Public Law Division



Appeals to the Federal Council

Appeals may be lodged with the Federal Council on matters of domestic and international security, as well as foreign policy. To the extent that the Federal Council is simultaneously a supervisory authority, it also handles complaints relating to supervision (see Arts. 72 to 74 of the Federal Administrative Procedure Act (Verwaltungsverfahrensgesetz); SR 172.021). The Public Law Division manages the appeal process and makes a recommendation to the Federal Department of Justice and Police (FDJP) on how the matter should be resolved. This is then passed on to the Federal Council. An exception is made in the case of complaints against the FDJP, which are handled by the Federal Department of Finance (FDF).

Legislation Projects Units I and II

Legislation Projects Units I and II are responsible for preparing public law enactments for which the FJDP is in overall charge. These are laws related to the functioning of state institutions, federalism and democracy; to the implementation of fundamental rights and, in general, to all matters that do not fall within the remit of any other department or area of management. Projects involve all legislative levels (Constitution, acts, ordinances). In addition, the two units help to improve the drafting and evaluation of legislation within the administration. They organise the legislation course and the legislation forum and develop legislative drafting tools for the administration (e.g. the guide on legislative drafting).

Legislation Projects Unit I mainly deals with legislation projects relating to the protection of personal data, equality (in particular the equal treatment of men and women), artificial intelligence, transparency in the administration, transparency of political party funding, federalism, relations between the Confederation and the cantons, and regional autonomy. It also drafts dispatches guaranteeing cantonal constitutions and legislation on issues related to religion within the jurisdiction of the Confederation. It is the Confederation’s point of contact for matters relating to religious freedom and ensures coordination between the federal services in this area.

Legislation Projects Unit II mainly deals with legislation projects relating to gambling, victim support and the law governing the legal profession. It also carries out oversight tasks in these areas. Furthermore, it deals with legislation on private security services provided abroad and with issues relating to administrative procedure, such as administrative penalties, and to in-house lawyers.

Other issues can be assigned to either of the two units (e.g. government reform, political rights, organisation of the judiciary, etc.).

Legislation Units I and II

Legislation Units I and II are charged with essentially the same tasks, i.e. supervising the legislative projects of other agencies and offices. This means that the legal merits of everything that is to be set down in rules of law at the federal level (articles of the constitution, provisions of primary and secondary legislation) must be reviewed by these Units. Among the points examined are: Does the decree have a sufficient legal basis? Is it in accordance with fundamental rights and constitutional principles? Is it appropriate within the legal environment? Is it logically structured and worded in an understandable manner? Does it possess inherent inconsistencies or does it contradict existing law? Does it contain superfluous provisions?

Both Units work closely with the Federal Chancellery (Legal Service and Language Services) when it comes to legislative and editorial aspects. Both are also members of the government's internal Editorial Commission.

In addition to overseeing legislative projects, Legislation Units I and II are also commissioned to draft advisory opinions on constitutional and administrative law issues. Generally speaking, they examine the legal merits of matters to be submitted to the Federal Council. In so doing, they function as the central legal service to the Federal Council and Federal Administration. In some cases they are also involved in the treatment of legislative issues in parliamentary commissions.

Legislation Units I and II differ only in term of their "clientele": Unit I is primarily responsible for tasks assigned to it by the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA), the Federal Department of Home Affairs (FDHA), the Federal Department of Defence, Civil Protection and Sports (DDPS) and various units of the Federal Department of Justice and Police (FDJP) (particularly police matters, laws pertaining to aliens, asylum law and regional planning) and the Federal Chancellery (e.g. governmental and administrative organization). Unit II is mainly responsible for tasks assigned to it by the Federal Department of Finance (FDF), the Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research (EAER), the Federal Department of the Environment, Transport, Energy and Communications (DETEC), various units of the FDJP (particularly laws relating to industry and the economy) and the Federal Chancellery (e.g. political rights).

International Human Rights Unit

The International Human Rights Unit deals with legal questions on human rights both at international level (Council of Europe, United Nations) and at national level (incorporating human rights protection instruments into national law). Its tasks include compiling and submitting Switzerland’s periodic reports on the UN Pact II (the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights), and assisting in compiling and presenting reports on other international human rights agreements by the respective lead agency. The unit also plays a part in international organisations‘ committees of experts on human rights issues, especially Council of Europe committees, in preparing the conferences of the European ministers of justice for the head of the Federal Department of Justice and Police, and in supporting the work of the Swiss Centre of Expertise in Human Rights (SCHR).

The head of unit represents Switzerland at the European Court of Human Rights (ECHR), on the UN Committee against Torture (CAT), on the UN Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW), and on the UN Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination (CERD).

European Law and Schengen/Dublin Co-ordination Unit

The European Law and Schengen/Dublin Co-ordination Unit deals with legal questions concerning European integration. For example, the unit examines the Federal Council’s draft legislation and ordinances for their compatibility with bilateral agreements and European law, it compiles legal assessments and it participates in drafting federal legislation and parts of the Federal Council‘s messages dealing with bilateral agreements and European law. The unit is also involved in negotiations with the European Union and in federal working groups that support negotiations. In doing so, it collaborates closely with the competent federal agencies, with the directorates of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs responsible for European policy and law, and with the cantonal authorities.

On behalf of the FDJP the unit performs a co-ordination function within and between federal departments. It deals with issues concerning the evolvement, incorporation and implementation of Schengen and Dublin/Eurodac further developments, providing support in this area to the competent federal agencies. The unit also works together with other federal agencies in compiling Switzerland‘s responses in preliminary ruling procedures before the Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU) on the interpretation of Schengen and Dublin law.

Compulsory Social Measures Unit

Switzerland currently processing a bleak period in its social history: the treatment suffered by children and young people as a result of compulsory social measures and forced placements outside their families prior to 1981. The Federal Act on Compulsory Social Measures and Placements prior to 1981 (CSMPA) entered into force on 1 April 2017. It forms the legal basis for reparations to be paid to the victims of these measures. In recognition of the injustice that they suffered, and as an expression of social solidarity, victims are entitled to a solidarity payment of CHF 25 000. Individuals who believe that they qualify under the law as victims of compulsory social measures and placements were able to apply to the Unit for a solidarity payment between November 2016 and the end of March 2018. The Unit reviewed over 9000 applications, deciding whether or not the applicant was entitled to receive reparations. In reviewing the applications, the Unit was supported by an advisory committee which included individuals who themselves were victims. The application processing procedure was completed by the end of 2019 (with the exception of a number of individual cases for which records searches or appeals are still pending), a year earlier than provided for in the law. Furthermore, there are currently efforts in Parliament to either extend or lift the deadline for further application submissions entirely.

The Unit also takes on a coordinating and supporting role in connection with the detailed academic analysis of the compulsory social measures and placements which took place in Switzerland, and in particular is supporting self-help projects for victims and others who have been affected.

Note

For the complete documentation see the pages in German, French or Italian.

to the top Last modification 13.01.2014

Contact

Federal Office of Justice
Public Law Division
Bundesrain 20
CH-3003 Bern
T
+41 58 462 41 37
Fax
+41 58 462 78 79
Contact

Direktionsbereich Öffentliches Recht



Beschwerden an den Bundesrat

In Fragen der inneren und äusseren Sicherheit sowie der auswärtigen Angelegenheiten kann beim Bundesrat Beschwerde erhoben werden. Soweit der Bundesrat Aufsichtsbehörde ist, behandelt er ferner Aufsichtsbeschwerden (siehe Art. 72 bis 74 VwVG; SR 172.021). Der Direktionsbereich Öffentliches Recht leitet das Beschwerdeverfahren und stellt dem Eidg. Justiz- und Polizeidepartement (EJPD) zuhanden des Bundesrates Antrag über die Erledigung der Beschwerde. Ausgenommen sind Beschwerden gegen das EJPD, die das Eidg. Finanzdepartement (EFD) bearbeitet.

Fachbereich Rechtsetzungsprojekte I und II

Die Fachbereiche Rechtsetzungsprojekte I und II bereiten Erlasse des öffentlichen Rechts vor, für die das EJPD federführend ist. Dabei handelt es sich um Erlasse über die Funktionsweise der staatlichen Institutionen, den Föderalismus und die Demokratie, über die Umsetzung der Grundrechte und allgemein über sämtliche Themen, die nicht in die Zuständigkeit eines anderen Departements oder Direktionsbereichs fallen. Die Projekte sind auf allen Normstufen (Verfassung, Gesetz, Verordnung) angesiedelt. Darüber hinaus tragen die beiden Fachbereiche zur Förderung der Legistik und der Gesetzesevaluation in der Bundesverwaltung bei. Sie organisieren den Gesetzgebungskurs sowie das Forum für Rechtsetzung und erarbeiten Gesetzgebungsinstrumente für die Verwaltung (Gesetzgebungsleitfaden).

Der Fachbereich Rechtsetzungsprojekte I befasst sich insbesondere mit Rechtsetzungsprojekten in Zusammenhang mit dem Schutz von Personendaten, der Gleichstellung (namentlich der Gleichstellung von Frau und Mann), der künstlichen Intelligenz, dem Öffentlichkeitsprinzip in der Verwaltung, der Transparenz der Parteienfinanzierung, dem Föderalismus und dem Verhältnis zwischen Bund und Kantonen sowie der Autonomie der Regionen. Er verfasst ferner die Botschaften zur Gewährleistung der Kantonsverfassungen und erlässt im Rahmen der Kompetenzen des Bundes Vorschriften zu Religionsthemen. Er ist Anlaufstelle des Bundes für Fragen mit Bezug zur Religionsfreiheit und gewährleistet in diesem Bereich die Koordination zwischen den Bundesstellen.

Der Fachbereich Rechtsetzungsprojekte II befasst sich mit Rechtsetzungsprojekten in Zusammenhang mit den Geldspielen, der Opferhilfe und dem Anwaltsgesetz. In diesen Bereichen nimmt er zudem die Oberaufsicht wahr. Er ist des Weiteren zuständig für die Gesetzgebung über die im Ausland erbrachten privaten Sicherheitsdienstleistungen und Themen in Verbindung mit dem Verwaltungsverfahren wie den Verwaltungssanktionen sowie den Unternehmensjuristinnen und -juristen.

Weitere Themen können dem einen oder anderen Fachbereich zugeteilt werden (z. B. Regierungsreform, politische Rechte, Rechtspflege usw.).

Fachbereiche Rechtsetzungsbegleitung I und II

Die Fachbereiche Rechtsetzungsbegleitung I und II haben im Wesentlichen den gleichen Auftrag: "Begleitung" der Rechtsetzungsprojekte anderer Ämter und Dienststellen. Das heisst: alles, was im Bund in Rechtssätze (Verfassungsartikel, Gesetzes- oder Verordnungsbestimmungen) gegossen werden soll, muss von diesen Fachbereichen namentlich unter rechtlichen Gesichtspunkten geprüft werden. Zu prüfen sind etwa die folgenden Fragen: Hat ein Erlass eine genügende Rechtsgrundlage? Ist er mit den Grundrechten und mit den Verfassungsgrundsätzen sowie mit dem internationalen Recht vereinbar? Passt er ins rechtliche Umfeld? Ist er logisch aufgebaut und verständlich formuliert? Birgt er keine inneren Widersprüche oder Widersprüche zu bestehendem Recht? Enthält er überflüssige Normen?

Was die gesetzestechnischen und redaktionellen Aspekte anbelangt, arbeiten die beiden Fachbereiche eng mit der Bundeskanzlei (Rechtsdienst und Sprachdienste) zusammen. Sie wirken in der verwaltungsinternen Redaktionskommission mit.

Neben der eigentlichen Rechtsetzungsbegleitung werden die Fachbereiche Rechtsetzungsbegleitung I und II auch mit der Erstattung von Rechtsgutachten zu staats- und verwaltungsrechtlichen Problemen beauftragt. Sie prüfen generell die Geschäfte, die dem Bundesrat unterbreitet werden aus rechtlicher Sicht. Sie sind somit gewissermassen der zentrale Rechtsdienst des Bundesrates und der Bundesverwaltung. In manchen Fällen wirken sie auch bei der Behandlung von Rechtsetzungsgeschäften in parlamentarischen Kommissionen mit.

Die beiden Fachbereiche unterscheiden sich lediglich in ihrem "Kundenkreis": Der Fachbereich I betreut hauptsächlich die Geschäfte aus dem Eidg. Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten (EDA), aus dem Eidg. Departement des Innern (EDI), aus dem Eidg. Departement für Verteidigung, Bevölkerungsschutz und Sport (VBS) sowie aus Teilbereichen des EJPD (insb. Polizeibereich, Ausländerrecht, Asylrecht, Raumplanung) und der Bundeskanzlei (z. B. Regierungs- und Verwaltungsorganisation). Der Fachbereich II betreut hauptsächlich die Geschäfte aus dem Eidg. Finanzdepartement (EFD), dem Eidgenössischen Departement für Wirtschaft, Bildung und Forschung (WBF) und dem Eidg. Departement für Umwelt, Verkehr, Energie und Kommunikation (UVEK) sowie aus Teilbereichen des EJPD (insb. wirtschaftsrelevante Regelungen) und der Bundeskanzlei (z. B. politische Rechte).

Fachbereich Internationaler Menschenrechtsschutz

Der Fachbereich behandelt juristische Fragestellungen aus dem Bereich des internationalen Menschenrechtsschutzes, auf internationaler Ebene im Rahmen des Europarats und der Vereinten Nationen, auf nationaler Ebene im Rahmen der Umsetzung internationaler Menschenrechtsinstrumente im schweizerischen Recht. Zu seinen Aufgaben gehören insbesondere die Ausarbeitung und Präsentation der periodischen Berichte der Schweiz zum UN-Pakt II, die Unterstützung bei der Ausarbeitung und Präsentation von Berichten zu anderen internationalen Menschenrechtsabkommen durch die jeweils federführenden Amtsstellen, die Mitwirkung in Expertenausschüssen internationaler Organisationen - insbesondere des Europarats - auf den Gebieten der Menschenrechte, die Vorbereitung der Konferenzen der europäischen Justizminister für die Departementsführung sowie die Begleitung der Arbeiten des Schweizerischen Kompetenzzentrums für Menschenrechte (SKMR).

Der Leiter des Fachbereichs ist gleichzeitig der Vertreter der Schweizer Regierung (Agent du Gouvernement suisse) vor dem Europäischen Gerichtshof für Menschenrechte (EGMR), dem UN-Ausschuss zur Verhütung der Folter (Committee Against Torture, CAT), dem UN-Ausschuss für die Beseitigung der Diskriminierung der Frau (Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women, CEDAW) sowie dem UN-Ausschuss für die Beseitigung der Rassendiskriminierung (Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination, CERD).

Fachbereich Europarecht und Koordination Schengen/Dublin

Der Fachbereich behandelt juristische Fragen im Zusammenhang mit der europäischen Integration. So überprüft er Gesetzes- und Verordnungsentwürfe des Bundesrates auf ihre Vereinbarkeit mit dem Recht der bilateralen Verträge und, im Rahmen der Politik der Europaverträglichkeit, mit den massgeblichen Erlassen der Europäischen Union. Der Fachbereich erstellt juristische Gutachten und nimmt an der Ausarbeitung von Bundesgesetzen sowie der Kapitel der bundesrätlichen Botschaften teil, die sich mit den bilateralen Verträgen und mit Europarecht auseinandersetzen. Er wirkt zudem bei Verhandlungen mit der Europäischen Union in Verhandlungsdelegationen und verhandlungsbegleitenden Arbeitsgruppen des Bundes mit. Dabei arbeitet er eng mit den zuständigen Stellen der Bundesverwaltung, den für die Europapolitik und das Europarecht verantwortlichen Direktionen des EDA sowie den kantonalen Verwaltungen zusammen.

Im Bereich Schengen/Dublin erfüllt der Fachbereich ausserdem im Auftrag des EJPD eine intradepartementale und eine departementsübergreifende Koordinationsfunktion. Insbesondere wirkt er an der Behandlung von Dossiers und Fragen im Zusammenhang mit der Erarbeitung, Übernahme und Umsetzung von Weiterentwicklungen des Schengen- und des Dublin/Eurodac-Besitzstands mit und untersützt dabei die zuständigen Stellen der Bundesverwaltung. Schliesslich erarbeitet er in Zusammenarbeit mit den mitbeteiligten Stellen des Bundes Stellungnahmen, welche die Schweiz in die Auslegung von Schengen- und Dublin-Recht betreffenden Vorabentscheidungsverfahren vor dem Gerichtshof der Europäischen Union (EuGH) abgeben kann.

Fachbereich fürsorgerische Zwangsmassnahmen

Die Schweiz arbeitet gegenwärtig ein düsteres Kapitel ihrer Sozialgeschichte auf, die fürsorgerischen Zwangsmassnahmen und Fremdplatzierungen vor 1981. Am 1. April 2017 ist das Bundesgesetz über die Aufarbeitung der fürsorgerischen Zwangsmassnahmen und Fremdplatzierungen (AFZFG) in Kraft getreten. Es bildet die Rechtsgrundlage für finanzielle Leistungen zugunsten der Opfer solcher Massnahmen: Als Zeichen der Anerkennung des erlittenen Unrechts sowie des Ausdrucks gesellschaftlicher Solidarität erhalten sie einen Solidaritätsbeitrag von 25 000 Franken. Personen, die sich als Opfer im Sinne des Gesetzes betrachten, konnten von November 2016 bis Ende März 2018 beim Fachbereich ein Gesuch um einen solchen Solidaritätsbeitrag einreichen. Der Fachbereich prüfte die mehr als 9000 Gesuche und entschied über einen Anspruch auf den Solidaritätsbeitrag. Er wurde bei der Prüfung der Gesuche von einer beratenden Kommission unterstützt, der auch Personen angehören, die selbst Opfer waren. Bis Ende 2019 konnten alle Gesuche bearbeitet werden (mit Ausnahme von Einzelfällen, in denen letzte Aktensuchen laufen oder Einsprachen oder Beschwerden eingereicht wurden). Dies ist ein Jahr früher als im Gesetz vorgesehen ist. Im Übrigen gibt es im Parlament aktuell Bestrebungen, die Frist zur Einreichung weiterer Gesuche zu verlängern bzw. die Frist ganz zu streichen.

Zudem nimmt der Fachbereich Koordinations- und Förderaufgaben im Zusammenhang mit der wissenschaftlichen Aufarbeitung der fürsorgerischen Zwangsmassnahmen und Fremdplatzierungen wahr und fördert insbesondere Selbsthilfeprojekte zugunsten von Opfern und Betroffenen.

nach oben Letzte Änderung 13.01.2014

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Justiz
Direktionsbereich Öffentliches Recht
Bundesrain 20
CH-3003 Bern
T
+41 58 462 41 37
Fax
+41 58 462 78 79
Kontakt