Academic enquiry

The academic enquiry on compulsory measures and placements is a central pillar of the entire review process. In particular, its findings should support an understanding of how and why compulsory measures and placements were ordered and carried out. It should also examine the impact on the victims and their families at the time, and the continuing effects today.

The work of the Independent Expert Commission on Administrative Detention (IEC) and the National Research Programme (NRP) is intended to be mutually complementary, with content coordinated so as to provide a comprehensive picture of the various compulsory social measures and placements. A key element in the work is to consider the relevance of past events to present-day practices.

The role of the Federal Office of Justice in the academic enquiry is limited to certain coordination tasks and dissemination of the results (see Art. 15 para. 4). 

Independent Expert Commission (IEC)

The mission of the Independent Expert Commission (IEC) is to analyse, document and communicate administrative detention in Switzerland up to 1981. The IEC website provides updates on the Commission’s research work. This is currently in its final stages. The IEC’s final report is due to be published in the autumn of 2019.

You will find further information on the work of the IEC at:

NRP 76 - Welfare and Coercion - Past, Present and Future

In February 2017, the Federal Council commissioned the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) to carry out a new national research programme entitled ‘Welfare and Coercion – Past, Present and Future’ (NRP 76). This NRP will conduct a comprehensive investigation into the issue, taking a multi-disciplinary approach.

For further information, please visit the NRP 76 website or contact NRP 76 Programme Manager Dr. Stephanie Schönholzer.

Other research projects funded by the cantons, churches, etc.

Examples : Rathausen – LU ; Fischingen – TG ; Münsterlingen – TG ; Bätzi – SG; Burghölzli – ZH ; Institut Marini – FR

For further information, please contact the CSMP Unit office.

Individuals who have been victims of sexual abuse associated with the Catholic Church can contact:

to the top Last modification 14.01.2019

Wissenschaftliche Aufarbeitung

Die wissenschaftliche Untersuchung der fürsorgerischen Zwangsmassnahmen und Fremdplatzierungen ist ein zentraler Pfeiler des gesamten Aufarbeitungsprozesses. Die aus der wissenschaftlichen Aufarbeitung gewonnenen Ergebnisse sollen insbesondere dazu beitragen, zu verstehen, weshalb und wie die fürsorgerischen Zwangsmassnahmen und Fremdplatzierungen angeordnet und vollzogen worden sind. Es soll auch untersucht werden, welche Auswirkungen sie auf die Betroffenen und ihr Umfeld hatten und auch heute noch haben.

Die Arbeiten der UEK und das NFP sollen aufeinander abgestimmt sein und sich inhaltlich gegenseitig so ergänzen, dass ein umfassendes Bild der verschiedenen fürsorgerischen Zwangsmassnahmen und Fremdplatzierungen entstehen kann. Dabei soll auch der Gegenwartsbezug nicht ausgeklammert bleiben.

Das Bundesamt für Justiz hat im Zusammenhang mit der wissenschaftlichen Aufarbeitung lediglich gewisse Koordinations- und Förderaufgaben (vgl. Art. 15 Abs. 4). 

Unabhängige Expertenkommission (UEK)

Die unabhängige Expertenkommission (UEK) untersucht die administrativen Versorgungen in der Schweiz und informiert über die Forschungsergebnisse. Die Webseite der UEK vermittelt laufend ein Bild über den Stand der Forschungsarbeiten. Gegenwärtig laufen bereits die Abschlussarbeiten. Der Schlussbericht der UEK soll im Herbst 2019 veröffentlicht werden.

Weiterführende Informationen:

NFP 76 - Fürsorge und Zwang — Geschichte, Gegenwart, Zukunft

Der Bundesrat hat im Februar 2017 den Schweizerischen Nationalfonds SNF mit der Durchführung des Nationalen Forschungsprogramms "Fürsorge und Zwang — Geschichte, Gegenwart, Zukunft (NFP 76)" beauftragt. Dieses NFP soll die Thematik umfassend und mit interdisziplinären Ansätzen untersuchen.

Weitere Informationen lassen sich der Internetseite des NFP 76 entnehmen; Kontaktperson ist die Programm-Managerin des NFP 76, Frau Dr. Stephanie Schönholzer.

Weitere durch die Kantone, Kirchen etc. finanzierte Forschungsprojekte

Beispiele : Rathausen – LU ; Fischingen – TG ; Münsterlingen – TG ; Bätzi – SG; Burghölzli – ZH ; Institut Marini – FR

Für weitere Informationen kontaktieren Sie bitte das Sekretariat des Fachbereiches FSZM.

Personen, die im Umfeld der katholischen Kirche Opfer sexueller Übergriffe wurden, können sich wenden an:

nach oben Letzte Änderung 07.01.2019