt daraus Auskünfte an Personen, die durch eine in der Schweiz nach dem 1. Januar 2001 verwendete Samenspende gezeugt worden sind.

Fachbereich Infostar

Der Fachbereich Infostar (FIS) ist verantwortlich für Betrieb und Weiterentwicklung des elektronischen Personenstandsregisters (Infostar).

Dem Fachbereich obliegt namentlich die Sicherheit des Betriebes von Infostar, die Beratung und Unterstützung der kantonalen Aufsichtsbehörden bei Fragen und Problemen im Zusammenhang mit Infostar, die Regelung von komplexen Fragen im Zusammenhang mit der AHV-Nummer, Anpassungen und Entwicklungen der Software in Verbindung mit Rechtsetzungsprojekten sowie die Entwicklung neuer Informatik-Projekte.

Eidgenössisches Amt für Grundbuch- und Bodenrecht

Das Eidgenössische Amt für Grundbuch- und Bodenrecht (EGBA) betreut die Gesetzgebung in den Bereichen Grundbuch- und Immobiliarsachenrecht und übt die Oberaufsicht über das Grundbuch und das Schiffsregister aus. In seine Zuständigkeit fallen auch Fragen rund um das privatrechtliche Beurkundungsverfahren.

Das EGBA ist ferner federführend bei Gesetzgebungsgeschäften im Bereich des Grundstückerwerbs durch Personen im Ausland (Lex Koller). Es prüft als beschwerdeberechtigte Behörde die kantonalen Entscheide über den Erwerb von Grundstücken durch Personen im Ausland und führt nötigenfalls Beschwerde vor kantonalen Instanzen und dem Bundesgericht.

Eidgenössisches Amt für das Handelsregister

Das Eidgenössische Amt für das Handelsregister (EHRA) übt die Oberaufsicht über die Handelsregisterführung durch die kantonalen Handelsregister aus. Es sorgt für die einheitliche und korrekte Anwendung des Bundesrechts durch die kantonalen Behörden – insbesondere durch den Erlass von Weisungen im Bereich des Handelsregister- und des Firmenrechts – sowie die Rechtmässigkeit der kantonalen Eintragungen. Des Weiteren betreibt das EHRA ein Zentralregister sämtlicher Rechtseinheiten, die in den Handelsregistern der Kantone eingetragen sind. Auf der Grundlage des Zentralregisters werden Abklärungen hinsichtlich von bereits eingetragenen identischen oder ähnlichen Firmen und Namen durchgeführt. Diese sogenannten Firmenrechercheaufträge können postalisch oder elektronisch (www.regix.ch) in Auftrag gegeben werden. Das Zentralregister bildet zusammen mit den kantonalen Handelsregistern die oberste massgebende Datenbasis des Registers der Unternehmens-Identifikationsnummern (UID). Die öffentlichen Daten des Zentralregisters sind im elektronischen Abrufverfahren über die Internetdatenbank Zefix (www.zefix.ch) für Einzelabfragen unentgeltlich zugänglich. Das Zefix ermöglicht eine schweizweite Suche zur Feststellung des Sitzes einer Rechtseinheit. Das EHRA ist ferner federführend bei Gesetzgebungsgeschäften im Bereich des Gesellschaftsrechts.

nach oben Letzte Änderung 18.03.2019

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Justiz
Direktionsbereich Privatrecht
Bundesrain 20
CH-3003 Bern
T
+41 58 462 41 82
Fax
+41 58 462 78 79
Kontakt