Division for International Legal Assistance



Extraditions Unit

The Extraditions Unit examines applications from foreign authorities for individuals to be taken into custody pending extradition (request for search) and, where appropriate, will order the arrest in Switzerland of the persons being sought. Where a person consents to extradition after they have been arrested, the Unit will approve a simplified procedure for extradition to the applicant state. If the person concerned resists extradition, the Unit will issue an extradition warrant. It will examine the foreign extradition request and take the relevant decision, which may be challenged before the Federal Criminal Court. Appeals to the Federal Supreme Court are possible in particularly significant cases. At the application of the Swiss criminal prosecution and enforcement authorities, the Extradition Unit will circulate Swiss search requests, mostly via Interpol, and submit extradition applications to foreign states.

In addition, the Unit receives foreign applications for Switzerland to assume criminal prosecutions on their behalf and forwards them to the competent Swiss prosecuting authorities. It also makes the corresponding requests to foreign authorities at the request of the Swiss prosecuting authorities. Furthermore, the Unit consults with the responsible cantonal authorities to decide whether or not to approve applications from Swiss citizens who have been found guilty abroad and wish to return to Switzerland to serve out their custodial sentences. Similarly, it considers cases in which foreigners have applied to return to their native countries to serve the remaining term of a sentence handed down in Switzerland.

Mutual Assistance Units I and II

Where no direct business dealings are possible, the Mutual Assistance Units I and II forward Swiss applications for mutual assistance to the relevant foreign authorities and examine whether mutual assistance requests from abroad meet legal requirements in Switzerland. If necessary, it will ask the requesting authority to emend its application or provide further information. If the request meets the legal requirements and if mutual assistance is not obviously inadmissible, the Units will forward the request to the competent cantonal or federal authority for execution. If several cantons are involved, the lead canton does not make a decision within the appropriate time, or the case is complex or of particular importance, the Units may execute the mutual assistance request of their own accord.

The Mutual Assistance Unit I deals primarily with requests concerning the seizure and handover of assets. In cases of urgency, the Unit can impose precautionary measures ‒ such as the freezing of accounts ‒ as soon as it receives notification of a request for mutual assistance by a foreign authority. It is also responsible for dealing with mutual assistance requests concerning Politically Exposed Persons (PEP). Further, the Unit negotiates agreements with other states on sharing seized assets and is responsible for such cases at national level. In addition, it processes cases relating to the spontaneous transmission of evidence and the service of documents to foreign prosecuting authorities. The Unit also deals with proceedings in connection with the International Criminal Court and the international tribunals, and performs in particular cross-sectional tasks.

The Mutual Assistance Unit II comprises two special central offices responsible for cooperation with the USA and Italy, and for all mutual assistance procedures regarding these two countries. In addition, Unit II is in charge of all requests for notification.

Both Units monitor the application of the Mutual Assistance Act and may, in their capacity as supervisory body, submit an appeal to the Federal Criminal Court or Federal Supreme Court against a decision made by an executing body.

International Treaties Unit

The main task of this Unit is to expand Switzerland's network of treaties around the world to strengthen international relations in the fight against cross-border crime. It examines the draft treaties submitted to Switzerland or draws up its own state treaty drafts. It is also responsible for drafting other instruments under international law, such as exchanges of notes or political memoranda of understanding. In addition, it participates in the drafting of multilateral mutual assistance instruments and criminal law conventions containing provisions on mutual assistance, in particular in the context of the Council of Europe and the UN. The Unit is also responsible for legislative projects relating to international cooperation in criminal matters.

Liaison Prosecutors Office

Switzerland has had a liaison prosecutor at Eurojust since 2015. Eurojust is an EU institution whose tasks include improving the coordination of investigations and prosecutions between the competent authorities of the Member States, and enhancing cooperation between the Member States in relation to the execution of international legal assistance and extradition requests. The Swiss liaison prosecutor represents Switzerland’s interests within Eurojust, and fosters relations between Eurojust and Swiss prosecuting authorities. The liaison prosecutor also assists Swiss prosecuting authorities in criminal investigations of a transnational nature and mediates between the competent authorities of the countries concerned.

Note

For the complete documentation see the pages in German, French or Italian.

to the top Last modification 01.02.2014

Contact

Federal Office of Justice
International Legal Assistance Division
Bundesrain 20
CH-3003 Bern
T
+41 58 462 11 20
Fax
+41 58 462 53 80
Contact

Direktionsbereich Internationale Rechtshilfe



Fachbereich Auslieferung

Der Fachbereich Auslieferung prüft die ausländischen Ersuchen um Anordnung der provisorischen Auslieferungshaft (Fahndungsersuchen) und veranlasst gegebenenfalls die Verhaftung von gesuchten Personen in der Schweiz. Erklärt sich eine Person nach der Festnahme mit der Auslieferung einverstanden, bewilligt er die vereinfachte Auslieferung an den ersuchenden Staat. Widersetzt sich die Person der Auslieferung, erlässt er den Auslieferungshaftbefehl. Er prüft das ausländische Auslieferungsersuchen und fällt den Auslieferungsentscheid, der beim Bundesstrafgericht angefochten werden kann; in besonders bedeutsamen Fällen ist auch eine Beschwerde ans Bundesgericht möglich. Auf Antrag der schweizerischen Strafverfolgungs- und Strafvollzugsbehörden verbreitet der Fachbereich die schweizerischen Fahndungsersuchen, meist über Interpol, und stellt die Auslieferungsersuchen an das Ausland.

Der Fachbereich nimmt zudem die ausländischen Ersuchen um Übernahme der Strafverfolgung entgegen und leitet sie an die zuständige schweizerische Strafverfolgungsbehörde weiter; auf Antrag von schweizerischen Strafverfolgungsbehörden stellt er entsprechende Ersuchen an das Ausland. Er entscheidet ferner zusammen mit den verantwortlichen kantonalen Behörden über die Überstellungsgesuche von Schweizer Bürgern, die im Ausland verurteilt worden sind und zur Verbüssung der Freiheitsstrafe in die Schweiz zurückkehren möchten sowie über entsprechende Ersuchen von Ausländern, die den Rest einer in der Schweiz ausgefällten Strafe in ihrem Heimatland verbüssen möchten.

Fachbereiche Rechtshilfe I und II

Die Fachbereiche Rechtshilfe I und II leiten, sofern kein direkter Geschäftsverkehr möglich ist - die schweizerischen Rechtshilfeersuchen an das Ausland weiter und prüfen, ob die eingehenden ausländischen Rechtshilfeersuchen den gesetzlichen Anforderungen entsprechen. Falls nötig, fordern sie die ersuchende Behörde auf, das Ersuchen zu verbessern oder zu ergänzen. Entspricht das Gesuch den Anforderungen und ist die Rechtshilfe nicht offensichtlich unzulässig, leiten sie es an die zuständige kantonale Justizbehörde oder Bundesbehörde zum Vollzug weiter. Wenn mehrere Kantone betroffen sind, der Kanton nicht innert angemessener Frist entscheidet oder es sich um komplexe und besonders bedeutende Fälle handelt, können die beiden Fachbereiche selber den Vollzug des Rechtshilfeersuchens an die Hand nehmen.

Der Fachbereich Rechtshilfe I befasst sich dabei hauptsächlich mit Rechtshilfeersuchen, die die Beschlagnahme oder Herausgabe von Vermögenswerten zum Gegenstand haben. In dringenden Fällen kann er vorsorgliche Massnahmen (z.B. Kontensperren) anordnen, sobald ein Ersuchen angekündigt ist. Er ist ausserdem zuständig für Rechtshilfeersuchen, welche Politically Exposed Persons (PEP) betreffen. Weiter führt er Verhandlungen mit anderen Staaten, um internationale Vereinbarungen zur Teilung eingezogener Vermögenswerte (Sharing) abzuschliessen und ist auch zuständig für nationale Sharing-Fälle. Er bearbeitet zudem diejenigen Fälle, in denen es um die unaufgeforderte Übermittlung von Beweismitteln und Informationen an eine ausländische Strafverfolgungsbehörde geht. Schliesslich ist er zuständig für Verfahren zu Gunsten des Internationalen Strafgerichtshofes und der Internationalen Tribunale und nimmt besondere fachbereichsübergreifende Aufgaben war.

Im Fachbereich Rechtshilfe II sind zwei besondere Zentralstellen für die Zusammenarbeit mit den USA und mit Italien angesiedelt. Für alle Rechtshilfeverfahren, die diese beiden Länder betreffen, ist dieser Fachbereich zuständig. Er ist zudem für alle Zustellungsersuchen zuständig.

Beide Fachbereiche üben ferner die Aufsicht über die Anwendung des Rechtshilfegesetzes aus und können in ihrer Funktion als Aufsichtsbehörde Beschwerde gegen die Verfügungen der Vollzugsbehörden beim Bundesstrafgericht bzw. Bundesgericht ergreifen.

Fachbereich Internationale Verträge

Die Hauptaufgabe des Fachbereichs besteht darin, das weltweite Vertragsnetz der Schweiz auszubauen, um die internationalen Beziehungen im Kampf gegen die grenzüberschreitende Kriminalität zu verstärken. Er prüft der Schweiz unterbreitete Vertragsentwürfe bzw. erarbeitet eigene Staatsvertragsentwürfe. Er ist ferner zuständig für die Ausarbeitung weiterer völkerrechtlicher Instrumente wie Notenwechsel oder politische Absichtserklärungen (Memoranda of Understanding) und beteiligt sich an der Erarbeitung multilateraler Rechtshilfeinstrumente und strafrechtlicher Übereinkommen, die Rechtshilfebestimmungen enthalten (insbesondere im Europarat und der UNO). Der Fachbereich ist zudem für Rechtsetzungsprojekte auf dem Gebiet der internationalen Zusammenarbeit in Strafsachen verantwortlich.

Verbindungsstaatsanwaltsbüro

Seit 2015 hat die Schweiz eine Verbindungsstaatsanwältin bei Eurojust. Eurojust ist eine Einrichtung der EU und hat die Aufgabe, die Koordinierung der Ermittlungen und der Strafverfolgung zwischen den einzelnen Mitgliedstaaten zu fördern sowie die internationale Rechtshilfe und die Erledigung von Auslieferungsersuchen zu erleichtern. Die Verbindungsstaatsanwältin der Schweiz vertritt die Schweiz bei Eurojust und hat die Aufgabe, die schweizerischen Interessen zu vertreten sowie das Beziehungsnetz zwischen Eurojust und den schweizerischen Strafverfolgungsbehörden zu pflegen. Sie unterstützt ferner die schweizerischen Strafverfolgungsbehörden bei grenzüberschreitenden Strafuntersuchungen und vermittelt Kontakte zwischen den betroffenen Behörden beider Staaten.

Themen

nach oben Letzte Änderung 01.02.2014

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Justiz
Direktionsbereich Internationale Rechtshilfe
Bundesrain 20
CH-3003 Bern
T
+41 58 462 11 20
Fax
+41 58 462 53 80
Kontakt